Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What else?
Bill Evans trio is THE JAZZ TRIO, no discussion about it!
This box is everything about the live at the Village Vanguard tapes, the music flow with grace and freshness (don't worry about the break on the first track!) and the piano is dancing with the drums and the bass with elegance.
The music is timeless and a masterpiece in the jazz history.
The box is...
Published on 12 Dec 2009 by G. Massimiliano

versus
5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much Scott Lafaro
A note of caution. I am second to no-one in my love and admiration of Bill Evans' piano playing and Paul Motian's contribution cannot be faulted. But - Scott Lafaro was no doubt a great bassist but I can only take so much solo bass playing especially when it is as obtrusive as it is on this CD. 50% less of him and if he could have receded more into the background then...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by Ray


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What else?, 12 Dec 2009
By 
G. Massimiliano (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
Bill Evans trio is THE JAZZ TRIO, no discussion about it!
This box is everything about the live at the Village Vanguard tapes, the music flow with grace and freshness (don't worry about the break on the first track!) and the piano is dancing with the drums and the bass with elegance.
The music is timeless and a masterpiece in the jazz history.
The box is well done with 3 disc set and a small book with some notes, maybe a bit basic!
The sound is good with a clean sound and a wonderful spacing of the musicians on the stage.
The remastering was good and the result is excelent.
For music lover and for everyone who studies piano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary album for good reason...., 28 April 2010
By 
A. J. Berry "BeZ" (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
I discovered Bill Evans via the well trodden path from "A Kind of Blue", but it's only after listening to the legendary 1961 Village Vanguard sessions, live and in the raw, that I feel that I can begin to appreciate what he was all about. Evan's playing on this record is poetic, other-wordly, impressionistic brush strokes of sound with all his classical influences, particularly Debussy, on display.

The sets also feature the last recording of the Virtuoso Bassist Scott LaFaro, a few days before his tragic death. LaFaro's extravagant freestyle playing is almost a reason in itself to buy the record. Paul Motian on drums is also superb, for long periods syncopated with the piano rather than bass, at times almost imperceptible with the most delicate brushwork.

A highly recommended seminal recording - Treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive Evans!!!, 30 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
This is the definitive Evans. In the top five of greatest jazz dates ever and the audience isn't even paying attention! Scott LaFaro & Paul Motian make up the greatest jazz trio of all time! In the booklet there are superb sleeve notes by producer Orrin Keepnews and some nice photographs of the trio too. Absolutely essential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
Bill Evans is competely a genius no other word for it. If i could play like him! and this is a exellent set of recordings i play it so much. Buy it now its probably the best cds u could ever get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal small group jazz, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Tim (Oldbury, West Mids, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
Superficially, a pretty conservative listen, but Bill Evan's' serious musical education (Debussy, Ravel etc.) shows through and makes this a far more rewarding listening experience than many jazz piano trio recordings up to this point. Also Scott Lafaro's bass playing is startlingly inventive. Paul motian's drumming provides excellent, understated rhythmic support for the other two (that's what a drummer's for isn't it?). Get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If I could put this into words................, 28 April 2013
By 
M. P. Doggett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
......................i would, but all i can say is majestic beauty and creativity. I put this on fancying a track and play the whole set all the time. Incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, but you probably already have most of it, 24 May 2011
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
I won't comment on the music in this set, which is absolutely superb, one of the finest examples of jazz trio. I do want to say though that if you are considering purchasing this, you are probably a Bill Evans fan, which is likely that you already own his seminal albums, Waltz For Debby [Original Jazz Classics Remasters] and SUNDAY AT THE VILLAGE VANGUARD. Those two discs contain most of the music here, including some of the alternative takes. My advice is - don't worry about this if you already have those two. If you don't, then get either this or the two albums - the format doesn't matter that much, but the music is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Understated genius, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Michael A. Wood "legghead" (Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
No one who has a passion for jazz will be blind to the importance of Bill Evans. His influence on those that followed - and those for whom he was sideman - is immeasurable. So this collection - the complete matinee and evening recordings from his stint at the Village Vanguard - is a must. This is the famous trio at its telepathic best. In fact, this isn't a trio; it is one mind with three bodies.
There are the usual Evans Trio standards (Gloria's Step, Waltz For Debby, All of You etc) plus some choice covers. Miles Davis' "Milestones" is given the Evans treatment here to great effect.
As for the actual quality of the recording, the remastering is no bad thing. You could quite easily be in the audience - an audience sadly lacking in what is now a legendary collection of performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If there is a heaven, its music must sound like this., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
As numerous other reviewers have said, the subtle beauty of this album cannot be described accurately with words. If you are an Evans fan I cannot stress enough, buy this collection without hesitation! It contains everything recorded from the Sunday session, rather than the selection found on the single CD "Sunday at the Village Vanguard", and captures these three musicians at what is undoubtedly their finest. I can safely say this music changed my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of tracks, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 (Audio CD)
First came across Bill Evans On The 100 Best Jazz Tunes Of The 1950's compilation since then have acquired this collection along with Seven Classic albums Vol 1 and Vol 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961
The Complete Village Vanguard Recordings, 1961 by Bill Evans (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews