Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVEJOY - THE COMPLETE LOVEJOY COLLECTION
I loved it the first time round and with this box set now in hand it seems to have got better with age. Basically Lovejoy is an antique dealer and a bit of a lovable rogue who always seems to get himself into a bit of bother, ably assisted by his two side-kicks, Eric & Tinker and an unusual friendship with Lady Jane Felsham that threatens to turn into more than just...
Published on 27 Jan 2008 by Mr. M. Cooper

versus
10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lovejoy the complete dvd collection
only 3/5 stars as visual quality very poor, not just this particular lovejoy collection, but any lovejoy collection have seen. how come dvds such as Dads Army, Dinner Ladies, Aint Half Hot Mum, even Will Hay and Norman Wisdom collections have been visually 'cleaned up' and view immaculately, so why have makers of lovejoy not cared enough about purchasers to give them the...
Published on 1 Feb 2009 by citrine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVEJOY - THE COMPLETE LOVEJOY COLLECTION, 27 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. M. Cooper "Titan Mike" (Braintree, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I loved it the first time round and with this box set now in hand it seems to have got better with age. Basically Lovejoy is an antique dealer and a bit of a lovable rogue who always seems to get himself into a bit of bother, ably assisted by his two side-kicks, Eric & Tinker and an unusual friendship with Lady Jane Felsham that threatens to turn into more than just friendship, but never does. Always broke and looking to make a killing on the next antique (genuine or otherwise), Lovejoy usually discovers some sinister plot relating antiques, often leading to a brush with the law. Some of the stories are a bit cheesy but that is half of the fun, with so many villans all turning up in Lovejoy's back yard. The humour between the characters is wonderful and adds to the entertainment. Eric, Lovejoy's trainee for example, is a vegetarian son of a butcher!!!

Set in & around the villages of the Essex Suffolk border the picture-post card backdrop does give it a certain feel good factor, although Lovejoy does venture further afield occasionally, usually when the plot thickens or the stakes are higher.

I would describe it as "the antiques roadshow" meets "Miss Marple" with a bit of "Men Behaving Badly" thown in for good measure. They dont make "em" like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Antiques Rogue Show!, 27 Mar 2008
By 
David Lusher (London England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is a generous DVD set featuring all 6 series of Lovejoy. Extras include an interview with Ian McShane about his experience in making the series (the interview was filmed around the time that 'Deadwood' was being launched). McShane plays Lovejoy, who is a "Divi" - a person who has a natural ability to spot a genuine antique just by looking at it. The series is well cast (particularly Dudley Sutton as Tinker, Lovejoy's boozy and gifted sidekick who shares his passion for antiques). The plotlines are well crafted and entertaining. Various guest stars appear throughout the series and there are some feature-length episodes to enjoy. There is quite a lot of educational value to this series: not only do you learn about auctions, craftsmen, works of art, and things of beauty, you also appreciate what a minefield the world of antiques is, with gifted forgers, crooks, and downright greed to contend with. This is a highly entertaining series with loveable characters (including some of the rogues). You'll watch this series again and again - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discovering Lovejoy, 21 Nov 2007
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I never watched a single episode of Lovejoy when it was originally aired as I usually avoid those 'Sunday evening' peaktime programmes like the plague. However, my partner requested the complete box set as a leaving present from work colleagues and we're currently making our way through the lot. Fantastic stuff! You do need to suspend your disbelief in large measures owing to hefty amounts of plot improbability, but the acting is great and it's beautifully filmed. Series one is the weakest, but the character development by the writers and actors is smashing to watch. There are some fine 'specials' included, particularly the 'Prague Sun' Christmas episode from 1992.

This really is great value and lovely, comforting stuff to help you through a winter - even if you now live in Greece, as I do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tv as it should be, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Macshane treading the invisible line between criminal and rogue with exceeding skill, the wonderfully subtle characterisation of tinker by Dudley Sutton, and the bloke who plays Eric portraying someone who is half sharp with absolute conviction, are the chief pleasures of this coruscating box set.This collection is capable of delivering some seriously satisfying viewing experiences for you. I have to end with a warning for potential purchaser,however. This set is both seriously addictive and seriously long.If you are planning to see all the episodes in one hit, you'll need to allow a long weekend and be sure you schedule in plenty of breaks for meals,comfort breaks, sleep etc.I failed to do this and my viewing pleasure was diminished somewhat. Its also helpful if you have a little knowledge of the antiques game as there are plenty of collector in-jokes which deserve to be appreciated by a wider audience, and you'll be well rewarded for your research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh as new, 19 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The complete Lovejoy collection can never fail to delight. Abounding in humour that is enduring and quintessentially British. Outstanding value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality package quality product, 23 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If, like myself, you have n't already seen all of the Lovejoy series then I recommend that you purchase the box set and work your way through the episodes.

The gentle humour, the plot lines, the location and the excellent characters all blossom along the way. As with all series that have the involvement of Ian La Frenais - think Porridge and Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads to mention but two - you are guaranteed quality entertainment.

The series that stay with you forever, indeed both Porridge and Whatever Happened are over 30 years old, are the ones that are not only amusing but have characters that you can believe in as individuals. Lovejoy is no exception.

The box itself is a sturdy slipcase which makes for easy selection of the various series within - no flaps to damage upon opening as on some boxsets - and the individual DVD case inserts finish the design as a complete whole.

The only gripe I have is that the spiders that hold the discs within the plastic cases are so flimsy that they fail to hold most of the DVDs. Fortunately as the cases are designed to hold more than one disc it is possible to keep your DVDs in paper wallets within the appropriate case.

However, don't let this minor gripe put you off, as all in all Lovejoy Complete is a great set and one to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a pleasure !, 19 Jun 2010
By 
Patrick McCarthy (Cobh , Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I've just watched episode one of the complete set and it brought back all the enjoyment I felt on watching the series first. And I have so many episodes to go this Summer.
What a pleasure; story, humour, the various characters and sheer joy! I saw 'Tinker' walking by on the King's Road the other day and he hasn't changed one bit. I shall have to pace the whole lot out out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LACK OF SUBTITLES, 28 Mar 2011
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Amazon should devide reviews into 2 section:
1. review of a movie / cd or anything else
2. review of a product

In this case i give 5 stars to this fantastic TV series which i can watch over and over.
But only 1 star goes to the product simply because there are NO SUBTITLES. As my mother tongue is not English, although i 'flatter' myself that i speak decently well, when it comes to such products i have problems. All these older shows and movies don't have quality sound and its hard to hear what is going on. I remember buying ON THE BUSES, how sad i was discoverying that there were no subtitles :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars total enjoyment, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This item was a gift for a very dear friend. but i am led to believe that it is the best dvd box set that they have ever had. It was nice to here that it was nice to sit back and watch the old fashion programmes when you want to, and when the time arrises to do so. This box set takes you back in time when the LOVEJOY was being played on the tv. Thank you Amazon.Very recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O What Memories!, 14 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
It is many years since we first saw the Lovejoy Series and it is sometimes true that the memory can provide a much more positive review than the show deserves.

After a couple of episodes of the first series we realised we had in fact underestimated the amount of enjoyement Lovejoy and company would provide.

WE live in the USA now but lived in Suffolk where the series was filmed and we can relate not only to the series but also to the character of the local population which is often portrayed in the story lines.

It is going to give us many happy hours of entertainment and would heartily recommend it to anyone who likes a humour based drama full of really believable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10472fd8)

This product

Lovejoy - The Complete Lovejoy Collection [DVD] [2004]
Used & New from: 55.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews