Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a funny way of walking and a wacky way of talking its got to be Charlie Chalk
This review is going to be short and sweet because with the amount of inventivness and creativity in the show it is impossible to choose the some of the best reasons to buy it. To Summarise the show i would say that it is a darkly humoured Postman Pat for people of all ages.

Cha
Published on 13 Oct 2007 by Stewart Fryer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So funny years on
Had to get it to see if just as funny as I remember, it was and my brother and I were in fits of laughter with younger sister not 'getting' it.
Published 15 months ago by Gracie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a funny way of walking and a wacky way of talking its got to be Charlie Chalk, 13 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This review is going to be short and sweet because with the amount of inventivness and creativity in the show it is impossible to choose the some of the best reasons to buy it. To Summarise the show i would say that it is a darkly humoured Postman Pat for people of all ages.

Cha
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only a clown could 'chalk'!, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a bargain product, given how so many kids show's between the 70's and 90's appeared and disappeared from the radar - the majority having very short lifespans. Charlie Chalk at just 13 episodes is one such example, but it was regularly aired on BBC throughout the late 80's and early 90's, mostly Saturday mornings. As such, the family has fond memories of this original cartoon series.

In retrospective, the whole concept is utterly crackers, but I guess that is where the charm goes from. A lot of kids programs these days don't think 'out of the box' per-se, whereas it was more than often the standard way of making animations back in the day.

Contrary to what a previous reviewer stated, the series is not shown in the original 4:3, but rather full screen Pan and Scan. Not a big deal - would have been nice to have seen them in their original square ratio, but you don't lose much information from the top and bottom of the picture. They also appear to be direct transfers in their grainy/spotty glory!

Definitely worth a purchase at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't get any better..., 16 Nov 2010
By 
A. Rowe (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The full series on DVD for such a low price ? perfect for a bit of nostalgia.

Being a child of the 80's I grew up on a lot of Ivor Wood's progams such as Postman Pat, Bertha and Charlie Chalk. Charlie Chalk is by far the most imaginative of the series they produced (Ivor also had a hand in the Magic Roundabout !) Charlie and the rest of the inhabitants of Merrytwit are all pleasant natured and the series has a humour all it's own. It's also unusal in that Charlie breaks the fourth wall and chats to us in the audience. As the Captain would say, a) buy this dvd and b) watch an episode everytime you have a bad day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD DVD FOR THE KIDS, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD for these children . Not long enough. It brings back memories of my own childhood. My two boys really loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Childhood Fav, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Used to watch this with family when I was a kid and I miss this style of shows.

Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wickid!, 27 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love kids programs that aren't all just computer animated, it's not particularly educational but I used to watch it when I was younger, the stories are all silly but great, let your kids imagination run wild with bouncing bananas and moaning mountains. And for so little could you really be that disappointed?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Isn't time to bring back Charlie Chalk, 9 Oct 2011
By 
the_good_cookie (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent price, for an old fashioned show from the 80's that I grew up watching 20 years ago, and relished at the time of being stranded on a desert island, similar to Charlie.

The only down side of the dvd, is that you have to sit through 3 mins of previews "Post Man Pat".

Isn't time to bring back Charlie Chalk, at least in your living room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for big kids aswell as the small ones too, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching charlie chalk when it was on video as a kid. I loved it then and still do. I introduced my two year old nephew to charlie chalk a few weeks ago and now hes hooked on it aswel! Infact he insisted on taking the dvd home with him. Great buy and great stories! Personally love Lewis T. Duck and Arnold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Chalk is Awesome!, 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the show as a kid. Love it today. Brilliant for nostalgia purposes or for your children. Just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fond Memories, 5 Jan 2010
This review is from: Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Charlie Chalk is the best, we have much fun parodying the episodes as we remembered them. What fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie Chalk: The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
5.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews