Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It still sparkles 50 years on - and don't forget series 1
"The further adventures of a boy doll who travels by rocket to Topsy Turvy Land where toys can walk, animals can talk and cream buns grow on trees." It's also the place "where all the neglected and mistreated toys that belonged to bad children go". Torchy is credited to Roberta Leigh, a prolific author who is probably best remembered for the excellent 'Space Patrol'...
Published on 29 Nov 2005 by Keith_Joseph

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars TV from a bygone age!
Bought for a little 3 year old boy who heard the "Torchy" theme tune and couldn't stop singing it. Torchy has now become his most watched DVD!
Published 18 months ago by jo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It still sparkles 50 years on - and don't forget series 1, 29 Nov 2005
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
"The further adventures of a boy doll who travels by rocket to Topsy Turvy Land where toys can walk, animals can talk and cream buns grow on trees." It's also the place "where all the neglected and mistreated toys that belonged to bad children go". Torchy is credited to Roberta Leigh, a prolific author who is probably best remembered for the excellent 'Space Patrol'. Kenneth Conner from the carry on films does eight of the characters in Torchy (e.g. Mr Bumbledrop, King Dithers, Pongo and Whirly). Gerry Anderson & AP films were involved in the first Torchy series (also available on DVD), although Roberta Leigh took over completely for this second series - she retained all the original series one puppets and the rights. AP Films went on do `Four Feathers Falls' instead.

Episodes from this series include : The Pollikan Bird Is Stolen, Torchy Has An Accident, Sparky The Dragon, Bogey Is Naughty Again, Pilliwig Cleans The Chimney, Pongo The Pirate, Washing Day In Topsy Turvy Land, Gluebell Wood, Squish Falls Down A Well and The Toys Get The Collywobbles.

Torchy series 2 (and 1) are filmed in excellent detail on these DVD sets - far better than any BBC 60's Dr Who so it was probably taken from B&W 35mm film. The puppet strings appear to be made of thick wool and are hardly AP films `supermarionation' of the 60's, but as most of the characters are toys anyway, being a puppet as well just adds to their charm. Besides it's the quality of Roberta Leigh's imaginative stories (and songs) that carry these series, e.g. Torchy's song: "Torchy, Torchy, the little battery boy, I'm a clever walking, talking toy. With bright blue eyes and golden hair, I've a magic beam that can shine anywhere". Typical quote: "Elephants never forget, but donkeys always remember".

My son (9) and daughter (11) are very taken with the Torchy series and watched all the episodes over 2 nights. They weren't fazed by the B&W picture either. Torchy and Flopsy the rag doll are very much children compared to the more adult characters in Anderson's later series, so perhaps my kids identified with them. So surprisingly a big hit with the latest generation. Highly recommended then, but no extra's - as the two DVD set is crammed with twenty-six 15 minute episodes that's no surprise. Probably not for sober adults though, unless you first caught this series in 1958 age five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a blast from the past, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this on TV as a child in the 1960s. Couln't remember much but loved the honest strings-visible puppetry and hilarious non-p.c storylines. Good viewing for nostalgics and unsophisticated kids,My teenage film-buff son loves it ,too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD release, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't expect to see the second series of Torchy, because it isn't a Gerry Anderson franchise. I'm really happy to have bought this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars TV from a bygone age!, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for a little 3 year old boy who heard the "Torchy" theme tune and couldn't stop singing it. Torchy has now become his most watched DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood Memories, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Dajus "Dajus" (Portsmouth, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! Talk about B.C. ( Before C.G.I.). I can remember when we had a black & White set watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Torchy, 3 Feb 2009
By 
Pj Thorp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD] (DVD)
Just how did Gerry Anderson start on the path which led him to create Thunderbirds?
In a commentary on another series, he once said "I was pleased that the author of this book wanted me to produce a series, and then I heard it was to be puppets, and I nearly vomited."
Still, Torchy went ahead. I didn't find it as entertaining as Thunderbirds, but then I am 40.
Your kids should like this, with its fairytale charm and innocence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Torchy The Battery Boy - The Complete Second Series [DVD]
12.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews