Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING!!! YOU MUST HAVE IT!!!
This is the best album i own, hands down, no way around it. The driven riffs and melodies are isntantly attractive and the solos are stunning. Couple that to some awesome lyrics and this is the best album i now own. If you own any trivium, killswitch, atreyu, metallica, iron maiden, spineshank, F4AF, 36 Crazy Fists, Ill Nino, or even audioslave, then buy this, as there...
Published on 3 Dec 2005 by nick_porter333

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bullet For Proper METAL!
First heard Bullet on Kerrang and Scuzz. Saw them live supporting Axl Rose's tribute band in Sheffield in 2006, not quite as good as I thought they might be. A promising young band though. Tears don't fall the most accessible track on the album IMO. You'll like it if you like bands like Trivium & Metallica.
Published on 24 Feb 2007 by SMB Metal


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING!!! YOU MUST HAVE IT!!!, 3 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
This is the best album i own, hands down, no way around it. The driven riffs and melodies are isntantly attractive and the solos are stunning. Couple that to some awesome lyrics and this is the best album i now own. If you own any trivium, killswitch, atreyu, metallica, iron maiden, spineshank, F4AF, 36 Crazy Fists, Ill Nino, or even audioslave, then buy this, as there will be something in this for you. Songs of especial note are; 'Suffocating Under Words of Sorrow (What Can I Do)', the best song on the album, 'Hit the Floor' which is a little (only a little mind) more chilled than alot of the rest of the album, 'All These Things I Hate (Revolve Around Me) lyrics with which we could all have sympathised with at some point in our lives and the way it errupts after the intro is awesome (won it a place as my ringtone ha ha :-P) , and finally '10 Years Today' which i must admit is a new take on the theme of loss, but listen to the lyrics and it is as sad and heartwarming (yes at the same time) as they come and lead singer Matt Tuck has done an especially awesome job with that song, obviously drawing on past experiences....
Well done Bullet....keep it up! (Now, when's the next one out? :-P)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album, 4 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
I have to admit that I was originally attracted to Bullet by their recent fame and hype, mainly conjured up by the kerrang awards. However, after hearing the mini album I was hugely impressed by the band, who seemingly offered a raw british and more technical feel to the metal scene, something that only Trivium seemed to have achieved in recent memory with the brilliant 'Ascendancy'.
I came to this full length debut album with caution, not wanting to get sucked in by the hype but I am amazed by what the band has to offer. From emotional twin lead-guitar driven songs to full on metal assaults and mcuh slower melodies that effortlessly interweave the popular but somewhat now exhausted "scream-sing" technique with technical guitar playing, especially solos like those on "Tears don't fall"; it makes it feel fresh and exciting. Technically the musicians are at the top of their games and the album is riddled with powerful anthem-like songs such as "Ten days Today" or "Tears Don't fall".
I have been listening to the album solid for the 12 hours since I have recieved it and I heartily recommend that you buy it and help Bullet for my Valentine gain mainstream fame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
Never judge a book by its cover. When i first heard of bullet for my valentine i dismissed them as another 'emo' band without actually listening to them. my bad. Having heard their self titled ep i realised how mistaken i was. For a start they are not emo at all. I have since been waiting for the best part of a year for their first full length album. The wait was most definately worth it. 50+ minutes of melodic, intense, catchy, heavy, rocking tracks, that left me wanting more. if you love good riffs in songs this album is a must. I personally do love a good guitar riff and this album is full of em. who said the riff had died? If the poison is anything to go by it will be around for a long time yet. A fantastic debut album from one of britains most promising young bands. all i can say is buy it!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to the fools below!, 22 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
It has always amused me how some metal fans like to think that by putting down bands like BFMV, they are somehow more true to the cause. Not the case. By the way, for any sneerer who doubts my metal credentials, here are 5 bands I love: Shadows Fall, Children Of Bodom, Mendeed, Chimaira and Pantera. I dislike bands like MCR, and think that most emo kids are whiny, overprivileged white-boys without any real problems.
Who knew? I also like Bullet For My Valentine. This is a solid, consistent album not afraid to mix the harder, headbanging elements of traditional metal with a melodic edge. I love metal to bits, but sometimes the constant ear-bleeding assault can get a little monotonous. Bullet, on the other hand, inject some mellowness every now and then to keep their formula fresh. And it works!
You see, what some idiots fail to grasp is, you don't need to be ultra-heavy to be metal. It isn't a cardinal sin to make songs you can hear the words to. Sometimes, I doubt if any of them own an Iron Maiden album between them. '4 Words To Choke Upon', with its distinctive intro and iconic nature, is the crowning glory IMHO. 'Her Voice Resides', 'Hit The Floor' and 'All These Things I Hate' come close, all chugging along nicely. The pace never lets up for long, and by the time closer 'The End' announces itself, you want to hear more. A confident, driven debut from a band who show the promise of greater things in the future, and are already approaching iconic status on the British metal scene. (if you like this, get the self-titled EP too - the one with 'Hand Of Blood' on)
Judge a band not on how 'commercial' they are or how closely they sound like their predecessors, but the quality of the music and how it speaks to you.
And above all, don't listen to reviews from bitter, negative people who have to slag a band off just because they don't exactly match the sound they like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally metal is back!, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
Bullet's new album finally brings metal back to the forefront of the music industry with their new album 'The Poison' they have joined a long line of Welsh bands who have broken into the mainstream including Funeral For A Friend and their label-mates Lost Prophets.
This is their first official album released on the label Visible Noise; they had previously released a limited edition single for 4 Words, an EP(Hand Of Blood) and a mini-album. Recently they have walked off with the award for 'Best British newcomer' at the Kerrang Awards cementing themselves along with fellow metallers Trivium at the forefront for bringing metal back into mainstream as Metallica had previously done 15 years ago. Compared to other bands like Trivium, I find the band easier to listen to on a first try, with Trivium's album Ascendancy it did take a couple of listens to get accustomed to the music. I find Bullet For My Valentine's album 'The Poison' easier to pick-up and play. At times throughout the album, I do find that the lead singer, Matt Tuck at times sounds like Gerard Way from MCR for instance on 'The End'. Not just with his voice, but I find as if they have thrown Metallica-style riffs together with MCR-style lyrics that could have been easily found on 'Three Cheers'. This isn't entirely all that bad, but if you are expecting an album on the scale of Metallica, you won't find it here. As my favourite band is of course Metallica, I obviously look for bands that sound alike and with these new metal bands that come out of no-where proclaiming themselves as the 'new' Metallica, none have been found yet, Trivium tried and failed with their constant-use of screamo/clean singing, which is a style that in my mind is all but dead, it has been done by so many bands beforehand so it is nothing new. Bullet For My Valentine, use the same format 'scream for a bit - sing clean - scream etc.' To me it just isn't as grating as other bands such as Trivium.
The first song off the album which was recorded with the famous Apoclyptica, it appears to be heavily influenced by Metallica instrumentals of old like Call Of Ktulu although it is no where as epic it is still good for a first album. Some other notable songs to be found on the album: '4 Words' which was previously released as a single. I wasn't convinced by "4 Words", which is a pedestrian by the numbers modern rock song and it is no-where near the strongest song on the album. 'Suffocating Under Words Of Sorrow' is the second single off the album following '4 Words'. They seem to have invested some passion in this song which blazes out of the speakers, I'm not 100% convinced that the twin vocal approach is ideal for their material, but there is a raging intensity to this song that makes it stand out from the rest of the album. Another track to look out for 'Tears Don't Fall' it may sound like any average track but just wait until around 3:30 where everything hits off and the days of 80's thrash metal don't seem all that long ago. Over the album there is a diverse range from track to track. Be it power ballads with 'Tears Don't Fall' and 'All These Things I Hate', two songs which are emo-friendly, namely the title track and 'Hit The Floor'. On the other side of the spectrum, 'Suffocating Under Words Of Sorrow' and 'Room 409' contain head-banging riffs and galloping duel-guitar interplay.
To be honest this album may be good, but it is no 'Master Of Puppets' or 'Number Of The Beast'. What it is, is a slice of British metal that seems to be reflect the passion and thirst of upcoming British metal bands in 2005. This is a fantastic album and at it's weakest is exhilarating to listen to.
8/10
Simlar Artists:
Trivium, Metallica, Funeral For A Friend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welsh boyos hit the nail on the head with 'The Poison', 9 May 2008
By 
Mr. Peter Drew "MetalliFan619" (Lydney, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
Bullet for My Valentine's debut album, and what a debut, awesome riffs, powerful vocals and emmense Solo's is what a debut should have. Having heard only two songs from this album before I bought it, I thought it was about time broadened my musical horizons (from just listening to Metallica & Slipknot!). Beginning the album with a soft melodic intro, which features Apocalyptica, which leads prefectly into 'Her Voice Resides', A Thrash annihilation with screams but leads to smooth vocals by Matt Tuck and the boys.
'Cries in Vain' was originally taken from their self-titled five track UK EP and the US six track EP Hand of Blood and '4 Words (To Choke Upon)' was originally taken from the EP Hand of Blood.
Overall, this album has put Bullet For My Valentine on the map and has seen them as a support act for bands like Metallica, Gun 'n' Roses and Funeral For A Friend, So a must-buy for fans of early Metallica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, easy-listening metal music, 6 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
bfmv sometimes sounds a lot like trivium, id reconmend them to fans of theirs! and in response to the comment titled 'skilled, yet its not REAL metal'. this is metal music. it may not be as heavy as other metal bands, and of course its on the emo side too, but theres nothing wrong with that and it doesnt matter. i dont understand music snobs who won't listen to a certain band because of the genre their music is. surely if they were really interested in music, then the genre wouldnt matter, you'd listen to it for what it is. and if you don't like it, simply don't listen to it and don't insult it.
im sure bfmv didnt go out to just get metal fans, they want fans who enjoy their music. and as for all their fans having followed the media, im sure this is very untrue. i first heard a bfmv song when a friend gave me a random selection of her cds to try out, and i loved it. not because some music channel or magazine had told me to.
this is an amazing album, as is their previous one and although it isn't as metal as it could be, it's not claiming to be so it's ok. i would definately reconmend it to anyone who's in on the metal/emo/screamo scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metalcoreftw!, 10 Jun 2007
By 
Josh Shack (Manchester! England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
Definetly is one of the best Metal bands of the Century, and British! :D

I bought the Poison last year and Bullet have quickly become my favourite band. Only annoying thing is the constant complaints from people about "Ooh how emo they are" and "they arent metal" Which in my opinion, both of this are bull****.

My advice is watch out for the new album coming this Summer, hardcore Thrash metal, gonna be killer. Listen to Scream Aim and Fire live on Youtube (One of the new albums songs, being played on Tour)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They've Poisoned Me, 29 Sep 2005
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
From what I've heard of this Welsh 4-piece, they are absolutly amazing. Having heard the mini-album, I can clarify: They will rule the British metal scene. All the hype surrounding this album should be justified, as they have "Filtered out the filler songs", leaving pure British metal. I personally cannot wait to get this album, as it will be one of the best albums I own. They have worked hard, and deserve all the praise they have recieved. May they rule supreme!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 24 Oct 2006
By 
Ms. K. Norman "Kazza" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Poison (Audio CD)
it takes a few listens to, before you really get into it, but stick with it. 'tears dont fall' and 'all these things i hate' are so obviously good, that the other songs dont quite feel the same, but once you get used to them theyre all great. the best track is probably room 409.

if your into trivium you'll probably like them. really really good band, who are amazing live too, and a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Poison
The Poison by Bullet for My Valentine (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews