Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy but very enjoyable.
As other reviewers have shown, this is not a serious depiction of the artist's life. As in so many biopics with artistic heroes the actual act of painting appears to be a very easy and trouble free operation, very much secondary to the more important business of being a proto-rock-star bohemian. You are left with no sense that Modigliani is driven by his art, or the...
Published on 27 Nov 2011 by Keith Andreetti

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hanging is too good for it
A very disappointing film that fails on several counts, from its dreadfully embarrassing opening scene and the hopelessly mis-cast Andy Garcia as Modigliani, to its load of old cobblers ending.
To begin with, he didn't die like that and the last words on Picassos lips were Modigliani?? Yeah right, I think not. Who ever wrote this tripe did not get a degree in Fine...
Published on 6 Aug 2009 by S. J. Hannaway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hanging is too good for it, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
A very disappointing film that fails on several counts, from its dreadfully embarrassing opening scene and the hopelessly mis-cast Andy Garcia as Modigliani, to its load of old cobblers ending.
To begin with, he didn't die like that and the last words on Picassos lips were Modigliani?? Yeah right, I think not. Who ever wrote this tripe did not get a degree in Fine Art.
Whilst I have the greatest respect for Garcia as an actor, this was NOT the right part for him, it's a bit like casting Sylvester Stallone as Shakespeare's Hamlet, 'To be or what?' spoken with a heavy New York City accent. (see Robin Williams hilarious impression).
For a start Modi was young, he was only 34 when he died, he was by all accounts very handsome and he was very slim, in fact he was suffering from malnutrition when he died of T.B. Garcia did not look young and handsome or for that matter malnourished, quite the opposite , he's far too old to play a part like that. (Mind you, Garcia did co produce and co direct this film, maybe that's how he got the part).
In fairness though, we are warned that it is loosely based on Modigliani, this is somewhat of an overstatement to the point of being pure fiction. So why even bother to call the film Modigliani?
Also Picasso never ever regarded Modi as a rival, they painted in totally different styles, as those two utterly appalling paintings we are shown at the end, that Picasso and Modigliani would have turned in there graves at the sight of, proves my point. The films lumpen, leaden script apart from being inaccurate is very badly written and directed and I thought the story line was extremely immature, there was never a painting competition between Modi and Picasso, it just didn't happen. The film shows nothing of Modi's African Art influences, nothing of his painting technique, (inspired most definitely by Cezanne not Renoir, who he actually had no time for and told him so, yet another mistake this film makes), which if your going to make a film about a famous artist, you'd think detail is important, at least get some of your facts right.
There was only a brief portrayal of the extreme poverty he worked in; he was so impoverished, he used to paint on both sides of the canvas and stole railway sleepers from the new metro line for his carvings and fuel for his fire and his Caryatids were created from stone blocks removed from the roadside and construction sites late at night, the film shows none of this.
The films biggest flaw however is the lack of empathy you have with the main character Modigliani, you have little or no feeling for him, Garcia is very unconvincing. You do slightly feel for Jeanne Hebuterne, his last girlfriend, who was pregnant and had her other child taken away, this part was well acted by Elsa Zyberstein.
A very surprisingly good turn from Omid Djalili as Picasso. I thought he was very good and the filming and Camerawork direction by Emmanuel Kadosh is excellent. These are the films only plus points.
Modigliani's short life story of misunderstood genius is the stuff of legend, with all his doomed tempestuous love affairs and his excessive use of young prostitutes, he'd also had relationships with all his models for his famous nude paintings,not to mention the opium dens, hashish and absynthe abuse, he almost seemed like a Lord Byron of the art world, you'd have no need to make it up, just sticking to the facts would be enough. With all these ingredients, how could they possibly fail to make a great movie, instead this film was just an expensive wasted opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Modigliani - why the long face?, 12 July 2009
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
This film was made in 2004 and tells the story of the Italian/Jewish artist Amedeo Modigliani, his doomed love affair with Jeanne (Elsa Zylberstein) a young Catholic girl and his bitter rivalry with Picasso. In many ways it is like a 1950's Hollywood biopic- only not as good or as stylish. The direction is ponderous, the script is laughable in places and while there are many good actors involved - Peter Capaldi, Miriam Margolyes, Jim Carter etc - they are often under-employed, just standing around in the background.

Garcia is just about OK as "Modi"?!? but I couldn't really believe in him as a tortured genius, especially as Modigliani died at 35 and Garcia was 49 when he made the movie. The whole Salon D'Artists competition makes the film into an 'Art X Factor', although we are warned upfront that the film is mostly invention (but not that it is corny, cartoon-like melodrama). There was also no mention of why he painted his elongated figures - because he was influenced by African art.

The film does look good, with the streets of early-20th century Paris beautifully evoked in modern-day Romania. I also really like Omid Djalili as Picasso and the fact that he doesn't bother to change his Iranian accent for a cod Spanish one.

I think Modigliani's story is one that needs to be told but this film does not do justice to a great artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantasy but very enjoyable., 27 Nov 2011
By 
Keith Andreetti (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
As other reviewers have shown, this is not a serious depiction of the artist's life. As in so many biopics with artistic heroes the actual act of painting appears to be a very easy and trouble free operation, very much secondary to the more important business of being a proto-rock-star bohemian. You are left with no sense that Modigliani is driven by his art, or the journeys of exploration that he undertook to create his masterpieces. Having said this, I must say that I loved it. I am not really sure I want to watch a gut-wrenching tale of addiction, poverty and frustration anyway (we can get all that at home if we want)! The film is beautiful to look at and the characters are all engaging and well-acted, so that we do care what happens to them. Ella Zelberstein is quite stunning and looks just right to have been the model for Modigliani's portraits of the real Jeanne. I liked the device of a young Modigliani appearing as a bystander periodically through the film, until he is led away from his own grave at the end. The soundtrack is great, including lovely tracks by Keedie. All in all watching this film is a pleasant way to spend an evening...I do wish they had taught the cast to pronounce `Modigliani' though, those hard `g's really grated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pants, 31 May 2012
By 
D. Hill (Buxton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not really sure why I sat through to the end of this. I wasn't convinced by any of the actors and the story wasn't fluid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and factually incorrect, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
Clearly a 'star' vehicle for the undoubted talents of Mr Garcia and nicely filmed. However, it's rather dull and factually questionable. Good work from the supporting cast, though, particularly Omid Djalili who makes a reasonably convincing Picasso.There are better ways to discover Modigliani.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amasing, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if u like film house films youll love this , it is a classy dvd with great acting, andy is great in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD was in good condition, even though sound quality not too good. The film itself was disappointing, not fault od distributor. It was slow moving, but it did make me want to know more about Modigliani.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good one, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
this dvd was so good and very well done and yes like his last year of his life ..... thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modigliani video, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
Just bought a print of this artists work and wanted to get a flavour of his past. Not sure whether or not this portrays it accurately but Garcia is a great actor and we like him!. Good delivery time and the right price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modigliani [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film. Slow to start but I love Andy Garcia so that wasn't a problem. Very sad true story amazing artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modigliani [DVD] [2005] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
32.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews