Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


227 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WHOLE COMPLETE SERIES (Without the Extras)
I think reading these reviews, a lot of people are getting a bit confused with what this DVD contains. The original Complete Series is the one shown in the Green Box which was the first set to be realeased of the complete whole series, containing 21 discs and includes all the added extras. (interviews, making of the series etc)

This particular version of the...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. G. Holt

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Problematic Transfers...
After watching the entirety of the Acorn (US) set and episode one of the Network (UK) set it is clear that neither of these box sets are perfect. The Acorn doesn't have the act breaks but it does have subtitles for the hard of hearing and a much better picture. In fact, the Network transfer of the videotaped sections of "On Trial" look, as is the case on so many British...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Ronald G. Helfrich Jnr


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

227 of 230 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WHOLE COMPLETE SERIES (Without the Extras), 8 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. G. Holt "Amazon Customer" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think reading these reviews, a lot of people are getting a bit confused with what this DVD contains. The original Complete Series is the one shown in the Green Box which was the first set to be realeased of the complete whole series, containing 21 discs and includes all the added extras. (interviews, making of the series etc)

This particular version of the Complete Series (second release) is exactly the same as the Green Box (21 disc set) except that it only has 17 discs which still cover all the 68 episodes that were made, just as the Green Box Set does. What you don't get are the extra discs, which have all the extra material on them. (hence only 17 discs instead of 21) The Green Box Set currently costs 70 and this second version of the Complete Series currently costs 39.95. So you are saving 30 on this Complete Series Boxed Set. If you want all the extras as well, then buy the Green Box Set. I have purchased this particular set, because all I want to watch is the whole series from start to finish, without the added extras. Everyone to their own choice. Hope this has clarified what to expect if buying this particular version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Problematic Transfers..., 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching the entirety of the Acorn (US) set and episode one of the Network (UK) set it is clear that neither of these box sets are perfect. The Acorn doesn't have the act breaks but it does have subtitles for the hard of hearing and a much better picture. In fact, the Network transfer of the videotaped sections of "On Trial" look, as is the case on so many British DVD transfers from the era, as though they have have been transferred onto film. On the plus side the Network set does have the LWT logos and the act breaks. As I always take picture quality over logos and act breaks I will take the Acorn anyday. Acorn, at least kind of does justice to Upstairs Downstairs, one of the finest English language TV shows ever. Wouldn't it be nice if DVD companies did justice to their customers once in a while?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely Enjoyable!, 30 Dec 2010
I am very much enjoying the new incarnation of 'Upstairs Downstairs.' currently being broadcast on the BBC. I am so glad they chose not to attempt a remake of the original, but instead, to move the new series along in time, to an equally fascinating period in European history, that of the lead-up to WWII. I am sure there will be some interesting developments within the new family, as there were in the original series. This series is beautifully done in true BBC period drama style, with a host of instantaneously believable actors and actresses. The new 'Upstars Downstairs' allows us to explore the ideas and manners of a time gone by, but not to be forgotten. At a time when good TV is getting scarse, and trash TV seems to be the norm, this is a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful with the volume., 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Now that we have mastered the art of keeping the volume turned down during the appearance of the London Weekend Television logo at the start of each episode (the sound behind the logo is startlingly loud !), we are thoroughly enjoying watching this DVD.
Unfortunately there are no subtitles for us hard of hearing folks (yes the LWT logo sound is REALLY loud !! ) but then you can't have everything.
All in all an enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars upstairs downstairs complete series 1971, 21 Mar 2011
Superb TV series but alas NO subtitles for the HOH . The American release for this series on Acorn does have subtitles for all the episodes and has just been released .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Viewing, 28 Dec 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest I was only a wee nipper when Upstairs Downstairs was originally on tv, and so I only have a vague memory of it. I didn't know if I would like this, especially as I couldn't stomach the Channel 4 series recently set in a stately home. This was originally an idea by Jean Marsh who discussed it with Eileen Atkins, and from there it all started.

165, Eaton Place is being re-opened with a new family taking over, and they need staff. With Jean Marsh acting as an owner of an employment agency she is approached by the new owners. Set in 1936 this mini-series shows so well what was going on at the time in England as well as the problems also going on in the household. Taking in such things as the Black Shirts, and the abdication of the King, you also have the problems with staff, and the new owners not necessarily knowing all the rules of etiquette.

With inspired writing by Heidi Thomas and great acting, especially from Ellie Kendrick, this is something that will give you pleasure, and one can only hope that there will be another series. My only gripe with this is that it was too short and so the story had to be sped along to a large degree.

Also on this dvd is a thirty five minutes 'behind the scenes' look, taking in the writing and the set, along with comments from some of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly a landmark in TV history!, 2 July 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is season one, which includes the five black and white episodes that are 'interspersed' with the colour ones. This was because filming had been interrupted by the infamous Strike which had resulted in the said episodes not being done in colour. As a consequence, they have become much sought after and rarely seen. They were only ever aired the once by ITV - their original showing, despite any subsequent re-runs of the series there may have been. As Jean Marsh (Rose) once told me; these black and white episodes were among some of the best that were ever done! They will also help to fill in gaps for those who never saw them, and as to what happened during those missing years: 1903 - 1907, and also will reveal the destiny of some of the characters that appeared to 'vanish' for no apparent reason; some of whom later returned, and others who were never seen again...

This first season is what certainly resulted in 'Upstairs, Downstairs' taking off in the way that it did, and becoming such a massive success. It was an immediate 'hit' with the viewers, and the closing episode which left the son of the household involved in a scandalous affair with one of the housemaids, and the daughter, his sister, marrying a homosexual poet, was certainly guaranteed to bring viewers back for the second season!

This set also included two award-winning episodes in: 'I Dies From Love' and 'Why Is Her Door Locked', which involved the suicide of the Irish Kitchen Maid. Ironically, this first set would also include what was to become the 'weakest' and least understood episode: 'The Swedish Tiger'!

Highlights from this Season are marked with an * below. You will see that there is indeed only one that is unmarked, since the quality of this introductory set was so high!

On trial*
The Mistress And The Maids*
Board Wages*
The Path Of Duty*
A Suitable Marriage*
Magic Casements*
A Cry For Help*
I Dies From Love*
Why Is Her Door Locked*
A Voice From The Past*
The Swedish Tiger
The Key Of The Door*
For Love Of Love*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best we will ever get., 25 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Although I already own the VCI DVD releases of Upstairs Downstairs I bought this straight away and wasn't dissapointed. The picture quality hasn't greatly improved but having all the title cards even for the advert breaks means we are seeing it just how it was. The extras were the reason I bought this because I know so little about the show except for what I've seen. The commentries are fun and don't have any long pauses that ruin some. Its great to hear the people we never see (the writer) and the actors really give a feel for what the series was like. The newly made documentary produced just for these new releases was fantastic and very well made. Overall if you are simply happy with the episodes and have the VCI collection then stay with it but if you want the full Upstairs Downstairs experience then buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly enjoyable., 8 Jan 2007
By 
Jezza (Sunny Sussex by the Sea) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
I received this box set as a Christmas present - much to my astonishment - I was too young to have watched the early episodes first time round (although I do remember some of the later ones). Having reluctantly decided to watch the first DVD while ironing - to my children's horror - black and white - what's that? I actually watched 2 episodes and thoroughly enjoyed them. My husband commented that he would far prefer to watch Upstairs Downstair than Eastenders et al. I am now a definite fan and will ask my Mum for set 2 for my birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Ultimate Victory, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Les G. Solomon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having not only been a fan of the original "Upstairs Downstairs" TV series, but having produced for Australian radio a series of specials that gave me the privilege to meet many of the original cast and interview them, I came to this sequel with great trepidation and a fair degree of hostility. Trying to invade 165 Eaton Place even with Jean Marsh in residence, seemed a little like walking on sacred ground to me.

Certainly there are things in this lavish BBC dramatisation that seem out of place with the wonderful original. The old series had a modest budget and at times that helped give the series its unique feel. Everything was modest down to the slightly shakey scenery outside the windows, but these stories were playlets for TV, three short wonderful acts , no music, no major cutting around, often scenes of seven or eight minutes just between two actors. Wonderful.

The new beast is overloaded with budget, music and general BBC sumptuousness. For this reason it took a long while to win me over, the music trumpets every emotion and invades the world a little like a 1930s movie music soundtrack. Yet above and beyond there is a wonderful heart to this new series and a great selection of actors lead by the aforementioned Ms Marsh (my how Rose has aged in 6 years, and can someone please tell me how Rose ended up running an employment agency, when the original series ended she was on her way to he country to look after the next generation of Bellamys--what went wrong???!!!!)

Backing Jean all the way is the original co creator of the series (with Jean)_ the wonderful Eileen Atkins who makes a meal of the grand mother in law of the house. Warm and zany yet a little intimidating, this is one of Atkins' greatest performances. Without her and Ms Marsh, the new series would probably flounder ,despite a truly excellent male lead in Ed Stoppard as the master of the house and one a good deal more forceful and commanding than the original Lord Bellamy I might add.

So yes, this series does play with a legend and yes it probably would have been better under another name. But the thirties gives such rich material to any drama of servants and their masters and their kings (just look at "the King's Speech") So let us welcome back, albeit with a few reservations, 165 Eaton Place and its mostly new inhabitants. I am pleased the Beeb has commissioned a further six episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Upstairs Downstairs - The Complete First Series [DVD]
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews