Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introducing a radical new vision...
Yes! 'Love Kraft' has been the source of much anticipation on my behalf, pretty much since the release of 'Phantom Power' two summers ago. It doesn't disappoint.
Talk of this release being the 'definitive' Furries' LP is not far wide of the mark - elements of their back catalogue are evident throughout, although by no means are the boys re-treading old ground here...
Published on 28 Aug. 2005 by Mr J B O'Shea

versus
7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Labour of love
Die hard SFA fans will be queuing up to award their latest effort five stars, so it seemed necessary to put forward an outsider's point of view. I am hardly new to the band, but wouldn't call myself a fan. I enjoy a few tracks on Radiator and liked their last record, Phantom Power, alot - partly because of the strength of the songwriting and also because of the...
Published on 8 Nov. 2005 by Demob Happy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Thanks, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Kraft (Audio CD)
Recommended! Great album that I would urge everyone to buy. A Classic Artist. Superb Mastering,packaging, everything! Buy this now, its great value...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 21 July 2012
This review is from: Love Kraft (Audio CD)
Super fury animals (sacd) for £3 with delivery now that's amazing! Love the album and sound quality is spot on for all you audio files
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 5 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: Lovekraft (Audio CD)
I have been following SFA for some time now and really enjoy a number of their albums including Mwng, Radiator, Guerilla, Rings around the World and, especially, Phantom Power. One can always count on the Furries to deliver interesting pop hooks, clever arrangements, gorgeous middle 8s all the while messing around with the classic pop song formula (verse/chorus/verse/chorus/middle eight/chorus, etc).

For me, Love Kraft is a bit of a disapointment. Sure, there are some fantastic songs, particularly Zoom! and Ohio Heat, but try as I might, this record just doesn't do it for me. A few of the songs fall flat (e.g. Cloudberries and Back on a Roll) and one or two are just plain annoying (e.g Psyclone).

However, SFA are always interesting and always a challenge. This album is a must for all SFA fans, but for those just getting to know the group I would suggest Songbook or Radiator or Guerilla.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good sound, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Kraft (Audio CD)
I bought this CD very cheap I thought and it's great it's also in SACD so for me even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SFA OK, 7 Sept. 2005
By 
This review is from: Lovekraft (Audio CD)
For 10 years now the SFA have created records of such quality that their star shines much brighter than some of the drudge that gets thrust into the marketing machine throwing out dreary indie pop.
Their music is distinctive but has developed from one album to the next, culminating in Love Kraft which is a fantastic album from start to finish. Creation Records and Mark McGhee maybe remembered for bringing us Oasis, however their greatest signing was without doubt the Furries.
I'm not sure it is worth picking out tracks, as with other SFA albums the album itself is a complete work that really is a treat for the ears.
I cannot imagine you will see a review below 4 stars for any of their albums they are that good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haight-Ashbury Sounds, 24 Aug. 2005
By 
S. Morris (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lovekraft (Audio CD)
It amazes me that no one has mentioned the Grateful Dead in reviews of recent SFA albums. The influence of GD harmonies on tracks such as Zoom, Ohio Heat, and Back on a Roll, and the whole Bluegrass tinged guitar sounds hark back to the San Fransisco 60's! Excellent album with well crafted songs, no fillers at all. Can't wait to hear how they sound live next month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A genuine bargain buy!, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Keen (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Kraft (Audio CD)
Never previously heard anything by Super Furry Animals, and bought this SACD quite by chance. When it arrived - shock!horror! - no SACD logo on the disc or sleeve - had I been sent a standard disc by mistake? It was cheap as chips after all. Popped it on the Hi-Fi and.... I had water rushing over me! The whole disc rocked me back on my heels with it's solid rock tracks, big production and totally immersive surround sound. Sort of American West Coast sound I thought, but these guys are Welsh apparently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Labour of love, 8 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Lovekraft (Audio CD)
Die hard SFA fans will be queuing up to award their latest effort five stars, so it seemed necessary to put forward an outsider's point of view. I am hardly new to the band, but wouldn't call myself a fan. I enjoy a few tracks on Radiator and liked their last record, Phantom Power, alot - partly because of the strength of the songwriting and also because of the political content, which gave the band an added gravitas without being hectoring or over-earnest. For me, one of the turn-offs for the band is their goofiness - in turns playful but also often tiresome, with its stoner rhetoric and sonic doodling. It always seemed more alientating than endearing. 'Love Kraft' suffers similar lyrical conceits - although it has been argued these mask a coded seriousness - set against a luxurious, widescreen sound. With production duties handed to Beastie Boys knob-twiddler Mario Caldato Jr, the record is awash with synth effects, vocal distortions, choirs, all bubbling and morphing in a sonic brew. However, it seems the Super Furries forgot to write any decent songs to accomany this aural assault, and the end result leaves me cold. The constant layering of sounds and the sudden structural shifts in tempo and melody quickly start to sound wearyingly over-produced, over-wrought and unfeeling. As if SFA have let their reputation as leftfield indie heros - a kind of Welsh Flaming Lips - go to their heads, in the process they have pushed the envelope to far, losing their pop sensibility and lightness of touch in the process. Opener Zoom!, for example, could be Pink Floyd, while 'Atomik Lust' is an overt nod to Feel Flows-era Beach Boys. But it lacks the authenticity of those bands, and feels empty for the mimickry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Super Furry Floyd, 6 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Lovekraft (Audio CD)
Seriously, could this BE any more Pink Floydesque? Having said that - it's a GOOD thing. Lush production and laid back to the point of unconsciousnesss. Interesting enough to make me put pen to paper (and that is something!) ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best SFA album, 9 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lovekraft (Audio CD)
I've only recently became a Super Furry Animals, i own Love Kraft, Rings Around The World and Songbook, most recently i bought Fuzzy Logic, and the leap from fuzzy logic to rings around the world and love kraft is unbelievable, i don't really like fuzzy logic, i find it too heavy, where as Love Kraft and RATW are more chilled out, and relaxing, (esp Love Kraft), but i prefer the latest stuff compared to the earlier stuff, brilliant album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Kraft
Love Kraft by Super Furry Animals (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews