Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars17
3.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2010
Do this in the park on a calm and sunny day and kids and adults alike will flock towards you. To see this 25 foot, black, 'solar sausage' up in the sky is surreal, weird and great fun. Take a roll of sticky tape with you to repair small holes and rips. When it is low down kids want to chase, grab and wack it which is when the rips will occur. Mine has been used several times with large groups of kids and probably has half a roll of tape holding it together but it still flies.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I like things that fly and the Mrs brought this home. The British summer has been raining for months and finally the 2 day summer was here and one day was no wind. Best advice is bring a roll of sticky tape with you. Yes kids will flock to you and then must be very gentle. It does fly just make sure that it stays filled with air then about 5-10mins later when its tries to float get it on one end and make sure that the it is not in shade. We did get it to fly on the 1st go but I forgot to tie the kite string to it correctly and at about 30m up in the air the string came off and the balloon sailed up. Lucky the end started to come undone and the air began to spill out and back to earth it came. On the next launch I found that a thistle had put holes in but with some tape that was soon fixed. The sun was getting low but after about 10-15 mins it was up and taking line. We used about 98% of the line and I was not sure if the other end was attached so we stopped. We could hear kids shouting in the distance "whats that!!??" My little boy loved it and when it was on the ground he loved chasing it and trying to help me launch it. You must have the right conditions and yes it can be torn but if you have kids that are in to things that fly get one. Get yourself outside and use it. Make sure you have a BIG space and no wind. Beaware that once it starts to climb it does really want to take all the line you can give it! If It breaks I will buy another!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
this is essentially a very large black plastic bin liner - made from exceptionally thin plastic.

Open it out, walk around with it a bit to fill it with air, seal the end, let the trapped air heat up in the sun and watch it lift up.

Issues: it is very long and you do need a lot of space to open it out. If it catches on ANYTHING it will tear. If there is no breeze it is tricky to fill with air. Too much breeze and it is likely to swing around and catch on house / tree / wall etc and tear. My advice would be to take it to a cricket pitch with lots of space and smoothly cut grass and you might stand a chance.

My son got through an entire (small) roll of cellotape mending holes but did manage to get it 'flying' for a few minutes, enjoyed it while it lasted but got frustrated by the persistent breakages.

It is a single use 'experiment', I wouldn't buy it again unless it was at a seriously reduced price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2009
Not very durable but excellent fun. We should have chosen a bigger area to inflate it as it got torn on the television aerial!!!! You need lots of space but it is excellent and so easy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
You will have fun with this toy, kids love watching it heat up and rise in the air. It's dramatic. They love how high it goes. Make sure you have wide open space around you so it doesn't break on a hedge, fence when it comes down. You can repair small holes with cellotape tho so that's good too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
This airship does have a large amount of scientific value to it in terms of the principles of flight but is very flimsy. It tears very easily and as such needs constant repair. I was to able to use it once as the it developed several large holes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
This is basically a giant black bin bag. Take it out to the park on a sunny day, it fills with air, tie it with some string and watch it inflate and rise.My son enjoyed it - but it is a bit of a one time wonder. Bit pricey for what it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2010
This toy was great fun. It needs a lot af space. It was very fragile and this was the second one we purchased due to the firat one getting ripped easily. Great fun though!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
this truly is amazing, great for a bit of fun, but the enjoyment lasts for hours!!

be sure to tie it down though....

deffinatly recomend it
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Took this up to London (Blackheath) was great fun, even attracted the attention of a police helicopter haha.
Note you should only use in a big field with no obstacles or anything that can piece it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.