Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ten and a half hits!
This is a strange little compilation. It doesn't quite live up to it's name and as three of the tracks are performed in a different language, they can hardly be counted twice! Maybe I'm nit-picking because as a budget collection, it's not that bad and in terms of "hits", those included are nothing short of great. A few years ago the different language versions would have...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Grant Howard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rating
Was a little dissapointed as a few songs not in English ... But my fault for not looking into it I guess.
Published 7 months ago by Sally Wood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ten and a half hits!, 1 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
This is a strange little compilation. It doesn't quite live up to it's name and as three of the tracks are performed in a different language, they can hardly be counted twice! Maybe I'm nit-picking because as a budget collection, it's not that bad and in terms of "hits", those included are nothing short of great. A few years ago the different language versions would have been considered rare and thought of as bonus tracks. But now with practically every recorded ABBA track available somewhere or other, the obscure songs such as the german "Ring Ring" and the french "Waterloo" are not considered unique anymore. Just about all of their output can stand up in a "Hits" compilation now. ABBA are just known for being great. The fact that there was nine british number ones, different choices for singles in various world territories, or an occasional bigger hit recorded by another artist (E.g. "Honey Honey" top ten in '74 by Sweet Dreams), doesn't matter anymore: it's all like one huge hit. Therefore any compilation has validation. By 2020 though, that idea may have worn a bit thin suggesting compilation titles such as "ABBA's hits beginning with the letter "S" or "Songs before the divorces" and "Hits with one word titles!" So popular are ABBA now and always, there will always be an excuse at least once a year for another compilation to remind us of this and to keep the record company happy in lue of there ever being any new material.
Some technical "nerdy" notes to add for the die-hards in comparing the smorgasboard of versions now available. Firstly this collection has been remastered by ABBA engineer Michael B. Tretow and Jon Astley, who in my opinion have created the best remastered versions, producing a much "wider" mix and allowing more instruments to be audible. Also these mixes afford the tracks that fade out to be slightly longer, e.g the version of "Fernando" has another "yes if I had to do the same again" before the fade ends; and the same on "Lay all your Love..." boasting more of the synthesiser overlays at the very end than the current mix by Masters of Audio, who apart from premature fading, seem to lean heavily on a more meatier, base-ier mix, sacrificing some of the more finer, subtle sounds like the flutes and pan pipes on "Fernando" and the acoustic guitars on "The Winner Takes it all".
With regards to the different language versions, again for the anoraks who no-doubt know this: "Honey Honey" (Swedish version) has different backing vocals throughout and a slightly different string arrangements. "Waterloo" (French version) has an extra note added on the intro and the girls' pronounciation of the title with a cod-french accent is adorable! Finally, the ill-titled "Dame.../Gimme Gimme Gimme" (Pronounced "Dameee") has a lot more percussion pervading the entire mix and a different bridge before the instrumental break, which is also subtlier different boasting a more "funkier/percussive base-line. Instrumentally and production style, this version is much better than the original: it has a more urgent, tighter feel to it, heavily benefiting the genre of the song.
So there's my review: to add to anyone remotely interested in ABBA and their sound, I believe that they were a lot more than successful pop band that was portrayed in the seventies. Technical wizzardry and sublime, exotic, hypnotic pop anhems have ultimately stood the test of time and won the day; and still do, their production never dating or sounding old.
Probably the best collection, yet to be topped is "The Definitive Collection" which can guarantee you every comercial hit including their only 12" remix and an alternative version of an early hit. By far outstripping the mighty giant selling "ABBA Gold" which is far from being complete, or accurate, (Depending where in the world you live). But that leads us to another compelation (More A.G) which is another story and incites another debate! Abba Gold: Special EditionThe Definitive CollectionMore ABBA Gold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abba, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
What can I say!? It was a replacement for one wife lost, it arrived earlier than anticipated, she plays it all the time(groan) good price I'll use them again, (for my music next time)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Odd Collection - But A Big Seller, 13 Oct 2012
By 
J. Hughes "realistcritic77" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
Although this ABBA Compilation has an odd selection of Tracks,
it has sold very well. Across Europe it has sold well over a Million.
With around 350,000 UK Sales. It was a No.15 UK Hit, in 2008, & it has
been in & out of the UK Top 100 since 2006. It has spent almost a
Year in the UK Top 100. So, it has been a big success. I know several
people, who bought it for the novelty of hearing ABBA singing in
languages, other than English - on a few of the Tracks. As long as
such ABBA Compilations sell well, Universal will carry on releasing
them. They will not stop, just because some ABBA Fans disapprove.
'The Music Still Goes On', (1996), & 'The Name Of The Game', (2002),
Budget CD's, have several ABBA Album Tracks on them, but, it did not
stop them selling over 230,000, & over 300,000, respectively - in the
UK alone. Such 'weird' ABBA Compilations sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good experience., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
Speedy delivery with great price. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
For a summary of this group's best output, you couldn't do better than have this CD in your collection. Great recording quality at a bargain price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rating, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
Was a little dissapointed as a few songs not in English ... But my fault for not looking into it I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars abba and my fondest memories of them., 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
Looking back as I do most of the time, I relate to this group who have given me much pleasure and memories in my life. I have sung along with them skipping along the street as a child, singing summer night city, danced and laughed to dancing queen, I enjoy court proceedings so the winner takes it all was a credit to listen to, never heard a song like this ever! My very first double album bought was at Woolworths in Congleton way back in 1986, and I still have this which plays superb, only I wanted more abba hits. Hasta Mania, and thankyou for the music are really touching, I listen to these on my special audio player and it has high output, volume which I never turn down, never annoying the neighbours, quality sound is only from abba. Regards Pat Black, and I am a great lover of all music types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Compilation, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
I thought this was a very good and an unusual cd, not only do you get a best of but also a Swedish version of "Honey Honey", a French version of " Waterloo" a German "Ring Ring" and a Spanish "Gimme,Gimme,Gimme". it's nice to hear Abba singing in other languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great collection, 2 Jun 2013
By 
P. A. Brandon (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
A great collection of hits from the Swedish posters and will not fail to disappoint.

Still very easy to listen and sing along to - even my kids love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars abba cd, 23 May 2010
This review is from: 18 Hits (Audio CD)
the cd was ok at first but then half way through the songs were not sung in english which i did not expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

18 Hits
18 Hits by ABBA (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews