Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like an old friend
Steve Hackett is a genius. The use of guest vocalists does justice to some brilliant, atmospheric songs in a way Steve's own voice never could. Steve writes beautiful songs and plays guitar with great skill and imagination. This album is worth getting for two songs alone - "How Can I?" sung by Richie Havens, and the beautiful "Hoping Love Will Last",...
Published on 8 Aug 2001

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hackett's Anglo/US curio ...
Where his solo debut 'Voyage of the Acolyte' was a busman's holiday from the day job with Genesis, its 1977 successor was recorded after Steve Hackett's departure from the band.
Perhaps this part-explains why it is so distinct musically from 'Voyage ...' and indeed the rest of the guitarist's '70s Charisma catalogue, newly...
Published on 24 Dec 2005 by Greville Rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like an old friend, 8 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
Steve Hackett is a genius. The use of guest vocalists does justice to some brilliant, atmospheric songs in a way Steve's own voice never could. Steve writes beautiful songs and plays guitar with great skill and imagination. This album is worth getting for two songs alone - "How Can I?" sung by Richie Havens, and the beautiful "Hoping Love Will Last", sung by Randy Crawford. But the rest is brilliant as well. This album is like an old friend to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Desert Island Disc, 3 July 2008
By 
SR Cordy "Sam Cordy" (Fakenham, Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
The first Genesis album I ever heard was A Trick of the Tail in 1977. I was blown away by the songwriting and instumental viruosity. Then came Wind and Wuthering. I felt much the same. Then Hackett left for pastures new and produced Please Don't Touch, and I thought that all my birthdays etc... If I was ever asked to name one of about 25 albums I would take with me to a desert island, this would be one. Richie Havens, Randy Crawford et al. Blistering guitar work, great songwriting, if he never made another album (and this was the proverbial "difficult" second album), this would be more than enough. After this there was nothing left to prove.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st solo album after leaving Genesis is a mixed bag, 6 Oct 2005
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
Having become frustrated with the lack of compositional input which he was allowed to make within the confines of Genesis, Steve Hackett decided to leave and pursue a solo career. Spurred on by the success of his debut album "Voyage Of The Acolyte", made during the group hiatus after Peter Gabriel's departure, this second solo album and first after his departure from Genesis sees Hackett tackling a range of styles within his songwriting.
The interesting thing about "Please Don't Touch" is the use of American vocalists. It was as if Hackett was consciously wishing to move away from his English prog rock roots. Having the likes of Ritchie Havens and Randy Crawford sing against a backdrop of ethereal rock with Hacketts trademark sustained guitar tone made for unusual if not disconcerting listening. However it does work, mostly. "Hoping Love Will Last" is a beautiful song, made even more so by Randy's vocals. Steve Walsh from Kansas gives "Narnia" and "Racing In A" a cool veneer and Richie Haven's gruff voice adds a gloomy air to "Icarus Ascending". Other tracks such as "Carry On Up the Vicarage" is pure Genesis of the "Harold the Barrel"/"I Know What I Like" school of English eccentric whimsy. But it's the title track that really stands out. A typical Hackett explosive instrumental, clearly and emphatically showing what Genesis would now be missing.
In some ways this is a bit of a hodge podge of an album, though one I still quite like for all that. I think the use of guest vocalists, though largely effective does in some way sit uneasily with the material and give the album as a whole a less than cohesive feel. Also some of the material seems a bit sketchy, lacking the emphatic nature of "Voyage Of the Acolyte" as a whole piece. That concluded with the epic "Shadow Of The Hierophant", but "Icarus Ascending" doesn't seem to gel the same with the instrumental sections not really going anywhere. But for all that this album still has plenty to recommend it.
The live version of the title track, included here as a bonus is excellent and the remastering is a breath of fresh air. The album artwork by Kim Poor is amongst my favourites of hers. I always felt she was the best sleeve artist Genesis never had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please do listen............, 4 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
I bought the original vinyl LP of this album back in 1979 and at the time it completely changed the way I listened to music and my apprieciation of the skills of the musicians who wrote, played and sang this music. In a music production world of loops,samples and electronic wizardry this album has in my opinion never been surpassed in its originality and careful production detail. Steve Hackett's peerless guitar playing is a revelation of diverse styles that never fails to surprise and entertain, from the cool jazz style of "Hoping love will last",sung superbly by Randy Crawford, to the frenetic towering guitar sounds on the title track "Please Don't Touch" This album is a fabulous example of musicianship and song writing......please do touch,please do listen...and enjoy an absolute gem of an album. Oh and make sure your hi-fi can play it at 11 :-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great original music, 11 Oct 2011
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
A great CD with much variety and many gifted artists represented. All in all this is a classic CD and the least you expect from the talented musician and guitarist Steve Hackett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the guest vocals make it, 25 Sep 2011
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
I have owned this album since it came out soon after Steve Hackett left Genesis. Whilst it is patchy in parts, the guest vocal performances by Randy Crawford and Richie Havens are both outstanding and remain firm favouroites of mine. Randy's vocals on 'Hoping Love will last' are very moving and Richie's on 'Icarus Ascending' are unbelievably powerful. Buy it or download these two tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hackett hit an early peak....all downhill from here, 8 Jun 2010
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
Please Dont Touch was his second solo album, but first after leaving Genesis - and much of the instrumentation holds familiar influences. Overall the album sounds a little bit like a jigsaw, comprising dozens of short creative bursts that don't really follow on in any particular order, and none ever being gestated to its full potential. Introducing Randy Crawford, vocalising on a rock-soul-lovesong ballad, which sounds sickly described that way but is one of the highlights. Other songs feature guest vocalists popular at the time. The lyrics come across as somewhat random, as if snippets were dropped into a hat and pulled out in no particular order. But despite a few shortcomings, this was Hackett's finest achievement. Bewilderingly remastered, as many of the instrumental tracks seem to have been totally remixed from scratch and the effect is to spoil the sounds we have previously loved. The bonus versions of "Narnia" are unnecessary, as neither is really different to the original in any significant way, and let's face it, it's not exactly the feature track of the album anyway! And the Live recording just shows that certain studio cuts come across as a little inept when performed live. An album that should have been left alone as it was originally released and not fiddled about with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
This was the first Steve Hackett album I listened to and it reallyy is brilliant. It is slightly reminiscent of early Genesis and is both musically and lyrically amazing. It has some really jolly and funny tracks like "Narnia" and "Carry on up the vicarage" but also has some really beautiful and moving tracks like "How can I?" and "Hoping love will last" with a few amazing instrumentals thrown in for good measure.
In traditional Hackett style the album has booklet containing lyrics and a detailed introduction and description of the album and the process of making it which is worth a read.
As much as I love this album, if you are looking for classic Steve Hackett at his best you should look into buying Spectral Mornings which is by far the best album I've heard for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog of all flavours here !!!, 24 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. John C. Armes "John A" (Chippenham , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
Stev'es proper departure album form Genesis is a really interesting journey through the mind of the artist. It was almost like he's saying " listen chaps its alright to like all types of music but still have the influences you like" A great example is Hoping Love Will Last featuring a soul/ blues singer he saw in a small club in the US called Randy Crawford ( yes the one who became really famous)The track meanders along beautifully with Randys voice being given the space to soar and then in the middle 8 a wonderful string quartet joins in the fun with Steve's guitar bringing it all to a close before unleashing the title track which will blow your socks off, Get hold of the live version it was the set opener for years and is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time favourite, 22 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Please Don't Touch (Audio CD)
I bought this album about 100 years ago.it was great then and it still is one of my all time favourites. The quality of the music is given away by the list of musicians taking part from Richie Havens and Randy Crawford to Steve Walsh and Phil Ehart of Kansas.
Each song/tune is a gem and it's difficult to pick any favourites but Richie's vocal on How Can I? does it for me every time. Add to this the Olde England feel and humour of "Narnia" and "Carry On Up The Vicarage" together with the (almost) straight ahead rock of "Racing in A" and you've got quite an impressive first half. The rest of the album is more experimental but still manages to set a mood with Randy Crawford's soulful vocal on "Hoping Love Will Last" and the title track being Mr Hackett at his electric instrumental best. I think he knew what he was doing when he quit Genesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please Don't Touch
Please Don't Touch by Steve Hackett (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews