Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars9
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
3
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2010
I did not pay enough attention to the details of the edition. It turned out (as I have to admit the details section say) to be dubbed into English. Why on earth dub a German movie into English and add German subtitles??? Why not keep the original sound and add English subtitles instead? I am not quite sure - it's been quite a while since I saw the three original movies - but I also suspect that this edition is shortened with scenes cut out or at least shortened.

I love the fabulously romantic movie trilogy about Empress Elizabeth (gorgeous settings and dresses, for instance) but I would not recommend this particular edition. I will try to find a complete edition with original German sound and English subtitles and I encourage others to do the same. If however, you have no problem with lip movements and sounds not being in synch as long as you do not have to read subtitles, then go for this edition!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2011
this is a great film showing the austrian emperor franz joseph and his beautiful bride sissy, elizabeth. i know im biased but i find this period of history so intresting, the lead up to world war one and the causes, effects and reasons which led to the great war are so poignant and emotional to be as my great grand father gave his life in 1918 just days before the end of the war
as this is a german film which is dubbed in to english i found myself watching their mouths as they clearly wernt saying what the dialouge was but for me this just added to the charm of the film.
this wasnt the best film ive ever seen but it is one of my favourites, the tv series fall of eagles is by far superior but as im so interested in this period of history i did love the acting, and the chemistry between the two lead actors and can say this is truely a great film
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2008
the story of Sissi in real historic terms is fascinating - if you are interested you will need to visit the Schonbrun Palace if you are ever in Vienna - extremely beautiful - and look at the portraits of Sissi by Winterhalter - breath-taking. However - this film version is very poor, the filming and sound extremely poor and the quality of the DVD is very shaky. There is only one film on this DVD and not 3 as I assumed there would be from the title above - I would not recommend anyone buying this at all.
11 comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 May 2007
The three Sissi movies launched Romy Schneider as an actress. If you are raised in a German speaking country you just will know it as every X-mas or Easter these movies are shown on TV. It is part of the culture and has reached iconic status.

It presents you in most romantic terms with the love story to the Austrian Emperor Francis Joseph and the Duchess Elisabeth in Bavaria, soon to be the legendary Empress Sissi who captured her contemporise and remains a legend till today. Of course, this is not about history to be learned as it operates with half truth and views from the 1950th. It is a movie to be enjoyed not an educational exercise. All is about beauty in every aspect of it. Just go for it.

Romy Schneider soon tired of the saccharine image these movies had bestowed upon her and moved to France where she became a most distinguished actress and giving remarkable performances in films such as Le vieux fusil, Max et les ferailleurs and the crowd pleasers, Les choses de la vie and Cesar et Rosalie. The harsh L'important c'est d'aimer, garnered her first Cesar (France's equivalent of the Oscar).

"Sissi sticks to me just like oatmeal" Romy Schneider once famously said. And in many ways it did. A story goes that - while Romy Schneider was still alive - a group of elderly women took a guided tour in the Kapuziner Gruft, the burial place of Austria's imperial Family. When the guide showed them the tomb of the Empress Elisabeth one of the ladies cried shocked out "Oh my God, Romy Schneider is already dead?!"
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
Hardly worth the money. the producers have removed many key scenes form the compilation of the three films, prefer German version to this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
My mother has watched it 3 times already and loves it ... well worth the money !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2016
Excellent service ~ very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2016
WONDERFUL SISSI FILM/5 STARS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)