Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best film ever.
This is the best film ever. Buy it. Buy 2, so you can share it with someone. If you don't like this film, you have entirely missed the concept of ironic futurism. Which I just made up. Buy it. One of the weapons is a giant fist.
Published on 22 May 2009 by Giant Fighting Robots

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bionic b-movie brain rot
You can easily enjoy this movie with expectations lowered and a brace of cheap beers by your side. Most of the acting is shocking. The script is woeful at times and the effects barely passed muster when they were created! Some of the sets look quite good such as the wastelands where the battles take place. The concept of nations battling out their differences via huge...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. S. Storey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best film ever., 22 May 2009
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the best film ever. Buy it. Buy 2, so you can share it with someone. If you don't like this film, you have entirely missed the concept of ironic futurism. Which I just made up. Buy it. One of the weapons is a giant fist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant bionic b-movie brain rot, 17 May 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
You can easily enjoy this movie with expectations lowered and a brace of cheap beers by your side. Most of the acting is shocking. The script is woeful at times and the effects barely passed muster when they were created! Some of the sets look quite good such as the wastelands where the battles take place. The concept of nations battling out their differences via huge robots is cool enough and Gary Graham is an engaging lead. To be fair the battles look ok, although a little dated these days. There's even an attempt at social commentary showing the differences between the general population and the national heroes who go into battle on their behalf, although they did this better in Rollerball [1975] - Special Edition [DVD] along with everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I have been trying to get this film for ages, I had it on VHS but was looking for a DVD version at a reasonable price, and this was exactly what I was looking for.
The seller states that this is a promo on a white disc and comes in a sleeve and no case, while this is true the quality of the movie print is as good as a standard DVD and much better than VHS.
The movie is just as I remembered it, the special effects are great for the time and the stopmotion effects are a refreshing change from the over use of CGI in recent movies.
The fight scenes are good and yes the acting and story may be a bit cheesy but I think it adds to its charm.
This is a great movie that will be watched over and over again now that I have the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You're making my beer curdle...., 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
50 years after a nuclear war, the superpowers handle disputes in a different way. Giant robots fight one-on-one battles in official matches, each piloted by a man inside, known as robot jockeys.

The contest for possession of Alaska will be fought by two of the best. Achilles for the USA, Opposing him is a Alexander, a ruthless Russian adversary who has killed his previous nine American opponents.

With a traitor feeding the Russians secret weapons information and new, genetically- engineered jox looking to take his place, Achilles faces obstacles at every turn in the hardest battle of his life.....

Like Arena, and Crash and Burn, the movie is cheaply made, badly acted, and choc full of bad effects. But its like a really bad accident, you cannot keep your eyes off the screen.

The film is set in four locations, Achilles Room, the local bar, the holding wing for the robot, and the fighting arena. It ventures off to space once where the Russian can fire a rocket, and that's it.

Its fun when the robots fight, as the actors don't really say anything, but other than that, its pretty pants. Almost like a really poor relation to Rocky IV, in its layout, its novelty soon wears off after a while, leaving you with a film that has nothing new to offer you.

But it is the best film ever featuring a traitor in a Stetson jumping from a height and still screaming long after he landed and died....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great stuff!, 15 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I first saw thsi movie back int eh 80s and spent years tryign to find it. and here it is.

Great sci-fi B movie stuff.

if you liek huge robots and early developemnt effects then look no more

this movie sums up all that was good about the 80s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars memories tainted., 9 Nov 2009
By 
D. Manley-Leach (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A once again fond memories are soiled by a revisit. I remembered thoroughly enjoying this film, 20 years ago and decided to give it another go. It didn't live up to the expectations. The trouble is there's so much about this film that works and is great, the robots smacking hell out of each other, the utter lack, obviously, of cgi, the wonderful stop-motion animation and the sheer fun of it all. But there's just not enough robots fighting and there's too much chit-chat. WE want robots fighting! So oerall it's an Okay from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong information, this item region 1 encoded, 27 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Normally i'm a happy frequent customer of Amazon.co.uk but the information on this page is below zero. If you're not a owner of a region free dvd player you will be fooled. The disk is region 1 encoded!
Amazon.co.uk or and sellers, please supply customers with correct information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0de384)

This product

Robot Jox (Ws Sub Dol) [DVD] [1990] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews