Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a great start for the XBOX 360 !!!
I played the original call of duty and it was good but did not do anything original, this call of duty has had a lot of care placed on it and is one of the best xbox 360 titles i have played.
The battleground is fantastic, the enemy is smart for a change!
There is so much action around you at any one time it does become difficult not to shoot your own men but...
Published on 14 Dec 2005 by M. J. Devine

versus
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
For a supposedly next-gen title, I found Call of Duty 2 a little disappointing. The graphics are fantastic when static, but that just makes the problems when they are in motion even more glaring. The most obvious flaw is that there is no smooth transition between low and high detail textures. The sharp textures just pop up in place of the fuzzy textures really obviously...
Published on 4 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best war game ever!!!, 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the best xbox 360 release title by far.
The gameplay is un-believable and doesn't seem to get boring at any point.The graphics are breathtaking at points and the A.I is also the best in any war game i have played.
The sound is also very realistic as you can hear each bullet flying by your ear and each Nazi screaming at you from a distance.Another cool thing in the game is that your comrades will have a chat whith each other when in safe areas and will call for help and yell out instructions during the amazing battles.
It is quite a long game.It took me between 24-28 hours to complete and i am still wanting to play it some more.
Graphics:5/5
Gamplay:5/5
Sound:5/5
If you own an xbox 360 this game is a must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shoot to kill, 21 Jun 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've had my 360 for about 3 weeks and this was the first game I bought. What a good choice!

As the the box suggests, you're fighting in WW2 against the evil Nazis who want to take over europe. You, as the player, are placed in several different roles and numerous locations. You start off Russian, become British then American (which I ahven't finished. Yet).

The realism is good, although (and it may be my awful aim) head and body shots seem to create the same reaction. the whole environments are bright and create the game perfectly.

I haven't tried the on-line facilities so cannot give my views on this. Oh well.

This is, without doubt, a game which should be in everone's collection so buy it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my review in short, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. Gillian W. Bracey "oli" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having bought cod 4 first and loving it, i thought why not buy the 2nd and 3rd.I started on cod2, the campaign is up to the standard of the mighty cod4,and the multiplayer is better than average.Sadly it only supports 8 players,still fun though.

Plus:
+Good graphics for the time.
+Easy to master controls.
+Good solid online mulitiplayer.
+Breathtaking epic campaign.
+Vast array of fun to use authentic weapons.
+4 player same console multiplayer genius.
+vehcle bits are fun.

Minus:
-only 8 player online multiplayer.

Campaign:9/10
multiplayer:8/10
longetivity:8/10

OVERALL:9/10
An action packed WW2 fps,unmissible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So close......, 15 Feb 2006
By 
Stuart Brookes (Somerset, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is by far the best WWII shooter I've played. The single player missions are second to none, having much better graphics and overall quality than say "Medal of Honor". However, the online play can be slow. I get the impression they rushed it for release. As such you're plagued with slow, glitchy games, unless the host has 10Meg broadband!!! But in the knowledge from microsoft it's being sorted, this is a very worth-while game to have. No two online games are the same, which is very exciting. Large maps and an armey 007 himself would be proud of, makes Call of Duty number one for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 6 Feb 2006
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Like all the other reviewers say, this game is simply amazing. The graphics, sound, and most importantly gameplay, are all perfect.
The only thing that has let the game down is the sense of scale. In the first game, especially with the Russians, the atmosphere crossing the river in the boat was spectacular, with planes shooting across the screen and boats blowing up, you were truely immersed in the gameplay. And sadly, that the only thing missing here. Sure, theres a few scenes with lots and lots of troops, but nothing to compare to the original.
Other than that, fooking amazing!! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS WAR, 29 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There are so many war games that have been created by hundreds of different developers trying to make you feel like an innocent man dying for their country. Many are not successful at making you feel their and making you feel like your part actually matters but call of duty 2 for the xbox 360 is definately the best war expiernce to offer. It plays wonderfully with a broad range of weaponary and the graphics are tremendous. I love the game and when moving on to a more realistic difficulty of veteran, you really feel like your there. It was the best selling game on the 360's launch for a reason,,,beacuse this is WAR!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Started at the top and worked my way down??!!, 8 Aug 2008
By 
G (Belfast) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is an almost identical review to the guy before me, except I started on COD4 (still loving it), COD3 (let down, will never play again) and now COD2 (brilliant).

Can't believe I almost missed this little gem.......can't believe how much fun it is shooting Germans.......it never seems to wear thin.

You should probably read the other reviews for more game info. I'm just here to recommend this game. It's fun, it's varied, no enormous cut scenes like COD3 (I hated that), straight into the action......Quality.

The reason why Infinity Ward are walking on water these days!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillian, Absolutely brilliant, 21 July 2008
By 
A. Hayes "game freek" (britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This was one of the first games to come out for the xbox 360 and by god it is one of the best! This game is soooo much better than call of duty 3. The graphics on this game are superb, the AI is brilliant and if you are really into the history of ww2 then you must get this game because it is one to go down in history.

You start of as a russian soldier named vasili ivanich koslov and you start of training mission during the battle of moscow when one of the other russian soldiers runs over and tells the captain they they have captured a german soldier. After this you take part in an exellent house-to-house fight across stalingrad. Then you fight your way through mayham bombing german tanks.

In the british campaign you will fight as sergeant. John Davis of the 7th armoured division. on this campaign you will sneak up on german troops and destroy the german supply station. After this you will have to defend a town from an overwhelming number of germans. You will have to blow up there tanks using artilary. Then you will take the roll of British tank commander David welsh on a brilliant mission where you will be in a tank and you wil need to blow up all of the german tanks around you. its quite fun. but the only downside is that the tanks are quite hard to controll and they get quite annoying. After this you will take the roll of John Davis again on an amazing campaign through africa, this is my favorite on the game.

In the american campaign you will fight as corporal BIll Taylor in D-Day when you will start of by climbing a rope that goes up a cliff which will lead you to the fight. on this mission to survive you will need to have a lot of cover and ammo. try not to be seen. After this you will fight in hill-400 which involves the capyure of bergstein.

After this you will fight as english soldier John Davis again in the famous battle of normandy.

final mission is set amongst the Americans in the Rhine River crossing into Germany. It begins as one of the few missions with the player immediately under fire, providing cover fire against the Germans until reaching the river banks and then fighting throughout most of the town. The final fight has the player defeat two German Tiger Is. In the last scene, Sgt. Randall accepts a field promotion to Lieutenant and suggests to the Colonel that he should promote Corporal Taylor to Sergeant to fill the empty Sergeant spot.

A Great game and a must buy for hard-core ww2 game fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth buying, 17 April 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
From an old cojer!!Its been 20 years since I played on arkade games and evryone was going on about the 360 so I thought I would go and see what it was all about and wow!!!!!!! then I looked for a good old war game and boy is this a good old war game apserlootley fantastic well worth getting.The game play is so real and the way you interact with the game draws you into it and makes you want to play it more and more the diffrent skill levels is a real plus espesherley for us old vetrans.And to round things up its a one to buy fun for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play on Veteran for one hell of a gaming experience!, 24 Jan 2006
By 
G. Wilson "andy1962" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well whay can i say? Amazing! The graphics are brilliant(Especially on a HDTV. The atmosphere is amazing!(With 5.1 on!!!)
I didn't buy this game at launch for 2 reasons: Firstly i had never liked war games. Secondly looking at stills of the game, i thought the graphics were not so next gen (Being a P.C port). Only when i read a couple of reviews about the game i decided to buy it and wow was i wrong not to buy it at launch!
The campaigns are split in three. You first start off in the Russian campaign, then the British and then the USA. One word, don't start this game on easy, normal or hard, do it on VETERAN to truly have an amazing gaming experience!
The only downside to this game is the Xbox Live aspect. It lets the single player down so much. There is constant lag (And i'm on an 8mb connection and my upload speed is 512k!) This, i think, is due to the net code of the game which has been confirmed and now Activision and Microsoft are working on a patch. I also don't like how you can't set your own room up and invite friends, hopefully some new feature from this patch will enable this.
Overall i'm still giving it 5 out of 5 stars for it's truly amazing single player. And once they have the multiplayer aspect sorted out, it will be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360)
Call of Duty 2 (Xbox 360) by Activision (Xbox 360)
£23.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews