Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House of Tudor and House of Stuart.
The history of the Tudor monarchs has to be my favourite period of English history and I managed to miss this David Starkey series when it was first shown on Channel 4 in the UK. I couldn't wait to buy it on DVD.

Well, I wasn't disappointed, it was extremely detailed and Mr Starkey is very well educated on the subject. I watched the whole series in one sitting...
Published on 17 Mar 2009 by Martin Belcher

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well presented but heavily biased in places.
Let me preface this by saying that I do like David Starkey and I find his programmes informative and entertaining. He has a way of summarising history that cuts through the tedium and just gives you the important events. That being said - every historian has their bias and David Starkey is no exception.

I didn't know a great deal about some of the early Tudor...
Published on 13 Jun 2009 by Barbie Bino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House of Tudor and House of Stuart., 17 Mar 2009
By 
Martin Belcher (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
The history of the Tudor monarchs has to be my favourite period of English history and I managed to miss this David Starkey series when it was first shown on Channel 4 in the UK. I couldn't wait to buy it on DVD.

Well, I wasn't disappointed, it was extremely detailed and Mr Starkey is very well educated on the subject. I watched the whole series in one sitting and to be quite honest its fuelled my desire to read even more about the Tudor dynasty.

The series begins with the Wars of the Roses and the death of Richard III and the beginning of the House of Tudor with King Henry VII then follows the legendary King Henry VIII and his six wives, Edward VI, Lady Jane Grey, Mary I, Elizabeth I. (House of Stuart) James I, Charles I, The English Civil War and Oliver Cromwell and then the Restoration and Charles II.

A fantastic period of English history that Mr Starkey brings to life on screen. Definitely recommended. I only wish we would have had access to documentarys like this when I was at school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robust history at its best, 18 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
David Starkey's views may not appeal to everyone, but he is certainly entertaining. ALL historians have a bias of some sort - Antonia Fraser comes to mind - and Simon Schama is another. Both Starkey and Schama are both entertaining in their own way, but I particularly enjoy Starkey's view of Tudor history. In the present series of Monarchy, a certain antipathy towards France comes through, although culturally England and France were poles apart in the 17th century despite Charles II's familial link to Louis XIV. Benevolent despotism has never been tolerated in England, although dictatorship is quite another thing !

Starkey is highly watchable and his programmes, above all, entertain. I hope further programmes are as entertaining as the current one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the wars of the roses to the civil war, 15 Mar 2007
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
This second season of Monarchy by the historian David Starkey continues to detail the history of the kings and queens of England with the majority of this season detailing the Tudor dynasty but also dealing with those monarchs who came immediately before and after them. The series is very well put together and David Starkey is a great presenter, both interesting and informative. If the series has a flaw, it is that it tries to cover so much that it inevitably leaves the odd thing out here and there but when this does happen it is usually only things that most people would know already so does not distract from an otherwise brilliant program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It has subtitles!, 9 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
Just want everyone to know that this dvd has english subtitles. I do not understand why Amazon doesn't inform this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 30 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
As we continue the intriguing ride into English history this Series 2 takes us from Henry VIII to Oliver Cromwell and ends with the
Restoration and accession of Charles II.
A window into history that is both educational and exciting, Starkey focuses mainly on Henry VIII's break with Rome and creation of the Anglican Church, his reasons for doing this having first to do with the Pope's refusal to grant him a divorce from Catherine of Aragon and later he discovered it suited his own political purposes and drive for absolute power over England.
He takes us through portraits of most of Henry's top advisor at the time, the men who shaped policy and events, under Henry, such as Thomas More, Cardinal Wolsey, Thomas Cromwell and Thomas Cranmer.
No one is as good as Starkey at bringing English history to the viewer, and Starkey aptly describes Anne Boleyn as 'sexy rather than beautiful', which is certainly the case from her portraits and the descriptions of her.
He describes the religious conflicts which shaped the period under discussion, and the efforts of Elizabeth I to shape a middle ground between the Roman Catholics and extreme Protestants, after the volatile times of Edward VI and Mary I, the execution of Jane Grey and Mary's religious persecutions of Protestants and mass burnings.

He explains the differences between the cunning James I, and the gunpowder plot, and his arrogant son, Charles I who believed in the divine right of kings, absolutely. leading to his forcing of the closure of parliament , and the civil war. which is covered with the aid of maps, landscape footage and re-creations of battle scenes.

The section on Oliver Cromwell leaves us in no doubt that Cromwell as Lord Protector was dictator as absolute in the exercise of his power as any king, and his suppression of Scotland (but oddly leaves out Cromwell's genocide in Ireland). Starkey illustrates how even Cromwell's funeral and burial were royal in scope and grandeur.
The English had executed a king only to discover they could not live without one, and the rule of Cromwell's weak son, Richard as lord protector was short lived.
Through the efforts of General Moncke and the reinstated parliament, the monarchy was restored among much fanfare. As end Series 2
Starkey is a genius in his knowledge of his work, as well as able to present it in a way that is enthralling to the viewer. Lots of shots of churches, palaces, manors and the British countryside provide a feeling for the period covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
Exellent narrating by David Starkey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History of the Monarchy made clear, 26 July 2013
By 
P. Soe Wynn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
David Starkey presents the complicated history of Monarchy in Britain in a clear and concise way; unravelling the intrugues and machinations which had gone on and the complications of succession to the throne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monarchy series 2, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
I have a really love for David Starkey, I enjoy all of his history programs and his books. I love this series the most out of all of the monarchy ones. I got it as a present to myself and it arrived on time, and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
watehed on tv weanted to watch again if you are interested in the royal family like i am i thibk you would enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Monarchy Series 2, 18 Mar 2013
This review is from: David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD) (DVD)
Very interesting. David brings his love of history to life with this colourful dvd and interesting facts. Great for those who love history. Really enjoyed watching this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Starkey's Monarchy - Series 2 (DVD)
5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews