Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recording
Moon, Sun & All Things offers something different from a classical perspective. As it is, it is difficult to find classical music from Latin America, however from the opening track, 'Hanacpachap Cussicuinin' with its haunting drum beats, the haunting chants and music is enchanting. I have to agree with the previous reviewer that it can become a bit much, however towards...
Published on 8 Oct 2005 by Mr. A. Bowden

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moon, sun and all things
A good effort from Hyperion.
A mixture of secular music and church mass from Latin America.
My only negative comment is that there is perhaps too much mass.
The masses tend to be pretty similar, but the secular works are lively and fun.
It was brave of Hyperion to release a CD for which there can't be a large market.
If you like classical music...
Published on 29 Sep 2005 by Alan Hughes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recording, 8 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. A. Bowden (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
Moon, Sun & All Things offers something different from a classical perspective. As it is, it is difficult to find classical music from Latin America, however from the opening track, 'Hanacpachap Cussicuinin' with its haunting drum beats, the haunting chants and music is enchanting. I have to agree with the previous reviewer that it can become a bit much, however towards the end of the album, the 'latin American' rhythm becomes prevalent and more fun. If you like latin America, or something a little different away from the mainstream then this album is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sequel, 9 Nov 2005
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
This is a worthy follow up to the previous New World Symphonies. if you like that you will like this. The dance rhythms of South America combine with the spritual forms of the mass to exciting effect. Some of the novelty factor has worn off by now, there is quite a lot of this type of recording around, but I think Hyperion and Ex Cathedra have another hit on their hands. Roll on volume 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Recording, 27 April 2008
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
An absolutely stunning recording packed with unknown gems. The CD offers a mixture of sacred music which ranges from liturgical music to popular songs. What is great about this recording is the strong sense of ritual that pervades the music.

As for the comment that it has 'too much Mass', there is actually not one single Mass movement in it! Only setting of liturgical hymns used in Vespers or at most solemn celebrations.

Also, excellent sound engineering! Clean and crisp sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boss, 26 Jan 2006
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
This is one of the best CDs I have ever bought. So many performances these days just produce the correct notes. This CD not only does that but each of the tracks is a performance AND an exciting one at that. Aye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary collection of Baroque music from Latin America, 2 Jun 2010
By 
T. M. Connor (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
I think this is a most amazing and exciting disc of music by Spanish and Italian baroque composers in Latin America. The word "fusion" is currently fashionable and is used to describe some of the movements in contemporary music which involve the marriage of different styles, e.g. jazz with classical. However, this recording demonstrates that this idea is nothing new. Many of the pieces are a mixture of European baroque practices combined with elements of the contemporary indigenous music. The results are often stunning and quite unexpected. The situation arose from the missionary activities of the local priests who realised that church music would be more palatable to the local population if it contained elements of music that they understood and texts in their own languages, which they could follow. Although we have little knowledge of the precise performance practices of the time, Ex Cathedra, directed by Jeffrey Skidmore, seem to give excellent renderings of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moon, sun and all things, 29 Sep 2005
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
A good effort from Hyperion.
A mixture of secular music and church mass from Latin America.
My only negative comment is that there is perhaps too much mass.
The masses tend to be pretty similar, but the secular works are lively and fun.
It was brave of Hyperion to release a CD for which there can't be a large market.
If you like classical music and fancy a taste of something different, then this is well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars exotic blend of styles, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
All of the pieces were appealing but some were almost indistinguishable from conventional European music of the time,The most exciting were those in which the influence of indigenous music was strongest,& some of these were truly a revelation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life-affirming and heart-lifting music, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
This is fabulous music, beautifully sung and beautifully recorded. I have been so thrilled with this that I bought it for a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful stuff!, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Ms. Susan Batstone (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moon, sun & all things (Audio CD)
The works inspired by local musical tradition are particularly striking; I did not expect work in Quechua, not sure why this is the case. I am a fan of Zipoli's work and was pleased to see him featured, but in fact they were disappointing. All in all a fine feel for Latin America's church soundtrack of the time, and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moon, sun & all things
Moon, sun & all things by Francisco López Capillas (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews