Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Maligned
Yes, there are virtually no characters from the original series of Teachers in this one . . . but in a way, that makes it something new and fresh. Ewan's one of this highlights of this season, although sometimes you just want someone to smack him good and hard (actually, that does happen a few times), but Ben and Damien are interesting characters too. Because these are...
Published on 28 Dec 2006 by Mr. A. D. H. Lowe

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but ammusing
The problem with this season is Bob. For four seasons we've seen this rather pathetic character but he's always been balanced out by the childish yet energetic nature of the other characters, but as many have said the characters in this season mostly come off as sad.
Its rather unfair to say the new characters are poor, theres simply not the energy that carried the...
Published on 27 Mar 2006 by Alex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but ammusing, 27 Mar 2006
By 
Alex "CB8687" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
The problem with this season is Bob. For four seasons we've seen this rather pathetic character but he's always been balanced out by the childish yet energetic nature of the other characters, but as many have said the characters in this season mostly come off as sad.
Its rather unfair to say the new characters are poor, theres simply not the energy that carried the first three seasons on, largely due to absence of kurt and brian. Still if you're a fan of the first three theres no real reason to avoid this boxset, especially not at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much Maligned, 28 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, there are virtually no characters from the original series of Teachers in this one . . . but in a way, that makes it something new and fresh. Ewan's one of this highlights of this season, although sometimes you just want someone to smack him good and hard (actually, that does happen a few times), but Ben and Damien are interesting characters too. Because these are mostly new characters, it means the jokes don't get old. Liz, Carol and Clare are brilliant as ever, and Bob's quite a sad creature (although still marvellously funny)--but many people miss Simon, Kurt and Brian. Well, I do too, but I actually thought the men in the earlier series were a bit boring (although fit). In Series 4 the comedy is perhaps a little more slapstick, but it's a lot more comedic than previous series (which came across as funny drama rather than comedy).

I would say it's the difference between This Life and Red Dwarf. Earlier series were slanted more in favour of the drama, whilst this series is slanted more in favour of the comedy. It is, for all intents and purposes, a sit com now. People disliked this change of format. But if it had just been the same old, same old, people would soon have complained!

True, Series 4 is an entirely different entity: but it's good in its own right. Watch this as a spinoff or standalone series and you won't get all uppity :P

Ah well, just my two cents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the bad reviews., 28 Sep 2009
By 
Gemma Riley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I felt I had to write a review defending this series because of all the people slamming it. Whenever you get a good show there's always people who feel the need to say it's stopped being good after a few series whether it has or it hasn't. Personally I don't think it has. Some of the storylines are pretty unbelievable - Bob getting a Thai bride, Ben thinking he will die on Friday at 12.00 etc but so what? It's still funny. The new characters in this series are well written and have many angles to their personalities just like all the others and the joining of the two schools give the series a new spin and stop it being repetitive. I'm pretty sure all of Teachers is on 4OD anyway so why not watch it first and then decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A step too far, 12 Jan 2006
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Where as Series 3 of teachers showed the series could take the loss of Simon,Susan Jenny, the loss of Kurt & Brian not to mention the original school took too many any links with the first series and doomed this to failure
The show was forced to become dependant on Bob, his slapstick toupe and tired stereotype Thai bride. The lack of explanation as to the death of Kurt, Brian and Matt (who was just beginning to find his feet in series 3) showed a lack of thought. Had they upset the creators of the show perhaps? The cemetry scene in the first episode hints at a degree of bitterness.
Gone was the cool drama and clever laughs to be replaced by cheap and easy humour. If this had been series 1 nobody would remember Teachers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Teachers Series Four, 16 Oct 2005
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Series 4 was a bit of a disappointment, but that was expected, since Brian and Kurt are no longer there. Fortunately, the series still has its cast of strong supporting characters (Clare, Bob, Liz, etc.). However, the new additions do not make up for the loss of the old team. Apart from Ben, the neurotic and hypochondriac world religion teacher, they don't really fit in. Ewan, a sort of replacement for Simon and Matt, is too normal and nice to be an interesting character, and Damien's character isn't developed enough for the viewer to take an interest in him.
Despite a few weak characters and some strange twists to the overall story (is there an overall story?), series 4 does have a few good episodes, especially the Christmas Special, where Clare takes on a stronger role.
If you are a fan of Teachers, you should probably watch the final series just for some sort of closure. You'll have a few laughs, and it will make you want to watch series 1-3 again to see how good it was and how good it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Rubbish, 1 Dec 2005
By 
C. A. Brown (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I am a great fan of teachers and even bought the first three series , but the fourth series fails to deliver on every count. Most of the main characters are gone and the new ones have very little depth to them and even the acting is poor.
It really does look like the end of the road for what has been a great programme.
If you like teachers, then buy the other series - avoid this one, it really is a massive disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy Series 1 & 2, 24 Oct 2008
By 
J. Watkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Series 3 & 4 lost the character chemistry & interactions of series 1 & 2. The loss of main characters along the way was a recipe for disaster. The comedic element just didn't work without Simon, Susan, Kurt & Brian. I bit the bullet & struggled my way through series 3 & was disapointed. I tried to watch series 4, but gave up only an episode or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear... what went wrong?, 23 May 2014
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the first three series of Teachers. As they evolved from a light-hearted drama set in a school, through to the somewhat Pythonesque moments of Series 3 with the introduction of the dinner ladies and the comic cutaways, the cast delivered a set of sympathetic and occasionally obnoxious characters who really brought the otherwise mundane plots to life.

Then Series 4 came along. The joke had been stretched as thin as it could be, so the best characters all quit, and we were left with the B-list and a fresh set of Z-list characters who are some of the least interesting or loveable inventions ever to hit our screens. The only reason I watched beyond the first episode was because I felt duty bound having paid for it.

Buy series 1-3, watch them and then forget this series ever existed. It'll burst the bubble for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Had to struggle to watch to the end, 4 May 2014
Only watched because I had watched the other 3 Series, nothing much of the original Teachers was left apart from the odd character who had evolved from the background and yet again characters leave with no explanation, opening sequence we see Matt Kurt and Brians graves but that's it. New school,new teachers have joined whats left of series 3. So glad they binned the idea of a 5th series however I have heard theres an American version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Cheap, does exactly what its supposed to, quick delivery, no problem at all. Exactly what I wanted for the price I wanted to pay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD]
Teachers: Series 4 (Box Set) [DVD] by Tamzin Malleson (DVD - 2005)
8.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews