Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding RTS
If you are a fan of Warhammer 40,000 then the chances are you've already bought this. If you're new to the Games Workshop's sci-fi battle game, prepare to be converted...
This is easily the best RTS game on the PC right now. It's rich, detailed, involving and fantastic to look at, if you have the right system. On higher-end systems, you can zoom...
Published on 1 Feb. 2006 by Axeman5000

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Live fast, die young
Let me begin by saying this is a review for those of you who do not indulge in multiplayer rts action, as I myself do not. I have heard from many that multiplayer is where this game shines, which I can well believe based on the poor single player experience.

Firstly, there is only one campaign. This could be forgiveable if at some point you employed the use of...
Published on 21 Oct. 2006 by Anthony Cross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding RTS, 1 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you are a fan of Warhammer 40,000 then the chances are you've already bought this. If you're new to the Games Workshop's sci-fi battle game, prepare to be converted...
This is easily the best RTS game on the PC right now. It's rich, detailed, involving and fantastic to look at, if you have the right system. On higher-end systems, you can zoom right in to soil level smoothly, so that you can see the combat as if you were looking through a soldier's eye.
The combat is brutal - pitching you against Orks, Eldar and eventually (no surprises here...) Chaos. You could be picky and ask for different races, such as Tyranids, but this will no doubt be covered in a future expansion pack. You could even ask for a choice of which army to lead through the campaign mode, rather than being stuck with the Blood Ravens space marines, but hey...
Control of squads and characters is intuitive - squads spawn together and stay together, which makes it easy for you to send a fairly hefty army into a pitched battle with only a few clicks. Support weaponry improves as you progress through the game and is a lot of fun, although you'll probably yourself sticking with cheaper tanks rather than more expensive ones, just for the sake of sheer weight of numbers.
OK - The plot in the campaign mode is a bit hackneyed, but really that's not the point. You only want to progress and annihilate after all...
The only other downer is that some of the voice acting is slightly dubious. I'm almost sure it's the same guy voicing all the characters. And some of the "battle-cries" of your troops are borderline hilarious.
But, we can't knock it too much. This game could have been rubbish - lots of previous Games Workshop tie-ins have been lacking a certain something. This really delivers the goods though and none of these downsides would justify knocking a star off the rating.
Enjoy the game - you don't have to be an adolescent hobbit-worrier to really get in to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worse Than Class As.., 6 May 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
To be honest, I've never really reviewed a computer game before but this has taken my attention to a whole new level. I've played many role play and wargame tabeltop and convention level games and never before has the right mix been acheived. They either feel stale or are over complicated but this has to be the best version of Epic ever.

Living where there are no GW stores (a rarity in this country) and nobody else plays, my prayers where answered. Although very dubious about this game to begin with, it really does work as well as any Warhammer tabletop game should.

To be honest, the faults I have with this game are basic, the fact that there are no Thunderhawks, Demolishers or Bike squadrons in the game (or titans for that matter) are firmly made up for by the quality of the graphics and the overall playability of the game. Aesthetics aside, the difficulty level of the game could do with tweaking. Orcs are one thing and should be cut down easily but against Chaos marines the tabletop games always go down to the wire, often last man standing.

These small points aside, I wait with baited breath to see what they will come up with next. Hopefully some proper Epic or even a Battlefleet Gothic game and I hope that they keep a simillar game system.

An excellent game that, in my opinion, is more addictive than class a's....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cowards die in shame!, 23 Jun. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Warhammer dawn war offers you the chance of making and controlling an army and empire big enough to destroy the enemy its the tabletop model game right on your computer. It is complete addiction and has many expansions to it, you can play as 4 different types of races although the expansions make extra races every time, in this you can play as the twisted and evil chaos marines, The faithfull eldar, the heroic spacemarines and the mad and ferocious orks. Each race has different units and different builings, each race has a individual technique to destroy the enemy also each race has a boss apart from the space marines for the chaos its the bloodthirster which a demon with an axe, for the eldar its the avatar which is a god with a aztec sword, and for the orks its squiggoth which is a dinosaur with lazer guns and canons.You can play skirmish and campaign mode which is difficult and enjoyable or play other people in the world to experiance more fun. This game has amazing graphics and gameplay, this is truly recommended game to buy it can give you hours of incredible gameplay and fills your head with strategy on how to select squads of units and destroy the enemy with deadly weapons and guns, this is a incredible game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't matter if you've never even heard of WH40k., 28 July 2006
By 
M. Bowden-smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Get. This. Game.

It got GOTY for a reason.

Having played Warhammer quite a bit in after-school clubs and such, I was somewhat skeptical. The only other Warhammer game that I had played was Chaos Gate, and, needless to say, it lacked quite a bit. Dawn of War, however, is completely different.

This game just blew me away. Even though the tutorial became somewhat annoying after the first fifty little snippets of voice, you only need to play it for about five minutes before you can jump into a mission, with the basics of the game, and win with relative ease. But that's only mission one.

Everyone is true to their own race. Space Marines are a blind boltgun, Chaos is absolutely off it's head with power and corruption, the Imperial Guard have crap Morale but big numbers (Hell, they have a penal legion. The Raven's probably got /that/ regiment.), and the Eldar are all knowing.

On the whole, this is a really well put together game. Even though I am slightly disappointed ot not see all the units available (Bike Squadrons, Terminator Seargant and such), it was a pleasant surprise to see a tabletop game turned into such a polished piece of entertainment.

I look forward to buying the expansion packs, and if you don't have this game, I'll say it again. Get it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars solid strategy game, 6 Feb. 2007
By 
Michael Soutar "strategy nut" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Dawn of War is fun, engaging and superb in terms of graphics. The last is particulary good when compared to something like Warcraft 3. I also think that it is more accesible with faster gameplay. In addition, you don't need to be familiar with the table-top game to immerse yourself in the mythology of the 40K universe. the moving over of impassable terrain of certain units adds a bit of novelty, as does the morale bar for most troops.

On the negative side, i would recommend buying Dark Crusade over this game, simply because it is a stand alone product with all-new troops and two new races, the necrons and the Tau empire. Perhaps it would be better to buy Dark Crusade. It's comparatively cheap compared to Dawn of War and has a lot of new features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waaaaaaagh!, 26 Dec. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this game, although due to the graphics card of my laptop, i was unable to view the mini-map. It has hours of enjoyably challenging missions, not to mention over twenty maps to play in skirmish mode, with online capabilities. The game itself often plays different to other RTS games, which tend to involve collecting tons of resources, taking absolutely ages to build up a good army etc etc... BUT, DoW is much more fun to play, as you only have to focus on two "Resources", one of which is power to your base, the other is "Requisition", which is the main problem, but requisition is gained buy capturing different places in the game and fotifying them. Altogether this game is awesome, but with one minor hitch. You only have one campaign, and by that i mean you can only play campaigns as one army... I still recomend you buy this amazing game, it didn't get Game Of The Year for nothing, you know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of War, 12 Aug. 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Dawn of War is a good game. I certainly wouldn't put it up there as one of the best strategy games, but it is definately fun to play. There are some elements of it that are good, and some which are not so good. The campaign, for example, is ok but the story is a little weak and very generic for the Warhammer 40,000 universe. The cutscenes between levels were quite poorly animated but helped to carry the story on nonetheless. It's not very long either, and only let's you play as the Blood Ravens Space Marines (who lack any real, imaginative character and are just a very boring choice if you ask me).

The skirmish and online multiplayer features are probably the best part of Dawn of War. You can use the army painter to customise your own forces and pitch them against a computer controlled player or go online. There's a good number of maps to choose from, and it can keep you going for some time.

The graphics are impressive, and model detail is good. However, despite what Relic or anyone else might have said, they do not interact with each other and have little duels or whatever. Just like in any other strategy game, they hack at each other or occasionally stumble back as if hit. They do perform some nice death-moves though, such as an Eldar Wraithlord ripping off the head of a Chaos Defiler. The camera is also a good feature, and lets you zoom right into the combat and pan around and all that business.

One thing I must point out about Dawn of War as being a considerable flaw, is the unit pathing. It's awful. Handling one or two units is ok, but as soon as you try to swarm in with a considerably-sized army it all goes wrong. You send them in to attack, and it descends into chaos. Tanks get all confused by the troops running past them and can't make any decent progress. Squads split up and some are left behind. Should they reach their destination, they've lost all unit cohesion and if you're not careful will just get picked off and ultimately slaughtered. There are ways around it, such as sending them off in individual groups or something, but it still can happen and is annoying. I've never seen such bad unit pathing in my entire gaming life.

Having said all that though, I'd say Dawn of War is still worth the money. The gameplay is good, and it will keep you going for a while. As a fan of the tabletop game myself, I'm glad to see a decent Warhammer 40,000 strategy game out.

It's a shame THQ got their hand in it though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Live the Emperor, 20 Nov. 2005
By 
Mike (colchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
I used to play the table top Warhammer 40K when I was a kid with all the home made scenery & hand painted figures so when I was looking for a RTS to play this one caught my eye.
It does not dissapoint! The feel of the game is spot on & the interface is very intuative. I barely read through the manual & was crushing orks in the major campaign after a few goes on the training levels.
The AI gives you a good chalenge in the single player modes & I can't wait to try out the online play.
In all a credit to it's class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The tabletop Transformation of the decade, 5 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Okay, so you won't find many tabletop hobbies turn into one of the defining RTS's of its time and as a big Warhammer40k fan i must say im very thankful i got this game.

In the campaign you play as the Blood Ravens chapter, of the superhuman Space marines.You follow the Blood Raven commander Gabriel through some well designed levels in search of a dangerous weapon that, if falls into the wrong hands could be fatal to the imperium.
The gameplay is the typical RTS style but there is something different about this one: decent graphics,good ideas put to paper,full 3d zoom view of the Warhammer world and a good flexible uniqueness to each of the four armies......yes yes its all there but the coolest feature of this game has to be the attention to details, every tiny technical and graphical point is covered and the brilliant futuristic battle scenes are cutting edge.
Only a couple of complaints: the usual clone armies, as is traditional of RTS's and though you use Imperial Gaurd( the human defenders of the Imperium) you can't use them as a specific army. All this is covered in the expansion(Winter Assualt)
Brilliant game and really decent free mods of Deamon hunters andWitch hunters on |:[...]
If you haven't already got it
GET IT NOW!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Table-top transformation, 6 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD) (Video Game)
Okay, so you won't see many table-top hobbys going into the mad and sophistocated PC world but I've got to say that out of all the modern RTS's on offer this one takes the cake.
As a big Warhammer40k fan myself I'd really wanted to get the game that had been so talked about by everyone from PC magasines to my wacky friend Max, and i thank myself every night ,after playing it, that i got the game
If your not a Warhammer fan this game is still a must have. The graphics are good (but not too challenging for a decent Graphics card), the 3D zoom view gives you a look at the marvelousely crafted scenery and models from just about any angle you want(i hate those 2D formats all RTS games have like AofE2 and all the red alert games)but most of all the uniquness of each different army gives the single player skirmishes much more flexibility than its predecesors.

Just a few problems: the usual clone armies, which, in its defence, is traditional for almost all RTS games,and though you can play with the Imperial Gaurd in the Campaign I was upset that you couldn't use them as an Individual army.All this is of course sorted out on the Winter Assualt expansion and for those true warhammer fans there are some decent mods to get Deamonhunters and Witch Hunters on: innocence-proves-nothing.com
One of the best RTS's of all time
if you haven't already got it
GET IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Game Of The Year Edition (PC CD)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews