Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accomplised, ambitious and inventive - a bright future ahead
Really don't know what the previous reviewer of this album is on about. Going by the fact he likes Kubb though, it's not surprising...
Field Music wear their influences on the sleeve and the songs are varied and pretty timeless. However, they show enough invention within their make-up that they don't come across as MOR in any way.
Much of the album would appeal...
Published on 21 Aug 2005 by flimflam80

versus
2 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in the field where only the cows need suffer!
Having just seen this band live supporting Kubb (a truly great up and coming band), I can only say I wish I hadn't forced myself to sit through the entire set.
This band seem to be unable to construct a coherent song, instead the result seems to be a schoolboy jam! Not only that they seem to be suffering from with an internal struggle as to which member of the band...
Published on 18 Aug 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accomplised, ambitious and inventive - a bright future ahead, 21 Aug 2005
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
Really don't know what the previous reviewer of this album is on about. Going by the fact he likes Kubb though, it's not surprising...
Field Music wear their influences on the sleeve and the songs are varied and pretty timeless. However, they show enough invention within their make-up that they don't come across as MOR in any way.
Much of the album would appeal to fans of Elbow, Super Furry Animals, The Magic Numbers and Badly Drawn Boy amongst others. Some songs (like the debut single 'Shorter Shorter') are even reminiscent of ELO.
Plenty of the album is radio friendly enough to give them mainstream appeal and clearly from the production values they understand how to build an attractive sound. Sometimes the melodies are warm and gentle whilst at other times it has that oh so fashionable angular thing going on.
All in all a good debut effort and definitely worth keeping an eye on them in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting a feel for field music, 4 Sep 2005
By 
IJS (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
I got this album on a whim and just can't stop playing it now. At first found the change between the two different styles reflected in the songs a little hard to get used to but now it seems like one whole and is now my favourite album for a long time - pretty but really clever melodies, and the Geordie accents that come through just add to the whole effect of sung poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious unadulterated musical genius, 19 Feb 2006
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
They're mates with Maximo Park, The Futureheads and The Golden Virgins so if you're a fan of those bands read on, but Sunderland's Field Music don't sound like anybody but themselves.
Imagine the Gang Of Four trapped in an elevator with The Beach Boys, Paul McCartney's Wings, Prefab Sprout and Wire. Then extrapolate.
But beware, this isn't an album that you're going to fall in love with on first play. It's ambitious, jagged and sometimes disconcertingly complicated. Instead you'll have to live with it for a bit, keep listening and then you'll find out why everyone who's anyone is raving about this being one of the albums of 2005. It's beautiful, brilliant and blisteringly inspired.
But - hey! - don't take my word for it. Take a chance, buy it and I guarantee that within a dozen plays, you'll believe that Sunderland has suddenly become the centre of the musical universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'I didn't want to like this', 3 April 2006
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
When Paul Smith of Maximo Park (or whatever his name is) appears on TV wearing a trilby looking smug and tells you that you should be listening to Field Music, your immerdiate response is to avoid them like the plague. Well mine is.
If you were as unforgivably stupid as I was however, you'll miss out on one of the very few genuinely interesting bands left in this country. Field music are effortlessly charming, sensitive and intellegent if not always coherent.
The only real problem I have with the album is they suffer from the same lyrical vagueness that plagues most North Eastern bands like The Futureheads and Maximo Park, verses often bumble along in a clumsy manner with no real direction, as far as words go that is. It's just a slight shame when everything else is so good and to be fair its nice not to hear songs about going out on Friday night and drinking and having a fight or something.
Musically they know exactly where they're going. Field music thankfully ignore all the John Lennon influences so beloved by Britpop and instead take more from John's much maligned, animal loving, thumb's upping writing partner. No not Yoko. All the parts of the Beatles that everyone ignored 'cause they weren't cool are revived with twinges of the aforementioned Futureheads and a general post punkiness.
The use of strings is really impressive since they manage to avoid sounding 'epic' or 'like embrace'... ie pathetic and emasculated. Stand out tracks include 17, Pieces and the final track 'You're so Pretty' which is frankly amazing...
BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Field Music, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
Excellent, highly recommended from a relatively unknown band! I would check them out on YouTube first so you will get an idea of bands style....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i loved it, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Nikki C. Adams "moon unit" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
still their best album to date.love (almost all)the tracks esp got to get the nerve and got to write a letter.more than just skippy,happy,dappy pop songs!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Keep it in the field where only the cows need suffer!, 18 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Field Music (Audio CD)
Having just seen this band live supporting Kubb (a truly great up and coming band), I can only say I wish I hadn't forced myself to sit through the entire set.
This band seem to be unable to construct a coherent song, instead the result seems to be a schoolboy jam! Not only that they seem to be suffering from with an internal struggle as to which member of the band should be the lead singer. Of course neither of them should bother trying to win that fight, perhaps they should find someone with charisma who can actually sing and write songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Field Music
Field Music by Field Music (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews