Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - The best way to make Coffee
I don't understand other negative reviews - this machine is brilliant - very fast very high quality - makes superb coffee.
I have used every day for 2 years and it still looks like new !
This was after several machines from De Longhi & John Lewis which broke down within a few weeks - because of pointless over complicated controls.

This Philips machine...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Gary Clarke

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality, poor design
I wanted a thermos-flask coffee maker, having encountered them at friends houses. The idea of not continually cooking the coffee just seems smarter, from a flavour and energy perspective.

I went for this one because the design seemed attractive, because I trusted the brand, and because some reviews elsewhere said they liked it.

Firstly, I hadn't...
Published on 18 April 2010 by Jonathan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - The best way to make Coffee, 28 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
I don't understand other negative reviews - this machine is brilliant - very fast very high quality - makes superb coffee.
I have used every day for 2 years and it still looks like new !
This was after several machines from De Longhi & John Lewis which broke down within a few weeks - because of pointless over complicated controls.

This Philips machine has a single ON button and automatically switches off when ready - simple reliable perfect.

I love filter coffee - especially Tesco finest Costa Rica which is amazing - gives a much better caffeine hit than espresso, also less calories & less filling than the milk shakes from Starbucks.

To get great taste you need a machine like this - which uses a Thermos Jug and Paper Filters - this is essential most filter coffee machines ruin the coffee by stewing it - it is surprisingly hard to get a machine like this in uk because of the fashion for very expensive to run Nespresso type machines.

Anyway the German supplier was very efficient and included a UK adapter so I highly recommend them, I'm just about to buy 3 more as Christmas presents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best coffee maker I've ever owned, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this coffee maker after my old one, which had a glass pot, broke (predictably, the glass pot cracked because the water was too cold). I did a lot of research before deciding on this coffee maker(Amazon.de carries several hundred reviews on this machine which are overwhelmingly positive and I imported it from Germany because it was cheaper at the time than on Amazon.co.uk). This machine is fantastic for the following reasons:
- The large stainless steel pot (thermos without any glass) will NEVER break due to thermal shock (the most common cause of coffee makers breaking)
- The machine is very powerful and coffee is thus made quickly.
- The coffee is very hot and tastes great.
- The steel thermos flask keeps your coffee warm for a long time.
- The machine switches off after it has finished making your coffee, meaning you save energy.
- It comes with a two-year warranty.
- The machine is well-designed; the coffee pours easily and without making a mess.
- It looks great and is solidly made.

I really can't fault this coffee maker. In fact, it's the best one I've every owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great coffee maker get from Germany, 19 Jun 2012
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
This machine makes coffee and keeps it hot ,without a heating plate, in a flask jug. The jug is metal so it won't break like the glass ones do. The pourer is fantastic doesn't spill a drop. The lid design is very simple and effective. If you leave a small amount of coffee in the flask it does loose it's heat after a couple of hours but a full or nearly full jug stays very hot (with steam) for at least a couple of hours (I haven't tried it any longer than that). I am very happy with this machine, I bought it from the German Amazon as it was substantially cheaper and bought a conversion plug on amazon too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good coffee pot in use 24/7 in our office, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
This coffee maker is extremely good in what is expected of it.
It is in use 24/7 in our office and can keep coffee piping hot for several hours if required.
Many people use it and have no trouble with it's operation. Water filling and coffee grounds/filter paper operation is standard as with other pots.
The coffee brews and the machine switches off automatically, no further energy is required to maintain the temperature.
The jug is designed so that it is not able to be removed or replaced in the machine unless the lid is in the sealed "centre" position.
To pour, simply remove the pot and flick the lever to the right with the thumb. Return the lever to the central position to park the pot or if refilling, the lid lever is flicked to the left to enable the lid to be removed. The lid seal is paramount in maintaining the thermal property of this pot.
Cleaning is easy as the pot is of stainless steel as is the filter paper holder.
I would recommend this pot without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very efficient coffee maker!, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
The best thing about this coffee maker apart from the stainless steel jug is that it is an excellent pourer, the best we have ever had. Speedy service too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PHILIP'S POOR ATTITUDE, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
The product itself is nice enough, but like others writing reviews I am extremely disappointed that Philips no longer supply the required adaptor as they used to. This is just cheap money-saving on their part. If they are going to supply a product to the UK market then it should come properly equipped in terms of a UK plug. UK manufacturers have to comply with this - why shouldn't European manufacturers? Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robust and no stewing!, 21 Jan 2013
By 
R. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
The thermos jug keeps coffee hot for several hours without stewing it unlike all the filter machines we have used over the years and because the jug is not fragile like the glass jugs usually supplied it is difficult to break! We have used this product daily since we got it and are 100% delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limited function but all you want is a cup of coffee, right?, 21 Aug 2012
By 
G. Christie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
The coffee it produces is great. It could pour a little faster and the lid can't be worked with one hand. I was used to my Bosch with the lid opening by pressing with my thumb. This one requires a much bigger hand than I have. It doesn't have a timer, but I never really needed this function anyway and all you really want is a good cup of coffee and this machien produces jsut that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well-designed coffee filter - makes good coffee, 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
Had this a couple of months or so now. Use it daily. Good, simple design. Very easy to fill the water chamber, it has a large and easy to reach opening. Very easy to put coffee into filter holder as the holder swings out from the machine. Makes very good coffee and the insulated metal jug really does keep coffee hot. The sealed lid mechanism is very easy to use, easy to turn lid. The jug has comfortable handle to hold and pours well. Probably the best filter coffee machine I've ever had (and I've had quite a few!).

My only criticism is the two pronged continental plug - would have been so much easier with UK plug attached. The plug would NOT fit the adapter included in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coffee maker, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips HD 7546/20 (Kitchen & Home)
Easy to use. Great jug. The lid is easy to open/close.And it won't break! Because the jug is a thermos type flask as opposed to a conventional glass jug, there is no hot-plate to keep the coffee warm but I have not found that a problem.
I would certainly recommend this coffee maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philips HD 7546/20
£76.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews