Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abba Magic In Australia
"Abba-The Movie" was in the cinemas back in 1978 and this re-release brings back wonderful momories. Digitally remastered and with bonus features including an interview with Bjorn,Benny and director Lasse Halstrom the music harks back to a time before the devorces and the serious stuff took hold of the Abba members.The photography and footage of the Australian concerts is...
Published on 27 Jun 2009 by S. V. Kerry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abba - The Movie (DVD)
To be honest, apart from the good delivery and the quality of the DVD, the movie was disappointing. I am an ABBA fan but I bought it for someone else and had to endure watching it on Christmas day and even the person I bought it for was disappointed. Who am I to judge though! If your a huge fan, buy it, you may love it
Published 8 months ago by Carol Twain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abba Magic In Australia, 27 Jun 2009
By 
S. V. Kerry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abba - The Movie [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
"Abba-The Movie" was in the cinemas back in 1978 and this re-release brings back wonderful momories. Digitally remastered and with bonus features including an interview with Bjorn,Benny and director Lasse Halstrom the music harks back to a time before the devorces and the serious stuff took hold of the Abba members.The photography and footage of the Australian concerts is amazing and its so nice to hear the oldies again."Tiger","S.O.S",Rock Me",Mamma Mia","He Is Your Brother","Money Money Money",and "Ive Been Waiting For You"are all here and it looks like the performers had the time of their lives.Frida and Bjorn hamming it up on "Why Did It Have To Be Me",Benny virtually lifting himself off his piano stool during "Intermezzo No 1" and Agnetha laughing and joking with the band shows she wasn't always the crumbling wreck she's so often percieved as being.O.K so the little sub-plot about the d.j trying to get an interview is light weight but the scenes premiering "Eagle" and "The Name Of The Game" are excellent under Halstrom's direction. The joy in the performance of "So Long",the audience reaction to both "Fernando" and "Dancing Queen" and the inclusion of "Get On The Carousel" are reason enough to get this, let alone the stunning ariel shot of the stockholm Islands closing with "Thank You For The Music"...Brilliant..Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - must buy!!, 12 Feb 2006
Well i wasn't around for the Abba days so i'm so grateful that someone thought to make this wonderful movie!! Not for the not so genius story, but for the wonderful concert footage! Just amazing!!
Songs include Fernando, Dancing Queen, Waterloo, Gimme Gimme Gimme, Money Money Money, Why Did It Have To Be Me (Bjorn and Frida only!!! HGHLIGHT!) I've Been Waiting For You - all LIVE!
Imagine Fernando - Frida singing beautifully, her warm deep inviting voice and long firey red straight hair blowing in the warm night breeze - just beautiful - ON THIS DVD!
You really get such a buzz and feel like you're really back in the 70's, back there at those concerts with them!! Sensational!!
I first bought the PAL video and played it over and over again - now i have The Movie on DVD - It's FAB!!
MUST BUY FOR ANY ABBA FANS!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VIP Treatment, 7 Jan 2008
By 
Brett R. Ray (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was very excited to hear that the great work the Swedish Film institute did on this film was being now presented in Blu-Ray Format.

Fistly Thankyou.

This is a excellent transfer considering the film was made in 1977 for a limited release.

I was 12 years old when ABBA came to sydney in 1977.

Being one of 4 children and with just 1 income in the family I could not
go to see ABBA in concert.

Reading the paper every day when they were here I still remember what a mad time it was then.

Jump to Christmas 2007.

The Blu-ray arrives and I got to see it on my dad's new 56" Samsung plasma
with surround. It was great to watch it with my family.

The picture is beautiful, The sound is fantastic. I did get to go to the concert and was transported to another time.

Thankyou for all the hard work in this release.

If you are a true ABBA fan Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harmless fun with easy plot. Only for the die-hard fan, 25 Mar 2003
By 
Paolo (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Being a die-hard fan myself, i was THRILLED when this was on tv a couple of years ago, and have spent the following time trying to track it down on video. This is the closest i have come!
To put it bluntly, this is a fly-on-the-wall film about ABBA on tour in Australia. The director was given access to the group while on tour, so all the footage you see of them is real life. (although Tom Oliver - Lou from neighbours - does play their security guard for plot purposes ) It features a great number of live performances, many of which appear on the LIVE album.
Having said this, there is a plot woven in, that was apparently thought of on the plane to australia. It involves a luckless DJ making a radio documentary on the group, and his continually thwarted attempts to interview them. It's not exactly hard to follow, but it does provide some laughs, and there are some really cute moments when he interviews children. ( no actors! )
All in all this is great for the serious fan, but people that are not so interested may not find enough here to keep them watching. But if you are mad about the group like me, then it is well worth trying to get hold of it. The performances of I'm a Marionette and Get off the Carousel are unique, in that in the former case it is completely different to the original version on The Album, and in the latter case i have never found this song anywhere else, and they are two brilliant tracks on this movie! So it's worth owning them. The version of dancing queen is very different too, but the exact same performance can be found on the LIVE album.
Basically it's a good singalong feel-good easy to watch candid film, and if you can find it then its well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The waiting is finally over!, 29 Sep 2005
By A Customer
It just seems too good to be true. Abba -The Movie is finally released on DVD for the first time.
I remember going to see this movie when it was released in 1978. I especially remember the queues of people waiting in anticipation outside the cinema.
I purchased the video in december 1983 and must have played it a thousand times over.
The critics at the time did'nt seem to rate the movie that much, most of them criticising the plot within the film which is based around a young country and western dj who is assigned by his boss to obtain an exclusive interview with ABBA for airing on Radio 2TW a week later.
The concert footage of Abba is still as good as it was back then and with the dj storyline it all comes together quite well.
I have given this DVD 4 stars. I've deducted a star due to the lack of any extra footage. It would have been great to have seen something from the film that had'nt been shown before. The interview with director Lasse,Bjorn and Benny on the 2 disc special edition is not bad and the commercials to advertise Abba - The Album really take you back to the 70's.
All in all, i'd definitely recommend this DVD, even if you're not an abba fan. It certainly brought all the memories flooding back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST-HAVE!!! Best Abba video out!!, 16 Mar 2005
This is the most amazing Abba documentary on Abba you will ever find!! Interviews and live performances - it's a story about a journalist who tries to get an interview with Abba and all the obstacles he goes through, trying to get one!!
Fabulous rare songs like I've Been Waiting For You, Tiger, Carrousel and I'm a Marionette, performed live!! Gorgeous Frida and Agnetha like you've enver seen before!! As i'm a Frida fan, i was over the moon when i watched this - live performances of Fernando, Money, Money, Money and a fantastic performance of Frida and Bjorn singing Why Did It Have To Be Me - energetic and crazy!
Really fab - if you're a fan then you MUST buy this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABBA look at this. (ABBA=Have a) Oh never mind!, 11 Feb 2008
By 
A. WILLIAMS (Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am a massive ABBA fan and I was shocked to learn that they made a movie a few months ago. This movie was not the critics "film of the year" in no way, shape or form. This was due to the loose "plot". The storyline is basic for a few reasons, all Benny (Andersson) wanted was a film that would remind the band of their time in Australia, then a film was born.

For 80% they (the band) wasn't even acting.

The film is amazing. The picture quality is stunning. Looks like it could have been recorded yesterday.

The bonus features disk also gives a lovely little insight to the days gone-by and there is a 40 minute interview with Bjórn, Benny and Lasse (The director) about the movie. Unless you speak Swedish though you'll find the range of subtitles useful.

It was a great buy! Totally an insight. Just tremendous picture quality and loads of exclusive songs that there aren't "music-videos" for.

Totally a MUST have for any fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I was there!, 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: Abba - The Movie [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
First of all you have to try and forget the silly DJ part of the story and just completely enjoy the fantastic songs ABBA perform in front of a frenzy of fans. ABBA were like Gods in Australia in 1977 and were treated as such. My favourite performance has to be the great Dancing Queen, thrilling the audience into an ultimate climatic ending. I believe they also played Royal Albert Hall in England on the same tour but I was too young to go...sob. Enjoy the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABBA Alive & very Well!, 6 Mar 2010
By 
G. Fraser (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although ABBA didn't care much for touring they loved performing on stage especially Frida, the 'Movie' has all the hits and some surprises with stunning live HD footage and truely brillant remasterd audio. Although the plot is week, it does add humour and presents ABBA in some unusual situations (the lift scene is fun and shots of them on the road are revealing). Highlights are Tiger as they hit the stage, Frida in Why did it have to be, the rarely seen Carousel and Eagle.

Its a great time capsule of a live performance in the 1970's with real singing and an energetic stage presence compared to todays over produced, auto tuned 'live' performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to high school years, 6 Jun 2009
By 
L. Rusev (Sofia, Bulgaria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It was great pleasure to go back 30+ years when I first watch this movie. My daughters (9 and 12) are mad about ABBA, they knew CDs and videos only. This movie brought joy and dances at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abba - The Movie [DVD] [2005]
Abba - The Movie [DVD] [2005] by Lasse Hallström (DVD - 2008)
£11.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews