Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a breath of fresh air - now the patch is out
well i'll start off by saying I have been a big fan of the championship manager titles in the past, but I thought i'd try a new management sim this year and was pleasantly suprised.
The game has a nice variety of game modes starting off as managing the team of your choice your usual option. You can also start a game being offered a contract from 3 random...
Published on 17 Dec 2005 by digestivebikkie

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Major bugs prevent it from being an Excellent Game...
Overall, a very good game.
The 3d match engine is better than that of most football games, and the game combines a realism and depth of player statistics with the 3d display which made the TCM series stand out. The interface is easy to use. Many options are offered. In short, everything is greatly improved over the previous edition.
However, the player and team...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by George


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a breath of fresh air - now the patch is out, 17 Dec 2005
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
well i'll start off by saying I have been a big fan of the championship manager titles in the past, but I thought i'd try a new management sim this year and was pleasantly suprised.
The game has a nice variety of game modes starting off as managing the team of your choice your usual option. You can also start a game being offered a contract from 3 random clubs. Or my favourite option of the 3, founding your own club from scratch.
It has a nice layout and an easy to use interface, and you can manage just about as much as you want to and leave the assistant manager to do the rest, from arranging friendlies to setting up sponsorship deals and stocking your merchandise along with many other various tasks.
The 3D match highlights are enjoyable to watch and you find yourself really getting into the action as if it was your favourite club in a derby game. The commentry is fairly good but the occasionally strange thing said every now and then.
Having installed the patch i have had no problems as of yet, and I am battling through the lower divisions with my founded club, another nice thing is you actually get paid as a manager and can spend your wages on your club if you wish to, aptly named "the abramovich effect".
With all that said this is a great management game and you'll find yourself sat at the computer for hours and hopefully enjoying it as much as I am.
NOTE: Patch is now released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Ever, 5 Sep 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I only recieved this game yesterday and already I`ve put in over 6 hours play.

To put it bluntly Fifa Manager 2006 is simply the best effort from EA Sports to date and deserves high praise.

True it is a far cry from the original TCM 03, 04 & 05 which were all very good in their own right.

True EA have done away with the original information of players, making it a little harder to asses who you`re buying, but if you got this game you obviously love football and should have half a clue about players anyways.

True it is no longer a case of taking a struggling team and automatically making them Premiership winners.

However you gain so much that this game has to become the ultimate football fans dream.

New and improved graphics on the match engine make watching your team play a real pleasure - no more super fast action or jumpy screen unless you change the seetings.

New and inproved over all layout makes makes the game far more interesting and makes buying players more enjoyable as, although the star ratings have gone, you now have information from fitness through to ability - amoungst others.

New and improved realism means that the top Premiership teams are the top teams and the bottom teams are bottom - this means if you take on a lower Premiership team you now have to work hard to get anywhere, just like the real managers would.

New and improved controls - navigation is much better once you get used to it and the layout is superior too, once again once you get used to it.

Over all Fifa Manager 2006 is the best football manager game I have played, with the best graphics ever seen on PC.

The one thing I think I like best is the way the finances are layed out and makes it easier to stay in budget.

The only fault I might give the game is that the game play is so different compared to TCM 03, 04, & 05 that it took a while to get used to the game play again.

However, once you get used to the game play it is still essentially TCM but on a bigger, better and improved scale.

Whatever you do DON`T miss this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! The ultimate in football mangement games., 18 Jan 2006
By 
C. P. F. Flux (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I've played many decent football management games before, but they have always had flaws. However Fifa Manager 2006 has finally got it right. You have many different options for viewing the match, a good transfer system, training system-- the whole lot!
Just get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of it.s kind!, 26 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I bought this game to replace my ageing 'Total Club Manager 04'. I would have bought 'Fifa Manager 07' only my PC doesn't have a DVD drive. I'm glad really because '07 has got some quite poor reviews. Anyway, this game does not deserve ANY bad reviews because it is a great game. At first it is a bit of a shock that the star ratings for the players have now gone, but once you get used to it, it makes more sense. You really have to study the players individual skills now and use the 'compare players' option to decide who would perform better. Much more realistic. I played 'TCM 04' since it was released and looking back, i have to admit, I just resorted to clicking 'choose best team' then 'play match'. 'FM 06' tries to make you think about your choices a bit more.

If anyone remembers the 'Premier League Manager' games (which preceded the tcm games) there were no star levels there either! EA have made things very easy with the TCM games! In fact, FM 06 is the logical succesor to Premier League Manager. It is simply the best footy manager game out there. It has all the depth of the previous games plus the 3D match has been greatly improved. And if thats not enough, you can get it on amazon for under a fiver! What are you waiting for!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Major bugs prevent it from being an Excellent Game..., 15 Nov 2005
By 
George (Thessaloniki, - Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
Overall, a very good game.
The 3d match engine is better than that of most football games, and the game combines a realism and depth of player statistics with the 3d display which made the TCM series stand out. The interface is easy to use. Many options are offered. In short, everything is greatly improved over the previous edition.
However, the player and team database remains inaccurate for most leagues apart from the major ones, and most importantly, the game is plagued by many bugs, from minor ones to major ones causing crashes from the 3d display to the desktop, which can render it unplayable for owners of certain video cards until a proper patch is released.
Thoroughly check the official game forum to learn more on the bugs before purchasing.
I would definitely rate it with 5 stars if the bugs weren't present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP CLASS (Can't See What All The Fuss Is About), 2 Dec 2005
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
I bought this game last week, and have not left it alone since. The best management game by miles, and i havent encountered ANY bugs. Great Game, and thoroughly recomended to anyone who claims to be a "management" god!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IS IT BETTER THAN THE OLD ONE?, 12 Jun 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
It is better, but they seem to run the ball out more, like you can have 4 throwins in just a very short time that gets on your nerves(the throw in come all at once if you have one you will often have 3or4)!the game is not too hard like some people say,it really is just right it can be an challenge which is good(some modes can be hard).The skills are good, if you get a dribbler skill (is my favourite).your player can use the dribbler skill to go round a player with a trick which is cool!The graphics is what you would expect not good but not excellent.When you try to buy a player in your set they often not want to go because you are a rival club which also gets on your nerves.the game is very good I am just in a negative mood so I am telling you the bits that are annoying to me

I definetly recommend this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid entry by EA Sports, 10 Sep 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
EA Sports took a huge gamble with their latest football management game, and it paid off. After two almost identical games in the form of Total Club Manager 2004/2005 they had to bring in some new and better features to try and keep people buying their games with the Football Manager series starting to rise as a hugely popular game. Fifa Manager 06 manages to compete as a great game.

The best improvement is the layout of the game. It has a more professional feel to it and it shows with the nice graphics and smoother layout. As others have said the star/level/% ratings have gone meaning the manager has to make a better judgement about the choice of his players.

The game captures realism as I don't think there is one player that is far too good/far too bad (for the time it was made). The computer is reasonable realistic in it's transfers and makes few mistakes on selecting a lineup.

With the exception of a few random flaws (and that's probably because I'm not very good at management games), it's brilliant. A very strong effort by EA Sports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, 18 May 2006
By 
E. Malik "chiller2k6" (Huddersfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
If you want an easy, realistic, quick season game then look no further. Yes, the other reviews may make it out to look bad but i think it's the best football game i've ever played and i've played them all. Good value for money and very addictive. I got Huddersfield Town (League 1) into the premiership, without cheating may i add!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars should have been five stars, 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) (Video Game)
were do i start with EAs lastest offering initially it looks good and plays well a little hard to sell players and a lot of bugs two games on the same day if you play as liverpool etc
it looks good has an easy to use interface but has way too many problems the list of bugs is huge including the most important one for me it locks up every couple of days in game on my system it does not like my graphics card a 7800gt it does the same if you have a realtek onboard soundcard
when the patch comes out it will be alot better but until then i would buy cautiously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD)
FIFA Manager 06 (PC CD) by Electronic Arts (Windows XP)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews