Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doc Martin - Series 1 - Excellent
I missed most of the episodes when it was on ITV so was glad to see that the first series is now on DVD.
As soon as I started watching I was hooked and watched all six episodes ' back to back '
It really is a cracking series and the acting is superb.
I really cant wait for Series 2 to come out and I am glad they have extended it to eight episodes.
Published on 11 Nov 2005 by brian from london

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doc Martin Arrives in Cornwall
I had seen some of the Doc Martin episodes when they were shown on T.V., but I missed quite a few. So I thought I would splash out and buy the discs. This first series shows a very able doctor Ellingham who has very few social skills. He can only think of doing his job and how to treat the patient. Martin Clunes who plays Doc Martin, as he is quickly named by the...
Published on 30 Jun 2011 by Susarm


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doc Martin - Series 1 - Excellent, 11 Nov 2005
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I missed most of the episodes when it was on ITV so was glad to see that the first series is now on DVD.
As soon as I started watching I was hooked and watched all six episodes ' back to back '
It really is a cracking series and the acting is superb.
I really cant wait for Series 2 to come out and I am glad they have extended it to eight episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
A superb programme with a good mix of drama and commedy moments within each episode. All the cast are brilliant to watch. Am now eagerly awaiting the arrival of the second series on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "That's Dr. Ellingham, if you please, and what's all this moaning about a little diarrhea?", 30 Aug 2009
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Curmudgeons, if blessed with good writers, can be satisfying house guests. They're irascible, oblivious, often insulting (sometimes unintentionally), but usually with a hint of endearing rehabilitation. Dr. Martin Ellingham, formerly a top-rank London surgeon who now practices general medicine in the Cornish town of Portwenn, not only has first-rate writers, he's blessed by having as his impersonator the actor Martin Clunes.

Dr. Ellingham ("Martin or Dr. Ellingham, please. Not `Doc Martin!'"), during one simple operation, found himself overwhelmed and unable to continue. The sight of blood suddenly sickened him, not a good thing for a surgeon. It stopped his career cold. He retrained and accepted the job of Portwenn's GP, far away from London and from the people who'd learned of his phobia.

But Doc Mar...Dr. Ellingham...seems to have a gene missing in his make-up. He is all too frank, oblivious to human courtesies, awkward, means well but has one of the worst bed-side manners in miles. If you're a young boy who has sprained an arm, an elderly gentleman whose wife is using too much hormone cream, a well-intentioned busy-body who stops by for tea or a cancer patient, don't expect much from the doctor by way of chit chat or hand holding. Even with an actor as good as Clunes, this could be a tiresome one-joke premise, except that Portwenn has a classic collection of idiosyncratic residents, all played by some skilled British actors. There's Doc Martin's aunt, Joan Norton, played by the fine Stephanie Cole, so good in Waiting for God. Joan is an elderly, brisk, no-nonsense woman (wise, too, of course) who wrings a chicken's neck to prepare it for dinner. She lives by herself competently on her farm. There's Bert Large, played by the equally fine Ian McNeice. Bert is Portwenn's handyman and plumber. He's a short man so fat he prefers to give the orders while he sits and trains his son to do all the work. There's the town's policeman who is big, competent, young, shy and concerned about...ah...size. The town's schoolteacher, who cannot understand how Doc Martin can be so obtuse, is about Doc Martin's age, not married and... we'll have to see. Maybe something will happen in season two. It certainly didn't look like romance when, at the end of season one, Doc Martin helpfully mentions to her the possible causes of bad breath right after she unexpectedly kisses him, something he was too ill at ease to initiate himself. There's an assortment of small town biddies, blokes and giggling teenager girls who all love a bit of gossip. Periodically showing up for one-time parts are such established actors as Richard Johnson, Celia Imrie and John Alderton.

Doc Martin finds that in Portwenn he has to deal with human nature as often as he has to deal with diarrhea. But with human nature he hasn't a clue. Still, when he suspects something is wrong with a patient, he's not only usually right but he'll do whatever it takes whoever he offends to get good care for the person. Because the quality of the wring is so high, the installments are amusing and satisfying. Good actors make Portwenn's residents more like odd but possibly real people than the usual cut-out yokels. Portwenn itself is a star, too. The town is right on the Cornish coast, picturesque as all get out, with a friendly pub, sea air and easy jaunts down country roads to some beautiful scenery.

Most of all is Martin Clunes as Dr. Ellingham. Clunes is a big man with a large head, large ears and a wide mouth. He's not handsome. Clunes, however, is a fine actor who can dominate a scene. He also can effortlessly project cluelessness, umbrage and impatience...and do so while he also makes us realize Doc Martin is almost an innocent when it comes to human interactions.

Doc Martin is superior entertainment. Season one consists of six episodes totaling 280 minutes on two DVD discs. The video/audio transfer is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doc Martin Arrives in Cornwall, 30 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I had seen some of the Doc Martin episodes when they were shown on T.V., but I missed quite a few. So I thought I would splash out and buy the discs. This first series shows a very able doctor Ellingham who has very few social skills. He can only think of doing his job and how to treat the patient. Martin Clunes who plays Doc Martin, as he is quickly named by the residents of the seaside village, is a brilliant actor. He is playing a serious person who hardly understands what is going on around him and why people behave as they do to him to him. He himself is incredibly short with his patients and has little "kindly bedside manner" You have to realise, despite his serious attitude, that it is, after all, a comedy programme, or the characters become very annoying and unbelievable. The episodes fall flat in places, as if the producer hasn't quite got the hang of it. Nevertheless, The series is worth watching, even if only to know the story, including what might be called a love interest with the school teacher Louise, before viewing Series two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of this!!!!, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Wow wow wow! Simply superb series - very addictive and beautifully shot. Martin Clunes is great, as are all the actors, each playing their role in a great selection of story lines. As well as being laugh out loud funny, there are also some sad bits here, so something for everyone I think. British entertainment at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Soul Of The Village, 7 April 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
'Doc Martin' is one of those shows, I have found that gets better as it ages. However, the first year was very entertaining. There was something a little bit strange about the main character, Doc Martin, played by Martin Clunes, but, since he was a surgeon, that made some sense.

Dr. Martin Ellingham, a London surgeon developed a horrible reaction to the sight of blood. He also does not have a good bedside manner, and he looks for another job. A GP is needed in a small village in a Cornish fishing village. He had spent summers there and, indeed, loved the area.

Martin was written and created by Dominic Minghella. Martin became the charmless, and insensitive physician, who is a brilliant diagnostician. He is so impossible I felt myself rooting for him. He is an off beat but good man. Once he is in the village, he sets up an office, people come by just to see him, and then they all develop unusual conditions, that he can almost always solve. In the process he falls in love with the schoolteacher Louisa, played by Carolyn Catz. She discovers she is attracted to him, but she doesn't really like him.

Every week a new medical condition is discovered, often including a interesting storyline. Doc Martin gains weight and loves the town. The town is an intricate turn of hillside streets and scenic overlooks. The town characters are the receptionists Lucy Punch and Katherine Parkinson; Ian McNeice, as a plumber ; Joe Absolom as McNeice's son; Stewart Wright and John Marquez as police constables, and Stephanie Cole as Martin's stubborn Aunt Joan. I began to think quite often that Doc Martin has Aspergers. He has all the characteristics. But, it makes no difference, really. This is a character who has soul, a romantic comedy we can all relate to.

Recommended. prisrob 04-07-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doc Martin series 1, 2, 3, 29 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Doc Martin is a very good series and all the family thoroughly enjoyed all the series so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a successful Asperger, 19 Feb 2009
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I love Martin and most of all I love to see a man with a communication disorder manage to overcome obstacles and be successful, leading a normal (or almost normal, depending on what exactly "normal" is) life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy series 1 & 2 complete and order series 3. This show is brilliant., 29 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This program is brilliant acting, brilliant cast, brilliant writing. I thank you so much everyone involved in the making of this fine program. You can't get drama with humor, suspense, romance and acting talent in America. I should know. I've grown here watching manure for T.V. I love the writers and their use of the English language in the U.K. Can anyone recommend more shows as beautifully entertaining as Doc Martin starring Martin Clunes and Kingdom starring Stephen Fry? I'd appreciate it. I found Hamish Macbeth series 1 through 3 fun as well. Monarch of the Glen is like Hamish in that there's good writing and new predicaments each episode. They kept me glued to the screen. The best actors are British.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 29 July 2006
This review is from: Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Brilliant scenery, brilliant acting, and village characters galore. A good mix of drama, comedy, and a little romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004]
Doc Martin: Series 1 [DVD] [2004] by Martin Clunes (DVD - 2005)
5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews