Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
What a wonderful, wonderful talent. This beautiful girl has a fantastic, dreamy voice and this album really does her justice. The CD/DVD "special edition" gives some extra features, but it is the music, and the voice, that enthralls.
Published on 23 Dec 2006 by MKJ

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant listening
I'd love to say Piece by Piece was a huge improvement on Call Off The Search but in my opinion it isn't. Where Call Off The Search had some fairly strong tunes, Piece by Piece tends to be much blander.It's hard to recognise one track from the next.
On the positive side, her voice is as charming as ever and there are a couple of gems on there. Spiders Web is the best...
Published on 29 Sep 2005


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 23 Dec 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a wonderful, wonderful talent. This beautiful girl has a fantastic, dreamy voice and this album really does her justice. The CD/DVD "special edition" gives some extra features, but it is the music, and the voice, that enthralls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love matters., 31 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
Enjoyed this recording, it has the song i was wishing to hear, which is 'i cried for you', which i was sent by a friend after my sister died. so i listen with love and memories. but i also enjoyed the whole disc, so hope you do too. Love that voice she has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pieces add up, 13 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
Melua is not unlike Norah Jones; a jazzy feel is throughout the set. This album is more pop music oriented than her previous set, Call of the Search. Personally I feel this is a better album, the arrangements are tighter and here we have stronger melodies.

There are no stinkers on this album. Nine Million Bicycles has already been a deserved huge hit world wide with its mystic oriental sound (and a fine accompanying video). The re-make of the Cure's Just like Heaven is a fantastic version that has been a big radio hit in my neck of the woods. Instead of the synthesizers Katie provides a simple arrangement with a guitar in the foreground and soft singing. I like this version even better than the original one which still has aged remarkably well. The third minor hit of the album is Spider's Web which boasts lyrics worth taking note of and a tight production. I saw this track live on TV, that version was more energetic and even better. The musicians on this album, by the way, are top performers and one can really tell. The title track is also a grower, which showcases how Katie can handle well delicate singing.

Piece By Piece is an easy sounding album with high standards. It is not groundbreaking but it is immaculately done and yet full of life. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melua Is Magical, 4 Oct 2005
By 
AntiqueMan (San Antonio, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
Along with Call Off The Search, I can say that if I was stranded on desert island and could have only 10 CDs, Piece By Piece would most assuredly be one of them. Every song is beautifully interpreted by this angelic songbird's ethereal, passionate and slightly melancholic bluesy voice. If you crave real talent and are just as displeased with the current state of the musical culture as I am, call off your search and rush to by this truly magical second album by the one and only Katie Melua. I daresay you will spend your entertainment money much wiser than this.
Melua is maturing as an artist and exploring the full range of her talent with this successful second album. Rather than dissect and deconstruct this song by song, I would recommend just enjoying and savoring each song for what it is. They all possess a unique quality that I trust will reach you on the deepest emotional level. Enjoy. I give this 5 stars without hesitation. I honestly feel blessed to be on the receiving end. One could only hope this is but a second chapter in a wonderful and rewarding career for Katie Melua.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gets better, 6 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
Having now lived with this album since its release I'd just like to say I think Piece by Piece is a thing of rare beauty. Katie's voice just keeps getting better and her three compsisions and one co-write on this album show how fast the's evolving as a songwriter.
In answer to the guy on the previous page who thought Belfast (a KM composition from her first album, Call Off the Search) was naive because penguins can't fly, I hope you were joking. The 'cats' are Catholics and the 'penguins' are Protestants (think black suits, bowlers and marching).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nine million little bicycles, 13 Jun 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
Fans of bluesy jazz-pop crooners Norah Jones and Joss Stone need to sit up and take notice of Katie Melua. Following up on the success of "Call off the Search" (2003), her much anticipated second album doesn't disappoint, and the twelve gorgeous tracks are guaranteed to mellow you to perfection.

Released since September 2005 in Europe, the Brits have a nine month jump on the USA, but finally this baby has arrived stateside amidst much rejoicing and celebration. Originally from Georgia (the former USSR, not the peachy place) and now settled in the UK, Katie's sultry voice curls around your speakers and nestles comfortably against your eardrums, and even though I'm no fan of either jazz or blues, I thoroughly enjoyed this album from the first listen.

First single "Nine Million Bicycles" is an excitingly different and unforgettable track that starts with a simple truth: "There are nine million bicycles in Beijing / That's a fact / It's a thing we can't deny / Like the fact that I will love you till I die." The music is hauntingly beautiful, perfectly matched by Katie's clean, clear vocals.

Although every track is a winner, there are those that cry out for more attention, namely "Just Like Heaven" from the movie soundtrack of the same name; the social commentary of "Spider's Web"; bouncy opener "Shy Guy" and the passionately performed title track; but let's not forget the cover of the Canned Heat 1960's hit "On the Road Again" and the catchy "Halfway Up the Hindu Kush". "Thank You, Stars" is another perfect song, and to be honest, I should be recommending every song on this album.

"Piece by Piece" is highly recommended for fans of blues, jazz, pop and intelligent yet romantic music, and that's no exaggeration.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant listening, 29 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
I'd love to say Piece by Piece was a huge improvement on Call Off The Search but in my opinion it isn't. Where Call Off The Search had some fairly strong tunes, Piece by Piece tends to be much blander.It's hard to recognise one track from the next.
On the positive side, her voice is as charming as ever and there are a couple of gems on there. Spiders Web is the best track and the opening track Shy Boy has an addicitive charm. Not quite sure where she goes from here though.More of the same will be the death knells of a successful career. Something a little more vibrant and punchy to break up the general blandness is desperately needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant but nothing special,.., 9 Jan 2006
By 
D. Schulten (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
I'd not heard of this artist before I was given this album for Christmas and it's a nice listen,..I can't agree however with reviewers who claim she has a wonderful voice. This young lady has the kind of voice you can hear in countless jazz clubs the World over,.. good, but nothing special. She tends to swoop 'up' to notes, which irritates after a time, and really doesn't have that strong a voice,..she does however, have a good 'recording' quality ..overall it's a nice enough listen, but essentially I feel great performances and musical interpretation requires vocal maturity and experience of life. Her take on 'Blues in the Night' for example, just doesn't convince me,..listen to Sinatra deliver that song and compare,..good luck to her though,.. time will tell if she has a long career ahead as she obviously has an audience (witness the sales) Nice as background music but, for me, no real substance there. Still, each to their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Katie sings the blues and much more, 14 Nov 2005
By 
Anthony Freeman (Manchester, Greater Mabchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
It seems a long time since "Call off the search" but this follow up was well worth waiting for.Quite simply it is a mixture of the very good and even better.The album is predominantly new tracks several written by Katie Melua herself or Mike Batt and the album is a combination of blues,jazz,soul and commercial pop sometimes all on the same track."Nine million bicycles" is a splendidly catchy commercial number which not surprisingly made the singles charts but my favourites were more blues type tracks such as "Halfway up the Hindu Kush",Blue shoes and Shy boy.For some time I have felt that Katie Melua was the finest female non-classical singer since the late truly great Karen Carpenter.This excellent album confirms that view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb CD, 30 April 2006
By 
Stewart Tick (Boynton Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piece By Piece (Audio CD)
To each their own, of course, but I must say that I disagree wholeheartedly with the negative reviews that have recently appeared here. Personally, I agree entirely with the writer who said that Katie Melua has a naturally expressive voice. To that, I would add that I find Katie's voice to be exceptionally beautiful and her performances to possess an intimate quality that is rare among contemporary pop stars. I recommend that those who enjoy young jazz-influenced pop artists take the time to listen to "Piece By Piece" and decide for themselves. And I would also suggest that those who like Katie ought to check out Erin Bode, an American singer-songwriter whose voice and musical style I regard as very similar to Melua's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piece By Piece
Piece By Piece by Katie Melua (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews