Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destroy it!
The Isle of Skye is not the prior origin point of bright, inventive new electronica. But that is where label founder/artist Mylo got his start, crafting complex, warm and danceable electronica on his computer. Now he's being put up as the savior of dance music.

Why? Apparently he says he's "just having fun." Here's hoping he keeps on having fun, for the sake of...
Published on 28 Sep 2005 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Destroy Rock and Roll
I bought this because I'd heard the track 'In my Arms' as a theme tune to a tv advert and wasn't familiar with Mylo so wanted to hear some more of his work. Some quite nice tracks, although I'm not keen on some of the repetitive lyrics - I get the idea but it's not my taste. Overall a pleaseant and relaxing CD to play in the car.
Published on 14 May 2009 by Mr. Martin J. Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destroy it!, 28 Sep 2005
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The Isle of Skye is not the prior origin point of bright, inventive new electronica. But that is where label founder/artist Mylo got his start, crafting complex, warm and danceable electronica on his computer. Now he's being put up as the savior of dance music.

Why? Apparently he says he's "just having fun." Here's hoping he keeps on having fun, for the sake of music fans. His debut "Destroy Rock & Roll" is a surprisingly fresh and fun sound, with bubbling electropop, staccato breaks and unstoppable basslines.

The first trio of songs show the sunnier side of Mylo -- it starts off with a warm wash of summer electronica that seems appropriately called "Valley of the Dolls," some languid downtempo, and some fun dance music that would sound at home in a kids' video game.

Then things take a slightly harder line, with rapid electronic jabs, computer twiddles and sampling. Songs like "In my Arms" sound like thinking men's club tune, danceable but also very complex. Then there are songs like "Guilty of Love," a smooth, sweet, still catchy number. The title track is a break from the usual, with a tongue-in-cheek recitation of all the legendary people who have contributed to the "destroying of rock'n'roll."

And as the album winds down, Mylo gives his colorful album another twist. The final three have a stately, almost classical downtempo sound, with yearning vocals layered in. Listening to these, it's impossible not to wonder where Mylo will go next in his career.

Like any other kind of music, electronica is hard to do -- for every genius, there are a bunch of idiots who think a catchy beat is all it takes to make it memorable. Which makes it impressive that Mylo has done all this at twenty-four, with mainly a computer, and put it out on his own little label.

Aside from his rich electronic noodling, Mylo also layers in some charged guitar licks and thin basslines. He also diddles around with the pace of the songs -- "Rikki" opens with your basic electronic song, but it's deliberately given little breaks, so that it sounds like a CD skipping, even as a smooth little electropop melody comes in. The skipping vocals will probably drive you insane after a few minutes, but it can't be said to be boring.

"Destroy Rock & Roll" won't destroy your taste for rock'n'roll, but it might revive some interest in the tumultuous world of electronica/dance pop. Definitely worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this, 26 Mar 2006
By 
James Adams (dom rep) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy Rock & Roll (Audio CD)
I don't agree with the other review. This album has lots of merits especially for a debut. You only have to look at how popular this guy is live. Check out mylo.tv for the recently added one hour live set. I love the simplicity of this album and yet there are many layers to it. Actually it grows on you a lot and I think it deserves the 5 stars! Get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese Edition includes a few New Versions..., 11 July 2005
By A Customer
Here's the Tracklist.
1. Valley Of The Dolls 3:29
2. Sunworshipper 3:27
3. Muscle Cars 3:39
4. Drop The Pressure 4:16
5. In My Arms 3:46
6. Guilty Of Love ('05 Version) 3:06
7. Paris Four Hundred 3:33
8. Destroy Rock And Roll ('05 Version) 4:04
9. Rikki 3:18
10. Ottos Journey 3:59
11. Muscle Car (feat. Freeform Five) ('05 Mixdown) 3:52
12. Zenophile ('05 Version) 4:11
13. Need You Tonite 4:51
14. Emotion 98.6 5:36
-Japanese Bonus Tracks-
15. Soft Rock 4:01
16. Peach Melba 4:41
17. Destroy Rock & Roll (Tom Neville's Clean Edit) 4:45
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this too!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
G. Hughes "Lappy" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy Rock & Roll (Audio CD)
This has barely left my player since I bought it on release, this is well and truely the shot in the arm that dance needed. I saw them live at Reading and wasn't that impressed, mainly because the dance tent was packed and I had to listen to them from outside!

Buy this album, you won't regret it. The mixes/bonus tracks are really worth going for the green version too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Destroy Rock and Roll, 14 May 2009
By 
Mr. Martin J. Owen "Martin Owen" (Sawtry, Cambs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy Rock & Roll (Audio CD)
I bought this because I'd heard the track 'In my Arms' as a theme tune to a tv advert and wasn't familiar with Mylo so wanted to hear some more of his work. Some quite nice tracks, although I'm not keen on some of the repetitive lyrics - I get the idea but it's not my taste. Overall a pleaseant and relaxing CD to play in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An odd mix of chilled tunes and cheesy pop dance, 29 Oct 2008
This review is from: Destroy Rock & Roll (Audio CD)
This album (the extended version of "Destroy Rock And Roll") is largely unlike the singles that were so popular a while ago. About two thirds of the tracks are vaguely reminiscent of Bent, in that they are downbeat, filled with quirky samples and surprisingly catchy. I'd give this album a higher rating if it weren't for the half dozen naff cheesy dance tracks: mash-ups of Eighties hits which, frankly, are better left in the decade that taste forgot. OK so they serve the purpose of drawing attention to what is actually a rather well crafted album, but those who are expecting lots of tunes like "Drop the pressure" and "In my arms" will be sorely disappointed. Hopefully Mylo will have the courage of his convictions not to jump on the next bandwagon which involves rehashing melodies from old pop hits and trust his talent a little more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, But What's All The Hype About? ...., 17 Oct 2005
'Destroy Rock 'N Roll' is definatley a funky little album & it will always lighten up a social event with it's fun filled, listener freindly sound.
BUT WHATS ALL THE HYPE ABOUT?....
Sure Milo has done well for himself, but I would hardly label him the saviour of Dance Music. And his sound is'nt even that original. By the way for anyone who does'nt know much about Dance/Electronic Music, people have been producing stuff like this since the 90's. 'Daft Punk' is a good example.
Anyway, this is still a good album & I'm glad that I splashed out on it. Happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring ambient techno, 30 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. R. J. MacRae "jayhawk2000" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy Rock & Roll (Audio CD)
I am astounded at what passes as dance music these days. Where's the tune? Where's the hook? Where's the SONG?? It's only popular now because they've gone back and done a mash up with Gloria Estefan's Doctor Beat. It tells a lot about the quality of the album when it takes a remix to launch it back in the charts...and it turns out the remix is the best thing on it. The rest is repititive, tuneless, FUN-less electronica without an ounce of soul or energy to tempt you onto the dancefloor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4a1ad74)

This product

Destroy Rock & Roll
Destroy Rock & Roll by Mylo (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews