Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comic genius
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT AND WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO BE PRESENT WHILE MY
BROTHER IN LAW WAS WATCHING IT.
It's been so long since Tommy was on Tv , that you forget how funny he realy was. He must go down in British comedy as one of the all time greats of comedy as well as a very clever magician.A must see for anyone who likes their humour clean so that the whole...
Published on 5 Feb. 2009 by Andy D

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but there are better videos
there are a few geniuinely funny tommy moments in here but they are few and far between. it seems the 'tv' people watered him down a lot in order to produce a weekly tv show that would stretch his genius as much as possible. the result is a lot of dull and boring sketches put in as filler material to pad the weekly show out to an hour and satisfy the chief execs...
Published on 21 May 2009 by Nomessingabout


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars comic genius, 5 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT AND WAS FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO BE PRESENT WHILE MY
BROTHER IN LAW WAS WATCHING IT.
It's been so long since Tommy was on Tv , that you forget how funny he realy was. He must go down in British comedy as one of the all time greats of comedy as well as a very clever magician.A must see for anyone who likes their humour clean so that the whole family can watch together.
Excellent box set The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good but there are better videos, 21 May 2009
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
there are a few geniuinely funny tommy moments in here but they are few and far between. it seems the 'tv' people watered him down a lot in order to produce a weekly tv show that would stretch his genius as much as possible. the result is a lot of dull and boring sketches put in as filler material to pad the weekly show out to an hour and satisfy the chief execs.

the bits where tommy is just being tommy are absolutely brilliant and can be found on his own stand up shows rather than this tv production show. maybe people who actually watched the tc hour on tv when it originally aired will find this pleasing due to nostalgia i dont know, i just prefer to be laughing non-stop when watching his own stand up dvds rather than one or two laughs but being sat bored most of the time watching this stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
9 hour-long shows (minus commercial breaks = about 7 1/2 hours) of Tommy Cooper and friends spread across three DVDs.
These were originally broadcast as specials every three months or so from October 1973 onwards.

Be warned: by friends I mean seemingly endless musical guests and worn-out running gags.

But wait! This is classic television. This is what it was like the first time you watched it in your nan's sitting room in front of a three bar coal-effect electric fire.
Embrace the done-to-death gags, lose yourself in the sparkly-eyes of Dana, roar at the buffoonery of the fezzed-one!
Bacon, egg, sausage and beans - you're back in the seventies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Just Like That', 17 April 2009
By 
Steve Gomersall (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
Happy days................

A true one off, dive back into the time of proper comedy that actually makes you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Oct. 2009
By 
Ransen Owen (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
About 20% of the DVD made me laugh. The rest seemed very dated and very unfunny. When he does his magic at the very start of each show is best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 13 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
Not what I wanted - should have read the small print. I expected a 3hr series of edited sketches and routines. Actually I got 3 1hr thames tv programs. Its very dated and very "not very good"

If you buy this, it is because you starred in it or have a strange desire to watch very poor, dated 70's telly.

I give it one star because it is a historical document of types and I didn't read the label. Had I actually wanted this, I would submit myself to cortical surgery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOMMY COOPER HOUR, 22 Mar. 2008
By 
M. R. Street "VIRUSEATER" (CANNOCK,STAFFORDSHIRE, U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
great dvd set well worth the money lot of old acts on here now forgotten but the best one i think of which is mega rare is DANA[ I HELLO HOW ARE YOU].... ,this is one of danas best songs enjoy it i did...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tommy cooper hour, 8 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
I bought this dvd as a present- the recipient declared it to be the best birthday gift- EVER_ so i take it its a very good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class DVD, 5 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
I am of the Tommy Cooper era and found this DVD brought back memories,so much so I had to get a second copy for my neighbour..
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the tommy cooper hour, 27 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) (DVD)
This is a 3 disc set..it is a great watch ..just like the old days.so funny.tommy cooper knows how to make everyone have a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD)
The Tommy Cooper Hour (Three Discs) (DVD) by Royston Mayoh (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £1.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews