Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2005's best single?!
Now, to begin you will probably be thinking, why could it possibly be the single of 2005? Well i'm here to argue Jessica's cause. I love this song and feel that it is both modern and retro with a bangin' beat. The video obviously is the main selling point, she is drop dead gorgeous in every frame, but the song actually stands by itself. Jessica's sintering vocals lift the...
Published on 14 Aug. 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Isn't It Ironic?....Don't You Think??
Now this is very interesting. Around five years ago, Jessica Simpson emerged onto the music scene with the enormous ballad 'I Wanna Love You Forver'. At the time Britney was still fresh and innocent, but had that twinkle in her eyes, offset by her raunchy videos. Waiting in the wings to take her crown as pop princess nouveau were Simpson, Mandy Moore and Christina...
Published on 8 Aug. 2005 by Richard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2005's best single?!, 14 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: These Boots Are Made For Walkin' (Audio CD)
Now, to begin you will probably be thinking, why could it possibly be the single of 2005? Well i'm here to argue Jessica's cause. I love this song and feel that it is both modern and retro with a bangin' beat. The video obviously is the main selling point, she is drop dead gorgeous in every frame, but the song actually stands by itself. Jessica's sintering vocals lift the class on this record by not using her well renouned power, but instead more control. The backtrack tune also inclues Willie Nelson but to be fair, he is only mixed in to be a bass version of what Jess is already singing.
The editing in this is very clever and really sells the it. A great song to shake your ass to, and great fun. Jessica delivers in this rather delicious offering and I can only say that this song will remind me of 2005, and bring fond memories.
"Can I get a hand clap from the way I work my back?" - Yes Jessica, Yes you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Isn't It Ironic?....Don't You Think??, 8 Aug. 2005
This review is from: These Boots Are Made For Walkin' (Audio CD)
Now this is very interesting. Around five years ago, Jessica Simpson emerged onto the music scene with the enormous ballad 'I Wanna Love You Forver'. At the time Britney was still fresh and innocent, but had that twinkle in her eyes, offset by her raunchy videos. Waiting in the wings to take her crown as pop princess nouveau were Simpson, Mandy Moore and Christina Aguilera, all keen to set themselves out as something different.
Jessica chose the anti-bimbo route. Long dresses were the order of the day in her debut video and she was put forth as a good example of a good Christian girl. In fact her debut album 'Sweet Kisses'was even advertised outright as Christian Pop. My my my how the tables have turned.... This route didn't work for Simpson, neither did trying to pop up her ballads a bit as the follow up album 'Irresistible' also flopped.
Cue the saviour of the twentieth century....reality TV. Her MTV fly-on-the-wall series about her new marriage to Nick Lachey of boy band 98Degrees was a big hit, and Simpson found herself in the spotlight once more. A relatively successful album followed in the shape of 'In This Skin'. She was also voted the world's hottest body in many lad mag polls.
And so we come to 2005, and Simpson's debut film role as Daisy Duke in 'The Dukes of Hazzard'. This track is taken from said film and its video says it all. The world has now seen Simpson raw and unscripted on 'Newleyweds' - and she isn't all that bright! So she's taken to playing on her easiest asset - her body. Where has the girl gone who so publicly shunned Ms Spears for showing off her school uniform? Is she perhaps hiding behind this new improved Simpson, who in a few shots of her new video wears nothing but a bra and knickers? Thought not. In fact, the video is perhaps the major selling point of this track, which is a lacklustre showcase for Simpson's (at times) impressive vocal range. It has neither the tune nor the charm of the Nancy Sinatra original, and an attempt to rope in Willie Nelson for good measure fails as his voice is barely recognisable underneath the overproduction. Geri Halliwell covered this track as a B-side for her single 'Bag It Up' and even that effort was better than this.....and boy is that saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A gift for a friend, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: These Boots Are Made For Walkin' (Audio CD)
Only available as a CD single and not on any of her albums I bought this as a gift. It arrived on quickly and was just as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars daisy duke, 27 July 2005
This review is from: These Boots Are Made For Walkin' (Audio CD)
I think that Jessica has done a great version of this single and I love her video too. I can't wait till the Dukes Of Hazards is released- big Jessica Simpson fan so can't wait to see it. I'm sure she will play a fab Daisy Duke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

These Boots Are Made For Walkin'
These Boots Are Made For Walkin' by Jessica Simpson (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews