Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars122
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2006
I first purchased this game with my 360 on the launch date, i was instantly impressed with both the graphics and gameplay. In single player campaign the missions are varied, a good length and a good range of difficulties. I was most impressed when i shot a german's helmet off and he started looking for it.
Having completed single player campaign on the hardest setting i tried my hand at online gaming, unfortunately the game suffered heavily from lag. This im happy to report microsoft fixed with a free update and now its truly great.
Best game ive played so far must buy!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2007
It is. Buy now. This is without a doubt my favourite game of all time. It is so superior to COD 3 you wouldn't believe how much until you play it. The first thing that sets this in a league of it's own are the locations. Unlike COD 3, which was only just superior in graphics, you are not set in one country. You fight across snowy Stalingrad (my favourite part), into the desert plains of El Almein and up cliffs from beaches hosed by machine gun-fire. The variety really feels essential when I look back at my dull half-hours playing COD 3.
The level design is also far better. You are given a fairly open skirmish field every time you get into a fight, not limited to a path or corridor with the odd merciful open battlefield thrown in like in COD 3. This makes COD 2 superior in gameplay by a huge amount. End of. Anyone who says otherwise is desperately trying to convince himself that he hasn't wasted his money.
Actually, I would buy COD 3 as a follow up purchase. The Xbox Live multiplayer is worth the price alone, but still buy this first!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2006
I expected quite a lot from the new xbox and after buying this game I was not dissapointed. In a nutshell it is one of the best games I have ever played. The graphics are superb and the gameplay is fantastic. The missions make you feel like you are in a real war, storming bunkers and finding vantage points to kill the enemy. The veteran mode just makes it a whole lot more realistic (for experienced players), you actually need to dodge and duck to stay alive.
The two player is good and a lot of fun too.
Buy this game!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
Hello!!! What a game!! I dont use that often having started back with the snes and megadrive and seen my fair share of rubbish games!! Call of duty is fantastic, it can be played gun ho - charging into the battlefield launching smoke and grenades and leading the other soldiers into the thick of it or it can be played slowly tactically moving round to overwhelm the enemy. The graphics, sound, movement, AI are all perfect - really i dont know how it could be bettered. I played it on veteran as like other reviewers i tend not to replay, dont be foolhardy, this is a difficult game and on veteran 30 - 60 mins per level is about normal!! and considering there are a lot of levels it has longetivity by the bucket load. The only gripe is online its awful - hard to play - find buddies and has lag. if your not fussed about online and want an involving, difficult, realistic game that makes you glad you havent been "called up" in your life time this is it!!! A+++++++
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2006
This is a real time stealer of a game. Realistic, I believe, and truly awesome to play. The Russian campaign is my favourite with ultra realistic snow and a real feel of the danger of war. The controls are very intuitive and it takes very little time to move from thinking about your actions to just responding to threats. A little linear but then when it looks too easy push up a level, I sure found a challenge then. A must-have for the Xbox360.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
This is the best xbox 360 release title by far.
The gameplay is un-believable and doesn't seem to get boring at any point.The graphics are breathtaking at points and the A.I is also the best in any war game i have played.
The sound is also very realistic as you can hear each bullet flying by your ear and each Nazi screaming at you from a distance.Another cool thing in the game is that your comrades will have a chat whith each other when in safe areas and will call for help and yell out instructions during the amazing battles.
It is quite a long game.It took me between 24-28 hours to complete and i am still wanting to play it some more.
Graphics:5/5
Gamplay:5/5
Sound:5/5
If you own an xbox 360 this game is a must have!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
Wow! If you want to show off your Xbox 360 power to your mates then reach for Call of Duty 2. It is maybe the best looking 360 game to date. There is so much happening with so much detail it is hard not to be impressed. A computer with less power could never cope with this much detail.Sound is on the money also.
The action is intense. Almost from the very start Call of Duty does not let up.
Yes this game is made up with set pieces and it does seem at times your on rails but Call of Duty does it so well that the experience just blows you away. It is at times like being in a war film!
Call of Duty 2 will raise the bar for all first person war based shooters to follow. Get it in!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2006
I've had my 360 for about 3 weeks and this was the first game I bought. What a good choice!

As the the box suggests, you're fighting in WW2 against the evil Nazis who want to take over europe. You, as the player, are placed in several different roles and numerous locations. You start off Russian, become British then American (which I ahven't finished. Yet).

The realism is good, although (and it may be my awful aim) head and body shots seem to create the same reaction. the whole environments are bright and create the game perfectly.

I haven't tried the on-line facilities so cannot give my views on this. Oh well.

This is, without doubt, a game which should be in everone's collection so buy it. Now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2008
This was one of the first games to come out for the xbox 360 and by god it is one of the best! This game is soooo much better than call of duty 3. The graphics on this game are superb, the AI is brilliant and if you are really into the history of ww2 then you must get this game because it is one to go down in history.

You start of as a russian soldier named vasili ivanich koslov and you start of training mission during the battle of moscow when one of the other russian soldiers runs over and tells the captain they they have captured a german soldier. After this you take part in an exellent house-to-house fight across stalingrad. Then you fight your way through mayham bombing german tanks.

In the british campaign you will fight as sergeant. John Davis of the 7th armoured division. on this campaign you will sneak up on german troops and destroy the german supply station. After this you will have to defend a town from an overwhelming number of germans. You will have to blow up there tanks using artilary. Then you will take the roll of British tank commander David welsh on a brilliant mission where you will be in a tank and you wil need to blow up all of the german tanks around you. its quite fun. but the only downside is that the tanks are quite hard to controll and they get quite annoying. After this you will take the roll of John Davis again on an amazing campaign through africa, this is my favorite on the game.

In the american campaign you will fight as corporal BIll Taylor in D-Day when you will start of by climbing a rope that goes up a cliff which will lead you to the fight. on this mission to survive you will need to have a lot of cover and ammo. try not to be seen. After this you will fight in hill-400 which involves the capyure of bergstein.

After this you will fight as english soldier John Davis again in the famous battle of normandy.

final mission is set amongst the Americans in the Rhine River crossing into Germany. It begins as one of the few missions with the player immediately under fire, providing cover fire against the Germans until reaching the river banks and then fighting throughout most of the town. The final fight has the player defeat two German Tiger Is. In the last scene, Sgt. Randall accepts a field promotion to Lieutenant and suggests to the Colonel that he should promote Corporal Taylor to Sergeant to fill the empty Sergeant spot.

A Great game and a must buy for hard-core ww2 game fans!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
I purchased my 360 yesterday and the i purchased call of duty 2, got home unpacked box, plugged in, connected, blah, blah, as an xbox 360 owner you will already understand how anticipated these machines were and the subsequent hype, so i was gonna be quite hard to impress after the annoying shortage of stock debacle, but i put in call of duty 2 and it blew me away(no pun)
graphically amazing, i was never a fps fan before halo came along and that changed me as it was so detailed and well thought out and this game has really upped the level of acceptable gaming. I'm tight-fisted at heart and i think for what games cost they need to earn their keep and so many of them don't, but this has pulled it off, big respect to the teams responsible for this, it seems to draw you in, this is what they should get kids playing to understand just how harrowing warfare really is instead of all that glamorous grand theft auto stuff, i'm sorry but i think it's wrong to make games where you can randomly kill people and police officers, but this makes a point with it's realism....
a must own title for the 360.....
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)