Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bolton Boys On Tour
Anyone who is a fan of Phoenix Nights, That Peter Kay Thing or Peter Kays Stand-Ups (except Live@Manchester which is basically a repeat of Live@Bolton Albert Halls) will want this in their collection.
For those of you who haven't seen the series on C4 it is the two bouncers Paddy and Max (P.Nights) away on adventures in Max's motorhome. For those of you who...
Published on 19 Jan 2006 by Stephen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a different class to Phoenix nights
If you liked Phoenix nights, a great comedy of our times - then don't assume that this is for you. Focusing a series on what were 2 of the weaker characters from Phoenix nights was always going to be difficult. The Jokes start well but soon become dull. A disappointment compared to the show which spawned it
Published on 5 Dec 2012 by Blue Forever


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bolton Boys On Tour, 19 Jan 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who is a fan of Phoenix Nights, That Peter Kay Thing or Peter Kays Stand-Ups (except Live@Manchester which is basically a repeat of Live@Bolton Albert Halls) will want this in their collection.
For those of you who haven't seen the series on C4 it is the two bouncers Paddy and Max (P.Nights) away on adventures in Max's motorhome. For those of you who have seen P.Nights then they need no introduction)
The DVD is packed full of outtakes and deleted scenes and the episodes themselves will have you laughing throughout. I put it on and watched them all in a one'er - DING DANG DO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 24 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
For me Peter Kay is one of the the best comedians of our times and also the most underated in a sad politically correct world that seems to prefer po faced bbc three robot comedy, to the pure hilarity in this DVD.

I don't think I have laughed so hard in all my life! Theres so many funny quips that every other line could be a classic! Kay and Paddy play likeable but error prone doormen on a madcap journey living in their motor home around the UK. On their way they meet a Cliff Richard impersonater, a crazy old farmer and a gun wielding psycho to name a few. Anyone that owns a soul cannot help but find this series funny. 'Magnet and Steel'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Dure you!!!, 15 Feb 2006
By 
Mrs J Knight (Chorley ( where the listerner comes first)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic, watched this series religiously on C4 and bought the DVD as soon as it came out.........watched them all again and laughed so hard i wet myself ( literally). As other people have said this is ful of little "in" jokes and asides such as "whose that ringing at this time" Peter Kay is a comic genius and Paddy McGuiness the perfect foil for him. PK please please please do another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ding Dang Doo, 23 Dec 2005
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Since I began watching Peter Kay back a while ago, he suddenly became more and more popular by the day. Apart from Phoenix Nights (which I've still yet to watch) and his two live shows, he has revived the career (for better or worse: delete as appropriate) of Tony Christie. This dvd just adds more to his comic genius.
It has to be mentioned if you don't like Kay's sense of humour then this is definately not for you. But for those that do, then be prepared for six episodes of delightfully, light-hearted, rib-ticklers. Kay's portrayal of Max is wonderful and creates another catchphrase for Britain ('How Dare You?!') whilst McGuinness plays a more adult-loving, party going character in Paddy.
Throughout the series they go on these adventures with encounters with the police, old friends, a pig and 'a kind of midget' ('ain't that a Queen song?'). What I said there doesn't really do it justice as this has to be seen to be believed. I have to say my favourite bit is when Max and Paddy dance to 'Rock the Boat' as sailors (any song that Peter Kay uses becomes very memorable especially the theme tune).
Once again, Peter Kay has done another a classic, its just a wonder when he will be able to stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a different class to Phoenix nights, 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
If you liked Phoenix nights, a great comedy of our times - then don't assume that this is for you. Focusing a series on what were 2 of the weaker characters from Phoenix nights was always going to be difficult. The Jokes start well but soon become dull. A disappointment compared to the show which spawned it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how dure yo, fabulous, love it, love it!!, 31 Mar 2008
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Like Phoenix Nights this is fabulous, so funny, especially the p*ss take of dirty dancing, the pig in their camper van and when Paddy complains about having to eat Big Bob's b*starding beans!! Apart from the fact that Paddy (Patrick McGuinness is absolutely gorgeous, he will dink dank do for me!!). They are a fabulous partnership and when they are dressed in the officer's and sailor's uniform doing their dance routine is just fantastic, and when they knock the cow down and you see it fly through the air. If you love Phoenix Nights this is just as good. Please Peter and Patrick make another series!!!!!. 5 stars. A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a real shame that there was no series two..., 28 Jun 2009
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say about it? It has Peter Kay, nuff said.

But seriously, this is a good DVD to while away hours, its quite funny to watch the antics of Max (played by Peter Kay) and Paddy (played by Patrick McGuinness) over and over. It was a real shame that they did not produce a series two, I'm sure that would have gone down a treat instead of wasting time creating that god-awful work out DVD. Other than that, it was excellent.

It was a little lackluster when you compare it to Pheonix Nights, but it is excellent on it's own. A good buy, and certainly well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This will Dink Dank Doo for me, 26 Oct 2006
By 
Aaron Elder "Airs" (Beast of the North East) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
This series follows Phoenix nights bouncers Max and Paddy in there spin off on the road to nowhere. first the boys visit the countryside and rock the boat (baby) but then get a bit lost and find themselves in Middlewood (thats the middle of a wood) were we learn about Magnet and Steel and also Maxs past!!! eventually the boys make there way to the capital of Thatchers Britain (London) were Maxs past finally catches up with him... A trip to prison and a few nights with Cliff Richard as well as Raymond (the bas**rd) soon sort the boys out and the Phoenix two are freed. somehow a pig climbs its way into the campervan and forces Max to wear his driving goggles (have you pumped?). But the bolton two are not safe yet they still have Billys charm to deal with.... (watch and see how it ends, no comedy collection is complete without it)

This review was brought to you by 'CHORLEY FM' were the listener comes first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TOUR OVER, 13 Jan 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
Max and paddy is proof that a spin off series can actually be good,there have been very few over the years,so few,that i can barely think of one,well,one anyway,and its this one,a spin of from the great phoenix nights and it is very funny indeed while maintaining a simplicity that is very infectious.
The idea is simple,max and paddy in their camper van drive around getting into all sorts of mischief and the fun is evident,great catchphrases and scenes help make this very worthwhile indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] (DVD)
good copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD]
Max And Paddy's Road To Nowhere [DVD] by Peter Kay (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £9.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews