Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful
Opeth to me are one of the few bands who really provide a musical experience which is unique, moving, breathtaking and dark all at the same time. I really believe that their musicianship is of a level second to none. Anyway, this album is beautiful, from the crushing and gorgeous Ghost of Perdition (which by the way i would put up there with Lepper Affinity, Demon of the...
Published on 21 July 2006 by C. Lazo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Disappointing for me, far too much growling on it.
Published 16 days ago by MR S C PHILLIPS


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 21 July 2006
By 
C. Lazo "METALKIRK" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
Opeth to me are one of the few bands who really provide a musical experience which is unique, moving, breathtaking and dark all at the same time. I really believe that their musicianship is of a level second to none. Anyway, this album is beautiful, from the crushing and gorgeous Ghost of Perdition (which by the way i would put up there with Lepper Affinity, Demon of the Fall, Drapery Falls,etc) to the simple, stripped down, yet incredibly moving Isolation Years. The album has got a slightly different feel to other albums, theres more 'clean' singing than before but the awesome death metal vocals Mikael delivers are still there. I read in some reviews that Opeth should stick to more clean singing, the point is that Opeth are a progressive Death Metal band, so the main vocal style will allways be the Death Metal vocal(the grunts), this may take time to get used to but believe me, when u do you wont want it any other way!!! so in my view the clean vocals are the calm amongst the main storms of death metal voicings rather than the other way round. Anyway, buy this, it really is incredible, ive got everything from Morningrise onwards (i'll be getting orchid soon)

and I believe this album to be as complete and as beautiful as any of them, i might change my view in time;who knows; but for the time being I am immersed in this beautiful creation. GO GET IT!! (FAV tracks at the mo: Ghost of Perdition, Baying of the Hounds, Harlequin Forest, Isolation Years)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Perfect, 8 Oct. 2008
By 
Paul McNamee (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
How I see it, there are three top Opeth albums, and I'm hard pressed to pick a favourite. 2001's Blackwater Park is often considered the benchmark release, and is certainly definitive in terms of their sound. 2005's Ghost Reveries sees the band at their most diverse, and this year's Watershed is overflowing with moments of absolute sonic perfection. Seeing as its still 2008, I'll plump for Watershed for the time being. But there's no doubt that every time I revisit Ghost Reveries, I end up doubting myself.

The last album to feature the so-called classic line-up of Akerfeldt, Lindgren, Lopez and Mendez, aided by one Per Wiberg on keys, Ghost Reveries is a perfect, and I don't throw that word around lightly, swansong for those departing players, Martin Lopez and Peter Lindgren. Indeed, their work on here is without doubt the finest of their respective careers. The guitar work in particular stands out on this Opeth release, each and every song filled with luscious passages, varied playing styles, intriguing rhythm and lead sections: basically, plenty to make the CD worth any serious metal guitarist's time. Lopez' drumming too has never been better, most noticeable on tracks "Harlequin Forest" and slow-burner "The Grand Conjuration". His work on the latter song is a masterpiece of understatement balanced with sheer power, at once both timid and majestic. As and when his varies capabilities are needed, he never fails to impress.

As for those still in the fold, the praise comes just as readily. Mikael Akerfeldt is without question the best singer in all of music today. As a metal vocalist, he belongs to a select group who practice a style which is both as grim as they come and perfectly intoned and comprehensible. As always, his song-writing is beyond compare: no other musician so perfectly combines elements of death metal, classic rock, folk music and more. On Ghost Reveries we are treated to the Middle-Eastern ramble "Atonement", something of a sequel to the previous album's "Closure", though ten times as impressive.

Shallow as I may sound, it's not often that I notice the bass on an album, or indeed in a band. Production is often to blame. Not so here: Martin Mendez' subtle touches and flourishes are noticeable on each and every track on this album. His sweeping, climbing style is a thing of beauty, a fantastic match for Lindgren and Akerfeldt's guitar work. Wiberg, appearing here for the first time as a full member of the band, makes his presence known. His joining is no mid-career addition: you'd be forgiven for thinking keys were this prominent on every Opeth record, so well integrated are they into the band's sound. From menacing guitar-mimicry on "...Conjuration" to Mellotron overload, well, pretty much everywhere else, not one of his parts seems like a post-production flourish: he's in integral part of the structure of the album.

Musician worship aside, what of the songs? Like I said, the offering here is more diverse than every other Opeth record. Sure, there's plenty of what could be called recognisable Opeth, but there's also a hell of a lot of fresh stuff too. Opener "Ghost of Perdition" is a shifting, twisting mass of music, effortlessly transitioning between furious death metal, Latin grooves and straight-up rock. "The Baying of The Hounds" has a similar vibe to "The Funeral Portrait" from Blackwater Park, that is to say, it sees the band in a raucous, lively, almost bouncy metal form, before descending into a dreamlike, bass-driven mid-section. "Beneath the Mire" has a great intro section, before treading familiar guitar-heaven/scary-heaviness ground. "Atonement" marks the first non-metal offering of the album, a hazy, heat-stricken, wander through the desert set to some fantastic prog guitars, and ivory tinkling. A supposed manufacturing error places "Reverie" at the end of this track rather than at the beginning of the next. It's a short example of an old Opeth trick: write something short and utterly, unbearably good, and play it over and over for just long enough. "Harlequin Forest" ends with much the same idea. "Hours of Wealth" is another non-metal number, giving the listener a chance to catch their breath before the power of "The Grand Conjuration", which I'll get to in a minute. "Hours..." is essentially an instrumental showcase for guitar and keys, with a short section at the end which opens up for TGC in the best possible way. One section of the song, where notes on the keyboard join those of the guitar, never fails to turn me into a puddle. "The Grand Conjuration", undeniably the album's cornerstone, is a modern classic behemoth of metal excellence. Clocking in at somewhere around eleven minutes in length, it builds upon a very simple build and release structure before collapsing on itself for some much deserved showing off in the middle, before returning to the menace and then descending into chaos again at the end. Simply put, its textbook Opeth, and an absolutely essential song for any self-respecting fan of decent prog or death metal. To say it's the best song on the album almost puts the rest in shadow, so I'll avoid that pitfall. But it's damn good. So good, in fact, that closer "Isolation Years" is something of an anticlimax. But once you're fully familiar with the album, such a thing won't matter. A short piece, it really does stand on its own, musically and lyrically. That's not to say it's unwelcome, it just might have been better off, well, off.

Which brings me to another thing: album structure. I'm a firm believer that album structure is integral not only to one's enjoyment of a record, but also to its status as a classic album as a whole. Top marks then for Ghost Reveries, save for that little blip at the end. The metal-trilogy opening salvo to the bliss of "Atonement", back to another lengthy genre-buster, a smaller quiet number and into the centrepiece, its all so confoundingly well put together you have to wonder if scientists weren't drafted into conjure it all up. In some grand manner, pun fans.

The artwork is fantastic, as are the lyrics, particularly considering the lyricist's first language isn't even English. The production is top notch on all counts: each individual instrument sounds fantastic, each guitar tone like a gift. Everything is mixed perfectly.

I hate ending reviews. I just don't know how to do it. I usually plump for a summary, which tends to make it feel like an essay for school. So I may as well just say buy the bloody album. Please try and ignore anything negative you may hear about it, as those who spout such blatant inaccuracies are inexcusable, and punishable by firing squad execution for lack of human decency, taste and an education in how not to be musically ignorant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step forwards, at last!!!, 1 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
A lot of people don't seem to love this album. I can't say why. Ghost Reveries is for me, the best album Opeth released since Morningrise (but sounding completely different ofcourse).

I believe that Ghost Reveries is a big step forward for Opeth, the step that they should take several albums earlier. For example, Still Life, Blackwater Park and Deliverance sound so similar to my ears. But Ghost Reveries is so different than their previous records.

First of all, they tuned down their guitars 2 full steps in all songs. For non-guitarists, this means that this album sounds heavy! Well, almost all Opeth albums sound heavy, but this one sounds strangely heavy. There is a mysterious feel through all songs that I would define as... ghosty! Hence the title.

Mikael's brutal vocals are heavier than ever, while clean vocals are prettier than ever! They really do! I believe there are more clean vocals in this record than any other Opeth record (apart from Damnation ofcourse).

Favorite songs? Well, pretty much all! I could choose 2 or 3, but this wouldn't do justice to the rest. But let's just say there are very good chances you'll find YOUR personal favorite Opeth song in Ghost Reveries.

Mikael, you set the bar very high once again! Can't wait for the new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeatable, 19 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
This is by some margin my favourite album of the last 15 years (as my other favourite, Achtung Baby, was released in 1991 - which may also give you some idea of my eclectic taste). This was also my introduction to Opeth and it inspired me to rapidly buy up the rest of their back catalogue which is also awesome. For me this album sums up everything that is brilliant about rock music - bone shaking riffs, supreme musicianship, and mind blowing song structures. I've never got bored of it since buying it in 2005 and each new listen repays the investment ten fold. I really can't recommend strongly enough that you buy this album and if you get the chance to see them live do not pass it up as they are easily the best band that I've ever seen. Way, way better than U2 in fact. Yes, really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A quintessentially great album that completely blew me away, 25 Jan. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
Ghost Reveries is simply one of the best albums Opeth ever released, if not THE best one ever, this is what really got me into Opeth. Released in 2005, Ghost Reveries consists of eight songs which feature a variety of music styles, e.g. progressive death metal, progressive rock, even some acoustic guitar work. I love this album so much that I can't pick a favourite song from it, they're all really good and there are no filler tracks on the album whatsoever, I would say the same about all the other albums Opeth released before Ghost Reveries - Watershed and Heritage (which followed Ghost Reveries) are very good albums in their way as well but I don't think they quite have the magic that Ghost Reveries and the other albums before that had, still have and always will have in years to come.

What I like about Ghost Reveries is that it is (to some extent) quite different from all the other albums Opeth released before that, while at the same time sticking to their musical roots. One thing I noticed with this album and not on any other metal album I have bought in my lifetime, is that in some of the songs on this album (if not all of them) Opeth used a guitar tuning which I never came across until buying and listening to Ghost Reveries, the guitar tuning in question is called Open D Minor 9 (low to high string: D A D F A E), although as far as I know they mostly used the Drop D tuning (low to high string: D A D G B E) as well as Open D Minor 9.

Another thing to point out is that around halfway into the album the instrumental piece titled "Reverie" starts on a negative time of -1:05 before "Harlequin Forest" when the track mark on CD players changes from track 4 to track 5, even though on the album track 5 is titled "Reverie/Harlequin Forest", and when copying the album onto the iTunes library the instrumental piece "Reverie" becomes part of track 4 "Atonement" instead of track 5 "Harlequin Forest". Perhaps "Reverie" was used as a hidden track on the album, although maybe it could have been made a separate track or even part of track 5 in positive time instead of negative time making "Harlequin Forest" 12 minutes and 45 seconds long instead of 11 minutes and 39 seconds long, (it's not a criticism of any kind, it's just something I happened to notice while looking at my CD player and listening to the album).

Overall, I very highly recommend Ghost Reveries to anyone who is a huge fan of metal music in general and to those who like very long tracks as four of the eight songs on this album are at least 10 minutes long, "Ghost of Perdition", "The Baying of the Hounds", "Harlequin Forest" and "The Grand Conjuration" being those four songs in question, whereas the other songs "Beneath the Mire", "Atonement", "Hours of Wealth" and "Isolation Years" are not as long but are just as good. A perfect album by such a fantastic metal band, well done Opeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A most unusual and developed offering, 28 April 2010
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
I have every recording of this band and have followed their progress keenly. I do not like all their work, especially the earlier work, however I understand it as a development of the band. With the release of the album "Ghost Reveries" Opeth has slipped into a new league.

The music is more sparse with a clear improvement on the already competent musicianship with a special note of experimentation on the part of the drummer, Martin Lopez, who has utilised many percussive instruments thoughtfully throughout the album.

Mikael Åkerfeldt's vocal performance is the best on any Opeth album dating all the way back to "Orchid". His gruff throat-ripping vocal is more defined while his melodic singing has now reached an experienced level of musicality.

Martin Mendez's bass on this album is good, although at times mixed very low and is hard to discern. However, when you do find it; it's musical, thought out and well placed.

A new member to the band is Per Wiberg, a keyboardist, who has taken the theme of the album in a new direction. This may well be a move the whole band is taking.

Peter Lindgren's guitar has become more mature and at times even, dare it be said, rock/blues tinged, without sacrificing the dark, morbid tone that is now an Opeth trademark. His tone has changed markedly. It is of interest that he previously used `rock specific' instruments like Jackson guitars. Now he uses Paul Reed Smith guitars preferred by the rock/blues/jazz fraternity. The change in tone is pronounced being more mature, richer and darker. As his playing is somewhat slower on this offering, it also has more nuance.

Overall the album is listenable and commercially accessible. That's a tall order - to make Norwegian Death metal accessible to a wide audience without sacrificing the intention of design.

This is one of their best albums along with the amazing "Blackwater Park". The later is more heavy with intermingling of acoustic breaks. This album has long acoustic interludes which then have heavy breaks. A polarisation of style that is far easier on the ears. This album is somewhat a mix of the earlier album "Still Life" with their later album "Damnation" and a new vibe as well.

It seems that success and acceptance has paved the way for an Opeth that feels more confident and able to relax in it's position to produce totally new music. This album is truly outstanding, and what we & Opeth have been waiting for, for years.

Any thinking listener of contemporary metal music should hear this album and listen with open ears & no pre-conceived notion as to what the album contains. This album is a modern-classic that will set the bar for future progressive metal endeavours. If they churn out another one of this calibre soon, they may well turn out to be to metal what Pink Floyd was to pop. Watch & listen closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Swedish masters return!, 28 Mar. 2007
By 
Transcendence (Adelaide,South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
The mighty Opeth has again delivered an album that is inconceivably brilliant from start to finish. Founding member and guitarist, Michael Akerfelt, has pushed the envelope ever further this time round, exploring different musical boundaries and proving himself a true master of his craft, mainly as a formidable songwriter and talented musician.

Opeth are primarily a technical death metal band, but within their music there are different genres that can be heard from jazz, fusion, metal and elements of progressive metal. The consideration that's incorporated into each track is immense, combining the atmosphere of "light and darkness" creating such diverse moods from sweeping guitar work, harsh vocals before things mellow out creating an element of subtleness throughout. Opeth have remained to the tried and tested blueprint that has been created throughout their long and illustrious career.

Without a doubt,"Ghost Reveries" has to be their most accomplished work to date and is one slab of technical death metal delivered with innovative precision. There are at least three tracks sung using clean harmonious vocals, and what a soulful voice Michael Akerfelt has. The remainder of the album is a mixture of gruff and clean vocals, this being reminiscent of Opeth's sound that fans have relished in over the years.

The musicianship is excellent as usual and mention must be made of the other band members who deliver as what one would expect, just classy musicianship. The most accomplished track, and my favourite, has to be the epic `The grand Conjuration', which has many uniquely different signature time changes and atmospheric moods.

In conclusion, anyone that has not embraced the Opeth sound is doing themselves a musical injustice. The death metal label might scare some people away, but this should not be the case as Opeth have the amazing ability to weave and create such beautiful intricate music that infuses itself into other metal genres. Truly inspirational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Album I've Been Waiting For..., 28 Feb. 2007
By 
Bassman (Cheltenham, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
Every so often you play an album for the first time and you just know that you are going to get the same euphoric feelings everytime you hear it. Ghost Reveries is such an album.

It is like Opeth have taken all the best rock music of the past 35 years and mixed it up into a coherent whole without once sounding derivitive. The composition is astounding, the musicianship is likewise excellent and the overall sound of the album is wonderful.

About as good as music gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NATURAL SUCCESSOR TO METALLICA'S MASTER OF PUPPETS!!!, 28 July 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
Classic album - a landmark of Progressive/Death/Metal/Rock!
I have every album since 1999's Still Life and including Watershed - this for me is THE best of them all; production, performance and especially the songwriting. For me, this is the Prog Metal album that I had been waiting for since Master Of Puppets, WAY back in 1986!
It's dark, brooding, melancholic and very, very heavy. Yet it's also extremeley melodic, highly technical and haunting at times.
Vocals range from perfect, soulful clean textures to full on brutal Death growls, then there are the stunning riffs and emotive solos, bass lines that would please Cliff Burton looking down, and some of the most inventive double bass drums you will ever hear! The keyboard work is awesome as well, giving even more of a progressive feel.
Certainly, one of the best units of musicians active today.
Production is crystal and unique in texture. Watershed is a very good album but can it ever compete with this masterpiece??
This is really Epic!
The album is conceptual, with lyrical themes that remind me of King Diamond's Abigail. It's gothic and yet very sophisticated!
The order of songs, the tracklisting is all perfection, and this should be enjoyed at least once through the best headphones that money can buy - preferably in the dark!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album!, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
S. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Reveries (Audio CD)
For me, this is probably their best album. I'm not generally a fan of death metal deep growling vocals, finding them quite jarring in that I become suddenly aware that I'm listening to something a bit laughable. Fortunately for the most part Opeth seem to handle them pretty well, and I'm rarely perturbed/distracted by them. More than that, they actually work really well on most of their tracks, because they're not generally overdone, and there is a good mix of good clean vocals too. The music is also really, really good. It all just works together really well.

If you're just getting into this band, or are curious to see what they're about, I recommend starting here even if you think you won't be able to deal with the growling. If you like this album, then I recommend picking up Blackwater park which is also fantastic, and Watershed although perhaps not consistently quite up to the same standard as the other 2. Ironically these are my favourite Opeth albums (I'm still to check out their first 4 though!), and I found them much easier to get into than their newest album Pale Communion which has no death growls whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Reveries
Ghost Reveries by Opeth (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews