Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ragga metal, how can you complain!?, 10 Jun 2002
This review is from: Babylon (Audio CD)
Most excellent. Dub war are back with a new bassist under the new name of skindred. This album is teaming with great ragga rap, very varied singing and even the odd scream. The vocals are really what makes this album for me, they really bring the music alive and that coupled with crushing riffs and in places very technical drums makes for an excellent album. From start to finish the album shows how music doesnt have to be the same as everyone else and there is still plenty of scope for new pathways. Each song on the album can only be loosely compared to another. It's very varied. So generally well worth a listen. Highlights for me are pressure and babylon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who be in the area?, 21 Sep 2007
This review is from: Babylon (Wea U.K. Release) (Audio CD)
right then this album rocks!!!!
in every sense of the word!!! the music is a bizarre mixture of metal and reggae, with a little punk thrown in here and there.
the reason it all works is this simple....the tunes are top quality. very groovy metal with more funk than you could banga a head at.
and then the real ace of the pack is the singer benji who is quite frankyl scary. the guy can hit notes....perfectly and beautifully and he can do the speedy ragga spitting and then just to scare the life out of you he has a scream that can knock down a wall from 50 yards.
put simply there really is no one else out there who is making music this unique or this well and the best bit is that the whole thing just feels so positive its hard not to enjoy listening to this album it just perks you up and lifts you up beyond everything!!!!
it is also easily one of the most complete albums i have heard in a long time!!!
bring on the next one please!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting re-release?, 2 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Babylon (Wea U.K. Release) (Audio CD)
I'll keep it short and simple. I bought the album when it was first released and got confused when I was looking for something new last week. Whilst initially feeling duped into buying the same album, the new songs and new order and... it's actually rather good, nay, an improvement - it completely changes the mood of the album (for the more pissed off you are I suggest the first release)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seeing is Believing, 22 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Babylon (Audio CD)
This is one of those must have albums. Don't be fooled thinking it's just another crossover of two types of music. This album brings you the soft melodic rhythms of reggae/ ragga and the hard hitting agression of rock. To fully appreciate Skindred you must see them live and experience for rawness of their music for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album!, 12 Sep 2005
This review is from: Babylon (2002) (Audio CD)
This album is for anyone with varied taste in music that wants to listen to something different. A class mix of metal, punk, and ragga. Wicked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 28 Nov 2005
This review is from: Babylon (Wea U.K. Release) (Audio CD)
I bought the first release of this album a while back, and have loved this band for a long time. I was very keen to see what Benji and co would do after Dub War as I was a fan of that sound.
I bought the second release as any dedicated fan should, and found the new songs to be like the rest...AMAZING!
If you want to hear something heavy, but tastefully different, go buy this album. It mixes Metal and Punk with elements of Dancehall and D 'n' B. Odd mix I know, but damn, does it work well!!!
Go. Buy. Now. NOW! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and very cool debut from the Welsh rockers, 10 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Babylon (Audio CD)
Skindred are wicked! Featuring a bizarre combination of charismatic ragga vocals from Benji Webbe and a hard metal undercurrent, this album twists and turns through sweet, marley-esque reggae vibes to harsh, mosh pit friendly head bangers. If you think metal music has gone stale in recent times, just check this gem out and see that theres plenty of innovation still to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars underrated!, 7 Jan 2004
this band should be huge!!! they blend reggae hiphop metal and punk to make a catchy sound that makes u wana dance around like a loony!! frontman benji makes the perfect frontman to a band that don't have the recognition they should!!! every song will stay in ur head and have u singing along without even realising!! very good very underrated!! buy it now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skindred - Babylon - Special Edition, 1 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Babylon (Wea U.K. Release) (Audio CD)
Like it says on the tin 'Babylon'. I haven't stopped listening to it since it arrived. I also think the additional CD with the acoustic tracks is a nice bonus. Worth every penny! I'll bet they're Stupendous Live. My advice would be to check out 'Roots Rock Riot' Roots Rock Riot as well. T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Babylon (Wea U.K. Release), 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Babylon (Wea U.K. Release) (Audio CD)
This was bought as a birthday present for my son so frankly I won't know how well received it is until after this week-end (26th - 27th April'14). Having said that the CD arrived promptly, well packaged and exactly as described, so unless there is a flaw in the product that only makes itself known when played it will have been a good purchasing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Babylon (Wea U.K. Release)
Babylon (Wea U.K. Release) by Skindred (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews