Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2006
There is so little of Barry Humphries work available on DVD in this country - unlike in the USA where much of his best UK television work has already been released - that this collection is welcome indeed. The three Audience With specials are superb with the first two in particular outstanding. It is easy to forget that these were the first entries in this long-running series and were originally conceived as a satire on celebrity self-aggrandising. How far we have come since then.
The extras are fascinating for Edna-watchers, covering obscure appearences on chatshows mostly in the 1980s, a very good decade for Edna as she blossomed into a megastar. Most interesting of all is her pre-Dame appearence at a poetry forum, on a panel including Sir John Betjemin and Allen Ginsberg, still very much the frumpy, gauche housewife blinking in the spotlight.
There are many more unforgettable (for those lucky enough to have seen them at the time) appearences which would be wonderful to have in any future releases. Hopefully the Dame Edna Experience shows will be made available to UK viewers, as they have been in USA.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2010
Dame Edna with a plethora of famous faces in the audience, some of whom could be embarassed by her outspoken comments, but everybody laughed because what else can you do faced by this irrepressible, indomitable Dame? My only complaint is that it is all over too soon (although that is not to say the DVD is too short, nor that it is not value for money). Laugh? I thought I would never dry. Superb!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
So glad I purchased this DVD of Dame Edna Everage. I enjoyed all three of those ITV Specials in which Dame Edna gave hilarious answers to questions from her audience. I also loved her appearances on other shows such as Late Night From Two for example and that South Bank Show on the legendary ''Houswife Superstar'' told me everything I needed to know about the character. Defo Barry Humphries' greatest comic creation. He is a genius, a great satirist. Can't wait to watch The Dame Edna Experience next.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
I totally LOVE 2 of the three episodes contained here. My favorite is ONE MORE AUDIENCE WITH DAME EDNA EVARAGE. Well worth viewing. The first one of the 3 is a bit awkward, mostly do to a poor camera angle on THE DAME as a bad frock. However, the other two are great. The extras are wonderful. A must see.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
Since the phenomena "talkshow" spread like a disease all over Europa in the late 70ties and early 80ties, voyeurism, and egomanism reached new standards.
These shows consists of a chain of unusefull and unimportant information concerning all the whereabouts of so called "prominent" people. The real world has been sent into during those days.

Dame Edna shows us the real value of the "talkshow". In here open-minded vulgarity, she reduces these "prominents" to what they really are : To people who only have a name if you puta badge with a name on them.
Althoug these shows are 25 years old now, they`re still worth while to see. A strong recomandation from me !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
The first audience on here...in my opinion...is brilliant...... Humphries...slightly less than formidable....
which for me makes the Dame even more enjoyable xxxx

Several great and not to be missed extras on here for the true fans including

Aquarius -poetry international,Aspel @co,Late night from 2,Sunday Sunday,the 6O'clock Show,, The South Bank Show
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
This is a must for any fan of Dame Edna ! Hilarious DVD and brilliant to watch. Would highly recommend this product to any fan !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
These shows look very dated, but the way Dame Edna treats her guests is hilarious. Had me laughing a lot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
Would have liked subtitles (being German) but I am just over the moon to have it - am a possum :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
A classic charm with the pomp and circumstance of a festival. Much fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)