Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid slab of Heavy Metal
2003 has been far from the finest year for the melodic metal genre. In Flames released 'Reroute to Remain', an album that whilst perhaps not as bad as its harshest critics would make out is almost certainly the weakest album the band have released and Soilwork released 'Figure Number Five', an album which in itself was not a huge departure from their previous effort...
Published on 9 Sep 2003 by Luke Redpath

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough
When I first heard "Wages of Sin" I was stunned. I thought I had already found that band you can get all of their cds and say, this is my favorite metal band, but after listening to "Anthems of Rebellion" you can forget about that.
I played the album over and over again looking for that spirit that you can find in their earlier releases, but all I found was their...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by Ingrid Lopez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid slab of Heavy Metal, 9 Sep 2003
This review is from: Anthems of Rebellion (Audio CD)
2003 has been far from the finest year for the melodic metal genre. In Flames released 'Reroute to Remain', an album that whilst perhaps not as bad as its harshest critics would make out is almost certainly the weakest album the band have released and Soilwork released 'Figure Number Five', an album which in itself was not a huge departure from their previous effort 'Natural Born Chaos' and whilst being a good album, had a certain rushed quality to it. Arch Enemy however, a band that have never really fit in to the typical "Gothenburg sound" with their heavier, 'Heartwork'-era Carcass influence sound, have certainly come up trumps with this, their fifth studio album and most diverse album to date.
Following steadily on from the progress made on 'Wages of Sin', the band have stepped up a gear and reintroduced a little of the heaviest lost on 'Wages...', resulting in an album that combines the melodic strengths of that album with the heaviness and intensity of 'Stigmata'. Opening track "Silent Wars" is an Arch Enemy classic with superb drumming, a heavy crushing main riff and superb lead guitars as always. From the outset it is clear that the band have neither watered down their sound ala In Flames or gone for a more direct, accessible approach ala Soilwork.
If you've heard any of the tracks from this album already, such as "We Will Rise" or "Leader of Rats", which have both been released as promos, then you may worry that this is not going to be a great album. All lectures about judging a 13 track album on the basis of a couple of tracks aside, there is no cause for concern because these are hardly the strongest tracks on the album - although they do sound more appealing within the context of the album. "We Will Rise" reminds of "Tears Of The Dead" in places and the songs slower pace is only one aspect of the album. As mentioned earlier, this is a diverse album: "Silent Wars", "Dead Eyes See No Future" and album closer "Saints and Sinners" are classic Arch Enemy tracks, "Despicable Heros" is an intense thrasher in the vein of The Haunted, and then there is "End Of The Line" and "Dehumanization", the two tracks with clean vocals courtesy of Chris Amott. The use of clean vocals is unlike that of Soilwork's recent outings, instead used as backing vocals to compliment Angela's growls. The clean vocals are restrained and add a unique edge to Arch Enemy's style. In moderation, this is something I'd like to hear on future Arch Enemy albums.
'Anthems of Rebellion' is a tight, heavy album that gets better the more you listen to it. The production is crisp and heavy, and flatters the band's sound immensely. The musicianship is unsurprisingly second to none, and Angela's vocals seem to have improved slightly since 'Wages...', giving the music an extra brutal edge that Johan Liiva was simply unable to do on the bands earlier material with his often monotonous - albeit unique - bark. That's not to say that Liiva was a bad vocalist; indeed, fans will always argue over who is the better vocalist and lets not forget that Liiva undoubtedly improved over the course of the three studio (and one live) albums that he appeared on. Angela's growl is far from original but it fits in with the music just fine - she does the job.
The band have managed to progress without doing anything to alienate their fans, and as a result have a lot of life in them yet. 'Anthems...' is rarely dull and it's hard to see why any Arch Enemy fan could not like this. It's not a perfect album, but albums rarely are. You could nitpick away at this if you really wanted to, but if you just sit back and listen you realise that what you are listening to is a great slab of heavy metal. The results on this album are all to evident and 'Anthems of Rebellion' is a great album that is easily on par with anything the band have done before, and will only disappoint only the most hardened of cynics. This deserves a place in any Arch Enemy or melodic metal fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm biased but what the hell!, 31 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems Of Rebellion (Audio CD)
If you know who Arch Enemy are you'll have a very polarised, almost Marmite like, opinion of them. If you don't know them they're a mixed origin "Melodic-Doom-Metal" band (Michael Amott's creation, not mine) They're heavier than pretty much all popular metal.

There are faster metal bands about (not many though) but that's not always the point. Sometimes its the changes in speed which have the effect rather than all-out-face-blasting-double-pedalling-brute-madness.

Personally I love this album. In the past, when thee mood has overtaken me, I've always wanted to listen to something that was face-stampingly heavy but melodic and have never owned anything to appease myself.

Now I do own just such a thing (plurally, see below).

My favourites on this album are "Leader of The Rats" which has an excellent head-banger of an intro/verse and "End of The Line" which has rare reverb-laden male backing and really completes an awesome, angry classic of a song. "We Will Rise" is also an excellent example of what these guys are about.

I bought this album at the same time as "Doomsday Machine", Arch Enemy's most recent album. I'm glad I did. I now remember how metal should be: angry enough to make you want to eat babies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 10 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Anthems of Rebellion (Audio CD)
When I first heard "Wages of Sin" I was stunned. I thought I had already found that band you can get all of their cds and say, this is my favorite metal band, but after listening to "Anthems of Rebellion" you can forget about that.
I played the album over and over again looking for that spirit that you can find in their earlier releases, but all I found was their lightest work ever.
Despite the sound is impeccable, they quite took it for granted and thought anything they'd do would be fine.
The songs are not aggressive enough, and most of them reminded me of what Sepultura became after Max Cavalera left the band. I've only had the album for a week and I'm already expecting something better for the next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent female-fronted Thrash Metal, 27 Mar 2004
This review is from: Anthems of Rebelion (Audio CD)
A Thrash / Melodic Death band fronted by a woman? Some kind of joke, you may think. Once you hear Arch Enemy doing their stuff though, you won't think that. Angela Gossow certainly knows what she's doing when it comes to extreme Metal vocals, and whilst you can tell it's a woman singing on this record (on the previous one, she sounded for all the world as if she was a man), there's nothing girly about her performance. However, for all her good singing, Arch Enemy are all about the guitar playing of the Amott brothers, in particular Michael who writes Thrash riffs like other people breathe air; it just comes naturally to him. Listen to the first track after the intro, 'Silent Wars' and if you're any kind of Metal fan, I defy you not to bang your head to it! It's that kind of song, in fact it's that kind of album. Pure headbanging heaven. It's by no means the heaviest Thrash album ever released, but then again, that's not what they're trying to do with it. Having said that, it does have a nice crunch to it, though bands like The Crown are far heavier in this genre. If you like Melodic Death bands like In Flames or Soilwork, or slightly harder kinds of modern Thrash like The Haunted or Dew-Scented you should check out Arch Enemy with all haste, they're sure to be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Proper Metal!, 21 Feb 2004
By 
D. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anthems of Rebelion (Audio CD)
I use this album to mess with peoples' minds. First I play them the music, letting them get a good dose of the fiend-from-hell vocals. And then I show them what the lead singer looks like...
With this album Arch Enemy manage to create something that is powerful and yet laced with enough melody to be appealing with the anthemic "We Will Rise" being a particular highlight.
For those of you looking for some sort of reference point, think Iron Maiden meets Megadeth with growling deathly vocals.
Play loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent female-fronted Thrash Metal, 25 Jan 2004
This review is from: Anthems of Rebellion (Audio CD)
A Thrash / Melodic Death band fronted by a woman? Some kind of joke, you may think. Once you hear Arch Enemy doing their stuff though, you won't think that. Angela Gossow certainly knows what she's doing when it comes to extreme Metal vocals, and whilst you can tell it's a woman singing on this record (on the previous one, she sounded for all the world as if she was a man), there's nothing girly about her performance. However, for all her good singing, Arch Enemy are all about the guitar playing of the Amott brothers, in particular Michael who writes Thrash riffs like other people breathe air; it just comes naturally to him. Listen to the first track after the intro, 'Silent Wars' and if you're any kind of Metal fan, I defy you not to bang your head to it! It's that kind of song, in fact it's that kind of album. Pure headbanging heaven. It's by no means the heaviest Thrash album ever released, but then again, that's not what they're trying to do with it. Having said that, it does have a nice crunch to it, though bands like The Crown are far heavier in this genre. If you like Melodic Death bands like In Flames or Soilwork, or slightly harder kinds of modern Thrash like The Haunted or Dew-Scented you should check out Arch Enemy with all haste, they're sure to be right up your street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crushing Heavy riffs, 2 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Anthems of Rebelion (Audio CD)
This is one hardcore album, a must for anyone who listens to a mixture of heavy, speed and death metal etc. As I have just gone up a step in the type of music I listen to, Pantera and Slayer and Black Label Society, I am glad to find a new level of extreme music with great guitar and drums with double base pedals all the way and solos tightly fitted in to create some heavy tracks. Best track is no. 10
Heavy riffs
Heavy drums
Heavy singing
Definitely one to own. enough said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars flawless modern melodic death metal, 31 Aug 2003
This review is from: Anthems of Rebelion (Audio CD)
This album is really a set of rules to which all modern melodic death metal bands should adhere to, the swedes have not exactly broadened their musical horizon but have made a significant improvement on their brilliant album 'wages of sin', angela gossow is the most amazing vocalist and really excels!
altogether this is a MASTERPIECE and for those new (and old) to death metal, buy this now (and if u can be bothered) the whole arch enemy back catalogue!
Dom C
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Corporate Death Metal, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Hedon (Eternal Night) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anthems Of Rebellion (Audio CD)
Before you get mad at me, let me say that i'm not dissing this album. I'm saying that it depends on your personal ideals of what Death Metal is and mine are definitly not suited to this.

I originally apporached this with alot of anticipation and excitement (i loved burning bridges). But when i actually heard it something just didn't click. But it had all the formula for melodic death.
Churning guitars? check
Dual harmonies? check
Growling vocals? check
furios double bass drumming? check

I couldn't undertand why i didn't like it. i thought time would help, buyt if anything i got more bored the more times i listened. Then i began to hear that the songs all followed the same formula - thrashy verse-melodic chorus-thrashy verse-melodic chorus-solo-chorus. then i began to get sick of the vocals. Don't get me wrong, Angela has an incrediable growl...but thats it! A growl (i.e. 1). No variation, no pitch changes, on cookie monsters or black shrieks, no half screams or shouts, just pure monotomy (its not me being sexist , i Love Light this City and Undying who both have femaile vocals too, its me being honesty and not falling for aesthetics). While Johan (former vocalist) never had the best voice for extreme metal, at least he added variety. All this a band capable of so much more. Its alomst like following a blueprint or formula to me. Then it hit me... this is corporate death metal!

Death Metal has been simplified, stripped down and made accessable for mass comsumption. Nothing too hard to stomach, nothing challenging or complex and nothing that extreme. Custom made for the popular metal masses or a band simply writing the kind of music they love? i don't know. I do know that, when it comes to Death metal, i want to be challanged. i want something that bends/bleeds my ears, something that shocks or surprises me, something thats hard to get into at first, makes me sit up and listen, something that takes time to appreciate. I find myself reaching for my old Carcass CDs evertime i hear this

I'm not saying this is a bad album. What i'm saying is that how you rate this depends on what side of the line you stand. If you're into easily digestable metal with growling vocals (i.e. Lamb of God, Chimaria, God Forbid) then this is more then likely right up your street and you'll probably get alot of enjoyment out of it. if thats the case then i recommend it. If you are, like me, looking for something more involved, something deeper and complex, something that you can really get your teeth stuck into then i doubt this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The above statement is nonsense..., 24 Oct 2003
By 
Mr. M. Munn "Mercyful Fate" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthems of Rebellion (Audio CD)
This is an awesome piece of metal and if you like your metal heavy/musical, with excellent production, then this is a must. Reminds me of Killswitch Engage and Soilwork ect.
It's heavy and it rocks like hell...if you liked their last album, then you will not be dissapointed by this great piece of music.
Thrash/Power/Speed metal, or whatever you wanna call it is now so much cleaner and crisper in terms of production and the musicians are fantastic on this also. If you want HEAVY music...then get this...if you like GROWLS and SCREAMS...then get this...if you want great production...then get this.
Basically - GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7cc24d4)

This product

Anthems Of Rebellion
Anthems Of Rebellion by Arch Enemy (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews