Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lovely Lovely
This album is full of incredibly sexy-sounding Gothic metal. This italian band use both male and female(provided by the gorgeous Cristina Scabbia) lead vocals to a mesmerising effect. The music is excellent too, and it's all just generally splendid. Buy it now-Highly recommended.
Published on 7 Feb 2001

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, Shame About the Production...
I'll be blunt - your enjoyment of this album (or lack of it) will be directly proportional to how well you can handle its hideous production.The sound on this CD is thin and frequently distorted, has next to no dynamic range (as is evident from the first time you hear the utterly flat-sounding electric guitars come in on the first track), and the recording quality of the...
Published on 3 Nov 2003 by karasuman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Lovely Lovely, 7 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
This album is full of incredibly sexy-sounding Gothic metal. This italian band use both male and female(provided by the gorgeous Cristina Scabbia) lead vocals to a mesmerising effect. The music is excellent too, and it's all just generally splendid. Buy it now-Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethereal comes of age - not such an empty spiral, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
Since their formation in 1972, and with each successive release Lacuna Coil have developed and matured. Unleashed Memories, their best to date, is the album that sets them aside from other bands. Quality of production is the least of this album's achievements, difficult to describe as anything other than Lacuna Coil, Unleashed Memories has to be one of THE albums of 2001. Cristina Scabbia's melodic harmonious vocals counterpoint Andrea Ferro's characteristic rock gravel and with Waldemar Sorycht's production, two guitars, bass, and percussion combine to create a well-balanced ethereal rock CD. Highlights include a re-working of the excellent "Senzafine", whilst "When A Dead Man Walks" should be released as a single. Sub-Genre pigeon-holing Goth, Metal, Grunge, Punk just doesn't work with Lacuna Coil, there maybe echoes of musical influences but they are very hard to detect. Whatever style of Rock music you like then this is definitely one for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece without equal, 28 May 2003
By 
M. Wrycraft (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
I listen to many types of music, mostly rock admittedly, but I also have time for dance and classical. Rarely does an album blow me away; make me stop and want to play it over and over again. 'Unleashed Memories' is such an album. From the superb 'Heir of a Dying Day' to my personal favourite 'A Current Obsession' this is a masterpiece of gothic rock. The music is layered, from the gorgeous voice of Christina Scabbia, matched with Andrea Ferros' edgy vocals, and pounding bass provided by Marco Coti Zelati, it draws you in and won't let go. I cannot stress just how good this album is; its an Essential purchase for anyone who likes rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 2 Mar 2009
By 
Lilly Penhaligon (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unleashed Memories/Re-Release (Audio CD)
I came across this album in a completely arbitrary manner - literally just browsing through the metal section of a well known music store and I liked the album cover. I listened to 'Purify' on a sample and instantaneosly knew that I was on to a winner. Flicking through samples of Wave of Anguish, Current Obsession, Senzafine and others I knew that I had to have this album so much so, I have actually bought it twice - as an MP3 album for my iPod and in cd form from Amazon. This album is one of those rare finds where you love every song on the album and are as happy to play through the whole thing as you are to listen to your favourites.

Right, on to the music. I am a great fan of Nightwish, Sirenia, Evanescence, Type O Negative, Metallica and A Perfect Circle to name but a few. I absolutely loved the sound of Lacuna Coil which seems to me to take all the bits that I love about the other bands - the searingly beautiful vocals, the haunting lyrics, the heavy guitars and the incredible melodies and combine them in an album that is as near perfect as you can get. More polished and grown-up than Nightwish and T.O.N. not as whiney as Perfect Circle, less commercial than Evanescence (ref to their Fallen album not Open Door which is super good), and less growly than Sirenia, Lacuna Coil will appeal to those of you who like metal to be a) comprehensible, b) melodic rather than white noise and c) meaningful not just full of cliched references to death, gore and other such like things. Lacuna Coil seem to speak to the heart of emotions - almost like expressing things that you have felt but would not necessarily say. I love this album, I think music wise, it's among Lacuna Coil's best work, the production is great and each track is polished so you get a sense of the amount of care, work and dedication that's gone into it. If this is your first foray into Lacuna Coil, you'll be looking forward to carrying on your journey with them. If this is not your first foray, shame on you you should be buying not reading reviews you know how great they are!!!

Unleashed Memories is an album of work by people who clearly wanted to make the music and luckily for us, allowed us to share it.

Fully recommended as are Lacuna Coil's other albums 'In a Reverie', 'Comalies' and 'Karmacode'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the coil!, 30 Oct 2005
By 
Ariadne (East Kilbride, Scotland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
This was the first Lacuna Coil album I ever heard, about a year ago at my friend's house. Last night I saw Lacuna Coil themselves, about 2 metres in front of me, playing live at King Tut's Wah Wah Hut. So now I'm going to sit you down and tell you all about the wonder that is Lacuna Coil.
'Unleashed Memories' is my very favourite album from Lacuna Coil's excitingly extensive catalogue. The title tells you it all: these songs UNLEASH themselves upon you, and very soon you will love them. Lacuna Coil are a female-fronted metal band with a truly unique sound. I've read another reviewer's opinion that the recording quality of this album is poor, but personally I love the ethereal, resonationg, powerful quality of this album as a whole. Cristina Scabbia's beautiful, unyielding voice has never been stronger. The mood of 'Unleashed Memories' is more broody and heavier than their other albums, but it just has this unique, magical quality to it that makes it, in the words of Cristina, 'A perfect album.'
The wondrous 'Senzafine' is what'll grab you most when you first listen to this album. This urgent Italian number is a firm fan favourite and drove the crowds into ecstacy when it was played last night! But keep listening, my friends, and you'll uncover 'To Live Is To Hide,' with its haunting vocals and tendency to make your heart pound; the excellent, creepy and understated 'Cold Heritage' which gets under your skin so much it makes you shiver; and, my personal favourites, searingly honest, uplifting 'Purify,' and searingly painful 'Distant Sun.' Bonus track, 'Lost Lullaby' is also a really good tune with a poignant, lingering chorus, and with this special edition of the album you also get to view some great, high-quality pictures and wallpapers.
Do yourself a favour and buy this! And stay tuned for my reviews of 'Comalies,' 'In a Reverie,' and 'Lacuna Coil: the EPs.' (Exciting catalogue) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good album?, 5 July 2001
This review is from: UNLEASHED MEMORIES (Audio CD)
This album is quite simply the best goth metal album at the moment. While their first album leans more on their gothic side, this third CD mixs their darkly disturbed music more with alternative metal; resulting in a more accessible and mainstream release. With truly dark music and haunting, grunge-type lyrics; Scabbia tells us everything she needs to. Her wispy, dream-like vocals are a complete contrast to the more earthly, throaty voice of Ferro.'Cold heritage' and 'When a dead man walks' should be true greats in this genre. With the addition of the full Halflife EP, this album stands at almost 71 minutes in length, which makes it superb value for money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All Praise on the Western Front, 21 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
I first heard Comalies a few years ago and thought it was wonderful and listened to it constantly. Only recently did I start to listen to Lacuna Coil again and bought the rest of their albums. Unleashed Memories isn't as good as Comalies but it is still excellent. Cristina's voice is truly amazing. I only wish that they would release more and tour the UK. I can't wait for the next installment of Lacuna Coil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Nov 2003
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
I can't stop listening to this CD. The combination of the heavy and soft music works perfectly. If you like bands such as Tristania and Nightwish give Lacuna Coil a listen I'm sure you'll love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, Shame About the Production..., 3 Nov 2003
This review is from: Unleashed Memories (Audio CD)
I'll be blunt - your enjoyment of this album (or lack of it) will be directly proportional to how well you can handle its hideous production.The sound on this CD is thin and frequently distorted, has next to no dynamic range (as is evident from the first time you hear the utterly flat-sounding electric guitars come in on the first track), and the recording quality of the vocals is terrible. In short, the production is abysmal. There's your warning, now on to the music.
Music-wise, Unleashed Memories fits in well between In A Reverie and Comalies as part of Lacuna Coil's ongoing musical evolution. The same basic sound is carried over from Lacuna Coil's debut (catchy, pop-structured metal songs that use acoustic guitars as much as electric) but with more synths reminiscent of their most recent effort. The overuse of strings on some of the tracks ("When A Dead Man Walks" and "Distant Sun" spring to mind) can make it sound overly melodramatic at times, but mostly the synths are incorporated tastefully into their overall sound, if not as impressively as on Comalies.
There are more than a few moments of excellence on here, though. The opener, "Heir Of A Dying Day" is a brilliantly constructed song incorporating progressive elements. I particularly like the way the bass-line at the beginning of each verse subtly hints at the melody from the song's climax. "To Live Is To Hide" follows this up impressively. It's more poppy, but includes some extremely impressive drumming. Among fans, "Cold Heritage" must be the most revered song on here, though. Synth layering and trip-hop elements make this very different from your average Lacuna Coil song, but it's pulled off stunningly and is certainly among the band's best works. Most of the remainder of the album is good, but not brilliant, and can slip into mediocrity at times.
If you're investigating Lacuna Coil albums because you heard Evanescence on the radio (yes, it happens, and yes, I know LC fans are tired of hearing about it, but it has to be covered at some point), this may or may not be the best place to start. The overall feel of the music is most similar to Evanescence on this album (whereas In A Reverie has a more retro sound and Comalies is much darker and heavier), but if you fell in love with Amy Lee's voice, the poor recording quality of Cristina's vocals here probably won't satisfy you. In that case, I recommend Comalies instead.
In fact, I'd recommend Comalies over this release to just about anyone. Buy if you're a hardcore 'Coiler looking to complete your collection, but the other two full length releases contain (in my opinion at least) better music and certainly sound a whole lot better. Good, but not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IMO, their best album..., 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Unleashed Memories/Re-Release (Audio CD)
I've been a Lacuna Coil fan for a long time... I've heard everything they ever did and liked most of it but this is, for me, their best album. I personally prefer the more melodic, slightly Goth-y stuff rather than the rockier stuff on their later albums that was aimed at the more commercial market. Not putting that stuff down, but UL is more to my taste. 'When A Dead Man Walks', '1:19', 'To Live Is To Hide' 'Senzafine' and 'Cold Heritage' are, for me, as good as LC got. Your opinion may differ.

Whatever, they're a bloody great band, deffo worth checking out live if you get chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unleashed Memories/Re-Release
Unleashed Memories/Re-Release by Lacuna Coil (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews