Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Yello showing innovation way ahead of their time
My first ever taste of Yello. I listened to this as a spotty yoof and if literally changed the way that I perceived music! Now, a dozen years later I regularly pull this from my collection and still find myself amazed at how timeless the recording is. Yello were messing around will all manner of tricks, including using samples of human noises (sneezes, beltches etc)...
Published on 26 Sep 2001

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album, badly remastered...
If you have the original CD version of this album, you may want to hold on to it and not make the mistake of buying this 2005 edition - everything is way too compressed and reverb-drenched, the volume is cranked up to the max and there's even some distortion. It beggars belief that Blank was responsible for such a poor job. File under missed opportunity.
Published on 14 Dec 2008 by ippudo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Yello showing innovation way ahead of their time, 26 Sep 2001
By A Customer
My first ever taste of Yello. I listened to this as a spotty yoof and if literally changed the way that I perceived music! Now, a dozen years later I regularly pull this from my collection and still find myself amazed at how timeless the recording is. Yello were messing around will all manner of tricks, including using samples of human noises (sneezes, beltches etc). Written down as a description it sounds like it should be awful - which is why Yello (in my book) have such genius - because it is precisly the opposite!
If you enjoy Yello's later stuff like The Race for example, you will love this CD. You will hear the birth of ideas that only become fully developed by the boys in later releases. If you like music that is off the wall, funky, enigmatic, original and peerless, you will adore this CD. My all time favorite piece of music by any artist in the world ...ever!
Boris Blank's musical and technical genius blended with the deep menacing voice of Dieter Meier gives Yello something that is unquantifiable, and appreciated only through experiencing the music itself! Get it, play it, understand it.
So it's good then... "Ohhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just gotta say yes..., 23 Jun 2009
By 
Neil Parker "peacetaker" (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess (Audio CD)
Pure genius from a geezer (Boris Blank) who couldn't read a note of music or a drum pattern. In my view this album belongs in a category or genre all of its' own. Dieter Meyer lyrics and vocals never fail to raise a smile with their quirk. In fact, this album cannot fail from any aspect thaT you care to view it from.

A true desert island disc & a must for your record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get ready for a surreal 'trip' up the Amazon, 18 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess (Audio CD)
Yello weren't the first credible home-grown band to make an impression outside of their native Switzerland; Grauzone had major success in Germany and Austria with their 1981 New Wave/synth hit "Eisbär" ('credible' exempts from further mention the only other Swiss export of the time, metal merchants Krokus). But "You Gotta Say Yes to Another Excess" gave Yello with their third album the first critically acclaimed international breakthrough for a Swiss act as well as their first big seller at home. Not only was it a critics' favourite, its two singles were hits of sorts in various places.

What set the 'metrognomes of Zürich' (as they were nicknamed) apart from the glut of European synth pop and electronic outfits of the time was a more arty, left-field approach that made heavy use of aural collages and random sound effects (it wasn't sampling as such as the band created the source material themselves). The music of Yello always had a touch of Dada about it, itself also a product of Zürich. And in Renaissance Man and singer Dieter Meier, looking like an eccentric English banker with his moustache and cravat, the group had the ideal, if a little unhinged, public face.

This album is front loaded with the two hits ("I Love You" in a slightly different mix to what came out on 45) and these tracks are admittedly the highlights. But there's plenty more of what Yello do best: exotic journeys through unfamiliar soundscapes, this time up the Amazon to a back-drop of jungle noises, thunder claps and squawking tropical animals. The title track throws everything into the dance-friendly mix from elephant calls to tribal drumming, while "Swing" adds a dash of Teutonic jazz, like Fred Astaire tripping the light fantastic in Lederhosen. The entire album feels like its a lost arthouse soundtrack to an Indiana Jones adventure.

If Salvador Dalí had made music it surely would have sounded like this; surreal, a little mad and with a knowing glint in its eye. This band's music is like a soundtrack to glamorous cinematic adventures to some very strange places, like a Central European film noir thriller set to an electronic beat. In one such film, The Third Man, Orson Welles famously said: "In Switzerland, they had brotherly love and five hundred years of democracy and peace, and what did they produce? The cuckoo clock!" A little harsh; there's the Red Cross, Toblerone and Yello's back catalogue too (actually, forget Toblerone; those little nougat bits get stuck in your teeth).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yello: The Coolest Band Ever, 5 Oct 2002
By 
This 1983 release is the third album by the Swiss duo of Dieter Meier (vocals) and Boris Blank (instruments), my second most favorite of theirs after 1985's "Stella", and the first record of Yello I ever purchased before becoming a fan. This one includes some of their best memorable songs, and makes for a perfect starting point for the new fan. It is great to see that the duo have continued recording on a regular basis throughtout the 80's and the 90's. What I really like to see is a 12-inch anthology/B-sides collection for Yello, much like the recent releases for Cabaret Voltaire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, almost as good as the stellar Stella., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess (Audio CD)
Not a bad word to say about it. 80s music at its best. Enormously influential but the pair had enough money of their own to follow their own path and do whatever the hell they wanted. This was the result, along with Stella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant album, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is Yello at the height of their creative powers. Full of invention, experimentation and above all great tunes, it builds on the great promise of the first two albums, but is altogether a more satisfying whole.
From the 30's big beat meets 80's synth of 'Swing' to the beautiful electronic love song 'Lost Again' not to mention the tribal drums of 'Salut Mayoumba' it still sounds fresh and modern today, and its sound has been a big influence for many artistes in the electronic music scene.
A wonderful album. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early essential Yello, 3 April 2003
While some of their later output was very much for fans, this early eighties masterclass in sonic genius needs little introduction. Very influential to people like Trevor Horn, this and the follow-up 'Stella' marked creative high watermarks for Blank & Meier. Always undervalued, this album is a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yello's masterpiece!, 28 Nov 2005
By 
S. R. Dougan (jersey channel islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess (Audio CD)
I can't believe anyone else has not reviewed this CLASSIC electonica recording.How many records make you laugh,dance,swing,ok i am getting carried away!To put it in a few words you probably have not heard anything quite like this before.This lot were doing the "SOUNDTRACK" lp before it got trendy!Think spy movies,dectective soundtracks,latin and samba percussion,jungle drums,euro pop electro.Start off with "you gotta...." ,"Stella ,AND "The Flag" cds and you will discover a world of electronica that will make you laugh,dance.......Oh no there i go again ! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album, badly remastered..., 14 Dec 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess (Audio CD)
If you have the original CD version of this album, you may want to hold on to it and not make the mistake of buying this 2005 edition - everything is way too compressed and reverb-drenched, the volume is cranked up to the max and there's even some distortion. It beggars belief that Blank was responsible for such a poor job. File under missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa0071b0)

This product

You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess
You Gotta Say Yes To Another Excess by Yello (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews