Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue
There is so little of Barry Humphries work available on DVD in this country - unlike in the USA where much of his best UK television work has already been released - that this collection is welcome indeed. The three Audience With specials are superb with the first two in particular outstanding. It is easy to forget that these were the first entries in this long-running...
Published on 16 Jan 2006 by David Benson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hello Possums!
These shows look very dated, but the way Dame Edna treats her guests is hilarious. Had me laughing a lot
Published 21 months ago by Garry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue, 16 Jan 2006
By 
David Benson "david@thinknoevil.com" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
There is so little of Barry Humphries work available on DVD in this country - unlike in the USA where much of his best UK television work has already been released - that this collection is welcome indeed. The three Audience With specials are superb with the first two in particular outstanding. It is easy to forget that these were the first entries in this long-running series and were originally conceived as a satire on celebrity self-aggrandising. How far we have come since then.
The extras are fascinating for Edna-watchers, covering obscure appearences on chatshows mostly in the 1980s, a very good decade for Edna as she blossomed into a megastar. Most interesting of all is her pre-Dame appearence at a poetry forum, on a panel including Sir John Betjemin and Allen Ginsberg, still very much the frumpy, gauche housewife blinking in the spotlight.
There are many more unforgettable (for those lucky enough to have seen them at the time) appearences which would be wonderful to have in any future releases. Hopefully the Dame Edna Experience shows will be made available to UK viewers, as they have been in USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, Possums!, 15 May 2010
By 
Roy Brookes "roybrookes" (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Dame Edna with a plethora of famous faces in the audience, some of whom could be embarassed by her outspoken comments, but everybody laughed because what else can you do faced by this irrepressible, indomitable Dame? My only complaint is that it is all over too soon (although that is not to say the DVD is too short, nor that it is not value for money). Laugh? I thought I would never dry. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The AUDIENCES with DAME EDNA !!!, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I totally LOVE 2 of the three episodes contained here. My favorite is ONE MORE AUDIENCE WITH DAME EDNA EVARAGE. Well worth viewing. The first one of the 3 is a bit awkward, mostly do to a poor camera angle on THE DAME as a bad frock. However, the other two are great. The extras are wonderful. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thetalk show of all talkshows, 8 Mar 2010
By 
Lansbergen (Italy, South Tirol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Since the phenomena "talkshow" spread like a disease all over Europa in the late 70ties and early 80ties, voyeurism, and egomanism reached new standards.
These shows consists of a chain of unusefull and unimportant information concerning all the whereabouts of so called "prominent" people. The real world has been sent into during those days.

Dame Edna shows us the real value of the "talkshow". In here open-minded vulgarity, she reduces these "prominents" to what they really are : To people who only have a name if you puta badge with a name on them.
Althoug these shows are 25 years old now, they`re still worth while to see. A strong recomandation from me !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a must for any fan of Dame Edna ! Hilarious DVD and brilliant to watch. Would highly recommend this product to any fan !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ''Hello, possums!'' Dame Edna at her hilarious best!, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
So glad I purchased this DVD of Dame Edna Everage. I enjoyed all three of those ITV Specials in which Dame Edna gave hilarious answers to questions from her audience. I also loved her appearances on other shows such as Late Night From Two for example and that South Bank Show on the legendary ''Houswife Superstar'' told me everything I needed to know about the character. Defo Barry Humphries' greatest comic creation. He is a genius, a great satirist. Can't wait to watch The Dame Edna Experience next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hello Possums!, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
These shows look very dated, but the way Dame Edna treats her guests is hilarious. Had me laughing a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sound issues, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The first episode the sound has a second delay from the video... Annoying, but I couldnt be bothered to send it back... The rest are fine and arrived in a few days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Made an amazing gift!, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a christmas gift, and I couldnt be happier with it!
The delivery was fast and came in perfect condition.
Thank you very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An with Dame Edna, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Haven't watched the DVD yet so cant really comment but i'm sure I will enjoy it. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Audience With Dame Edna - The Complete Series [DVD]
£8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews