Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Comedy Genius
The first time I heard this was about 25yrs ago and I would have been about 8yrs old at the time. It was 'Bloody, Bloody, Bloody, Bloody' that caught my attention in particular, not just because repeated use of the word Bloody is highly amusing to an innocent child anyway but also because the story was so bloody, bloody funny and told so vividly. Over the years I began to...
Published on 7 Nov 2007 by C. Miles

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vintage but slightly corked
Mike Harding was at his prime when this was recorded and the title alone has expectations. This was however, the start of the end in terms of his mass popularity.

His earlier work was from folk clubs and the music showed this, hence his popularity was from that audience as well as those who enjoyed his unique brand of comedy. When touring and recording this...
Published on 26 Feb 2009 by Steamin' Willie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Comedy Genius, 7 Nov 2007
By 
C. Miles (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
The first time I heard this was about 25yrs ago and I would have been about 8yrs old at the time. It was 'Bloody, Bloody, Bloody, Bloody' that caught my attention in particular, not just because repeated use of the word Bloody is highly amusing to an innocent child anyway but also because the story was so bloody, bloody funny and told so vividly. Over the years I began to understand more of the material on the album and I've now heard it so many times I could probably recite the entire show - but it still makes me laugh everytime I hear it. Even the songs, such as The Man 'Nited Song & The Upper Echelon are great and I usually avoid musical comedy. If you like your comedy full of gratuitous effing and blinding then this may not be to your taste - but if you like great stories told with an air of authenticity and naive charm then you need to click 'add to basket' now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harding at his best, 5 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
You cannot fault this performance by Mike Harding, this is the lad at his best, my favorite is the Man 'nited song, it's still true even today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But it's not all fun, 4 May 2008
By 
A. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
The real stand out track on this great album for me is "The Old Green Iron Lamp", a truely beautiful and poignant song showing the side of Harding that "Bombers Moon" was to bring even more to the fore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Hardin's Boy does it again, 29 Aug 2007
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
Mike Hardin is one of the great creative writers from Lancashire today. The variety of instruments and styles coupled with his off the wall stories are a must for anyone wanting a good belly laugh. I bought this album on cassette many years ago and have worn it out with repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vintage but slightly corked, 26 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
Mike Harding was at his prime when this was recorded and the title alone has expectations. This was however, the start of the end in terms of his mass popularity.

His earlier work was from folk clubs and the music showed this, hence his popularity was from that audience as well as those who enjoyed his unique brand of comedy. When touring and recording this album however, his music moved away from raw folk, and lost its cutting edge. So did the comedy.

There are some excellent "vintage" monologues such as Ackroyds Funeral and Bring on the Rosy Cheeked Girls, but most of the material is more predictable and not so funny for it.

The songs are OK, but you get so used to hearing Mike Harding accompany himself on guitar, that the full band playing a more jazz (even country & western) accompaniment makes songs sound like background music in a restaurant. Sad, as risqué songs such as The Upper Echelon and These are my Uncles have some wonderful one liners...

If you wnat to complete a Harding collection, it is well worth it. If you want to have a laugh in general, buy it. But don't expect the earlier style of wonderful music based on traditional folk and don't expect the comedy to hit you like it did in the '70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She could chew polos without breaking them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgia, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In my opinion one of the best albums to come from Mike. My fave 'The old green iron lamp' reminds me much of childhood. Kids today miss out on this. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Stuff, 18 Oct 2013
By 
M. A. Cossins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
I think with this and Komic Kutz Mike was at his peak. His gentle northern based humour sounds a little quaint nowadays but at the time I was one of those falling out of my (theatre) seat laughing myself stupid at him. The BBC filmed some of his live shows but these just didn't quite capture the intimacy and he never really came across as well on TV as people like Billy Connolly & Jasper Carrot did.

Well worth anyone's ten quid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the funniest men on the planet, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
I had forgotten just how funny Mike Harding was in his prime. A must buy for any fan of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars vintage Harding, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW (Audio CD)
Recently saw Mike on tour in Gainsborough. First time I've seen him 20 years. He has lost of the magic, and unlike a lot of the current crop of comedians, you here nothing stronger than a "bugger". I am gradually re-stocking my Harding collection with cds to replace the lps I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW
MIKE HARDING/CAPTAIN PARALYTIC & THE COW by Mike Harding (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews