Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars little known information
first up, entertaining film.

secondly i don't normally write reviews but i feel compelled to spread some recently found info. somebody told me all warner bros dc dvds although advertised as region 1 are actually region free. sceptically i bought subzero and lo and behold, it works fine on the 4 region 2 dvd players i've tried it on.

I also have found...
Published on 17 May 2011 by James M. Stephenson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars solid adventure
This is basically an extended retelling of the animated series episode 'heart of ice' and as such it suffers in comparison to such a brilliant piece of television.
However seeing the animated series crew have a chance to make an animated movie is in itself a good thing. all of the amazing animation and artwork is there along with the atmosphere of the series. It is...
Published 1 month ago by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars little known information, 17 May 2011
By 
first up, entertaining film.

secondly i don't normally write reviews but i feel compelled to spread some recently found info. somebody told me all warner bros dc dvds although advertised as region 1 are actually region free. sceptically i bought subzero and lo and behold, it works fine on the 4 region 2 dvd players i've tried it on.

I also have found that justice league new frontier, all star superman, justice league crisis on 2 earths and batman under the red hood region 1's also play.

so i encourage everybody to spread this info as we region 2 lot are treated very shabbily by warner bros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FREEZE!, 6 Aug 2006
By 
A. Robinson "LONG LIVE THE JOKER" (Leeds,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good movie mainly because with all cartoons that involve Mr Freeze are all well written if you don't believe me then just watch Heart Of Ice or Cold Comfort then you will understand.Subzero has a very good story and has a dramatic ending so if you want to see a very good movie then buy this baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats George Clooney!, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman & Mr Freeze: Subzero [DVD] [1997] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
My young son and I love watching these animated Batman movies. This one is another gem. While Joel Schumacher and co were camping it up with the pretty awful 'Batman and Robin', the makers of the animated series were taking things a bit more seriously with a far better storyline and performances.
The basic premise is that Mr Freeze is living a relatively peaceful existence in the Arctic with his crygenically frozen wife and an adopted son until a US submarine accidentally breaks through Freeze's ice cave and destroys the tank keeping his wife alive. Naturally, Freeze isn't best pleased, so he suits up and heads south to try and find a suitable organ donor for his wife, who now needs a pretty urgent transplant in order to live. Awkwardly, the only compatible donor is Commissioner Gordon's daughter, Barbara (Batgirl), who even more awkwardly is dating Dick Grayson (Robin).
With the help of a down on his luck surgeon and a couple of nasty polar bears, Freeze kidnaps Barbara with the view to performing a transplant that will probably kill her in the process.
Naturally, Batman and Robin have to track down Freeze, stop him and save Barbara.
It's a pretty grim storyline, but the action comes thick and fast and Mr Freeze actually makes for a sympathetic villain who comes good in the end.
The animation, as expected is excellent, and so are the voice artists, who add real depth to the characters. The only complaint is that at 65 minutes or so, it's a tad short.
In hindsight, it really is a shame that the people responsible for 'Batman, the animated series' weren't involved in the Joel Schumacher movies. These animated films stick to the character, tone and mood of what Batman should be and are thoroughly entertaining. 'Batman and Mr Freeze: Subzero' came out the same year as 'Batman and Robin' and the fact that the animated film is so much superior to Schumacher's big budget effort is more than a little embarrassing and provides a pretty good explanation as to why Warner Bros shelved the movies until Christopher Nolan's 'Batman Begins', but kept on knocking out the animated films, albeit straight to video.
The beauty with these movies is that both adults and children can enjoy them. I think they're great, and this one is another belter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Batman: Sub zero review, 6 April 2011
This review is from: Batman & Mr Freeze: Subzero [DVD] [1997] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Well first of all while a general fan of this era of Batman series and movies i have to say that this (in my own opinion) is possibly the weakest of the three movies. Now my reasons are prety simple realy, while it is set in the first season style of the batman the animated series (with the original robin) and could possibly be counted as a possible continuity it lacks the kind of impact the series itself gives off. Now while it has Mr.Freeze as the main protagonist of the film, the story itself is slightly pointless in that it apears to be nothing more than a slighly different telling of 'heart of ice', and as for Mr.Freeze well he kinda lacks his usual umphh. Barbra Gordon however does make an impact as one of the main charecters and in her original Batgirl costume to, for all three minutes of it. The special features are also slighlty lacking, while there is a list of cast and crew (voice actors) and a video showing the production art as well as a quick get the picture: Batman feature theres nothing realy that entertaining about them. Theres also a hunt for Mr.Freeze interactive game, but again it seems to be lacking in te most part. Now onto what i actualy rate good about this DVD, while the story line itself isnt very strong, the film can in fact be quite entertaining. The film also expands upon the relationship between Barbra and Dick Grayson and gives the audience a better idea of the charecters themselves. The charecter of Mr.Freeze is also expanded upon which is actualy rare especialy after 'heart of ice', this is of course is quite nice for the fans of his. As well as this there is a rariety in graphics as the designers have clearly tried to impliment 3D graphics into some of the scenes, it's actualy prety nice and sort of nostalgic to see it in action for those of us who were around at the time. Lastly it's a must buy for those of you Batman collectors as well as fans of the animated series and despite all my critisms i do real enjoy watching the film, especialy with my little cousins who are complete Batman fanatics. As well as this it is great to hear all our favourite voice actors return in their classic roles, and while the story lines not great they still make it work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars solid adventure, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman & Mr Freeze: Subzero [DVD] [1997] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is basically an extended retelling of the animated series episode 'heart of ice' and as such it suffers in comparison to such a brilliant piece of television.
However seeing the animated series crew have a chance to make an animated movie is in itself a good thing. all of the amazing animation and artwork is there along with the atmosphere of the series. It is just a pity that the story is not quite as good as it could be.
All of the voice acting is again excellent with Kevin Conroy again providing the best Batman voice i have heard for the charactor, and Mr Freeze is given enough moments of pathos to make him a truly tragic figure.
The action is as ever flawless with a fluidity and impact that is often missing from animated features.
All in all i would recommend this to a serious fan of the batman, but it is not a patch on the original series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great animation, good action, plot could be better, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
All hardocre Batman fans should enjoy this. There's very little violence and no bad language so it's suitable for readers of all ages really! Not quite as dark or atmospheric as my favourite Mask of the Phantasm but still very involving! The mixing of hand drawing with CGI is a nice touch and the scene where Dick Grayson chases Mr Freeze on a motorbike is really really cool! The movie focuses mainly on Mr Freezes character who isn't really my favourite villain so I'm slightly biased, still his portrayal is consistent with the comic books unlike in that awful Batman and Robin shitepile! A bit more footage of Barbra Gordon as Batgirl would've been nice but I'm just picking at straws!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ...this is the real Freeze., 22 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This cartoon is like a breath of fresh air after the way the Batman and Robin film portrayed Mr.Freeze. This film shows how Mr.Freeze should be shown, not as a complete madman, but a human so focused on his beloved wifes condition, that he would do anything to help her.
Although not as good as the first animated Batman film, it still tells a good, if a little sad, story of a man in pain. Once again, the animation is first class, but not as rich as say a Disney film, and the music captures the mood well. Batman is again portrayed with class, unlike the last two Batman feature films, and Robin even shows up too.
On the whole, a little too short for my liking, but a must for any Batman fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever classic, 14 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything taken straight out of the animated series including the excellent voice acting, all stories of Mr Freeze are great as he is not a deep down evil villain and that makes his stories interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Batman & Mr Freeze: Subzero [DVD] [1997] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
First region 1 movie I have ordered from USA, impressed by how quickly it arrived. Well packaged and good value for a good movie, a must for fans of the animated series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Decent Followup to Mask of the Phantasm, 13 Nov 2013
This review is from: Batman & Mr Freeze: Subzero [DVD] [1997] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
In an effort to save his dying wife, Nora, Victor Fries (aka Mr. Freeze) kidnaps Barbara Gordon, Commissioner Gordon's daughter because his wife needs an organ transplant and Barbara possesses the same rare blood type as his ailing wife. Batman and Robin are quickly hot on his tail and soon it's a game of cat and mouse between the Dynamic Duo and Mr. Freeze as our heroes seek to find Barbara before it's too late and she falls victim to Mr. Freeze's evil plan.

After the amazing thrill that was Batman: Mask of the Phantasm, and when I heard they were making another Batman animated movie, I was pumped. Mask of the Phantasm was insanely good and since SubZero was to be done in the same style by the same people, my expectations were high. While not as good as Phantasm, SubZero is still a solid flick. What makes it cool is it's a team-up movie because Batman's joined by Robin, something Phantasm didn't have. You also get to briefly see Batgirl in costume in this one as well.

Mr. Freeze is a tricky bad guy because while powerful, you take away his freeze gun and he's got nothing and it's easy to turn him into a one-trick-pony that way and diminish the complicated character that he is. Not in SubZero. You get to see Mr. Freeze for who he is under that armor and, well, he's just a heartbroken guy who's doing what he believes is the right thing. So distraught over his wife's fatal illness but brilliant enough to figure out a cure, he's willing to stop at nothing to save the woman he loves, even if that means killing an innocent person in the process. For those who have gone through immense heartbreak, you know how easy it is for unclear thinking to reign and how nothing but emotion takes over.

This flick also showed how Batman and Robin feed off each other and work together, and not in that "Way to go, chum" way that was the staple of the 1960s Batman series. You see two professional crime fighters playing off each other's strengths, giving each other ideas, each keeping the other encouraged and balanced as they fight the good fight.

There was also some 3D animation in this movie, back when 3D was a new thing. While the 3D parts didn't blend against the 2D as seamlessly as they do nowadays, it did add a "wow" factor to the flick--for its time--and kept Batman on the cutting edge of animation.

I'm really pleased with this movie and it gets better with each viewing, and with an ending that is both sad but satisfying, Batman and Mr. Freeze: SubZero is a Bat-movie that should be part of any Bat-fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews