Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An accurate reflection on the films..
Let's first dispell a myth..

Please, do not read anything into the animal rights activists scaring people into not buying this film. 'Clyde' or 'Clyde 2' which was involved in the 'Any which way you can' film, died from a cerebral hemorrhage, which had nothing to do with the treatment of the orangutans well-being. It was properly cared for and treated well...
Published on 10 Dec. 2009 by R. Wilson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not aged well,but still fun
i looked forward to watching this as i have fond memories of this era,but found it had not aged well-unlike the dirty harry movies which as exciting as ever ! still good though-clint plays himself as usual !
Published 14 months ago by Mr. J. Fowler


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An accurate reflection on the films.., 10 Dec. 2009
By 
R. Wilson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
Let's first dispell a myth..

Please, do not read anything into the animal rights activists scaring people into not buying this film. 'Clyde' or 'Clyde 2' which was involved in the 'Any which way you can' film, died from a cerebral hemorrhage, which had nothing to do with the treatment of the orangutans well-being. It was properly cared for and treated well all of its life. As was the first 'Clyde' an orangutan called Manis, who lived to an old age.

As for both films.. Clint Eastwood just instinctively knows when something is right to do. Despite being told not to make the original film, he made it anyway and it was a hit. The public love Clint Eastwood and they also like the movies despite the negative press around the films at that time.

Clyde is the great comedy sidekick and bit of an unknown quantity, if you watch the films for the first time, you never knew what you were going to get. There's lots of funny moments and it's a comedy at heart. However, it still retains the macho theme, with Clint playing a bare-knuckles fighter to bring in some extra cash when he's not carrying car engines around the backyard.

The highs and lows of relationships between Eastwood and Locke go full circle in both films. There's lots of tongue-in-cheek humour and mild swearing by todays standards, however, don't buy this for kids under 15 years and then complain about all the blood - the certificate is there for a reason, and this is why it's still rated at 15.

The country music sets the tone for the film and is very much in-line with Eastwoods style of film-making and the characters and the locations. The 'Black Widows' make the film even more entertaining and the soundtrack is well-written as you know when they are going to make an appearance as they have their own little theme - akin to a 50s style slow rock n roll 'Happy Days' type number..

It's a shame it ended with just two films, I think even back then everyone would have loved to have seen a third to make a nice trilogy, but alas, Clint was becoming even more popular than he already was and went onto a vast number of other projects..

Buy it, enjoy it.. forget the small continuity errors and it's age.. appreciate what these two films did at the time and again the flawless acting by Eastwood.

The only thing I would have liked is to see a Special Edition of these films, in full widescreen and 5.1 sound, with proper bonus features and documentaries on the making of the films. Hopefully it will happen one day..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Turn Clyde!, 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
I have both movies on Ye Olde VHS videos both watched so many times since the early eighties that have worn out, so I am over the moon with this DVD release!
The films are classics combining humour and action, the 'star' in this film is hard to judge as Clint, (Philo Bedoe) Ma, Clyde (the lovely Ape) or the fabulous hells angel gang - the black widows are all brilliant!
In my opinion the sequel is the better film (but only just) I would recomend this film for anyone with a love for humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars left turn clyde, 25 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great pair of movie s,in the first clyde and the family looking after him ,the eldest son fistfights to gain extra money with the younger son running a car van to help road stuck drivers,while the mother is still trying to get her licence.
in the second film the eldest brother finds the girl of his dreams a scammer and after his brother gets a girl he is mre determined to find the scammer,and to get clyde the urangutan laid by a female in a zoo,and fistfights the best ,all while a motorbike gang search for them for revenge only to lose out each time. a great pair of films.
swearing,violance for those new age soft parents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, 6 April 2014
By 
Chris Willoughby (Pontefract, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb product, brilliant picture quality, Excellent sound quality, very speedy delivery. Would highly recommend this product to anyone who likes this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clint Aping it with an Ape., 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Right turn Clyde" was a catch-phrase for a long time after this film and always brought a smile to my face. Clint is a fist fighter and looking to retire and, with his 'agent', bets on himself to get the money to do this. Then along comes Sondra and scams him for his money (how close to life can you get) and he has to carry on. The sequel continues where the other finishes. Good one liners and fight scenes and some memorable performances form the 'Black Widows' ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value region free, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Single case containing each film on a separate disc, region free and good transfers/image in my opinion compared to previous DVD presentations. For the price including delivery it represents good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this film was brilliant & considering his co partner come life wife took ..., 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this film was brilliant & considering his co partner come life wife took him for a lot of money, her part in the film was like a reality show piece. Both films were funny U& to me, I felt the real stars in the film were Clyde the ape & not forgetting those originals, Hairy bikers themselves, the Black Widows!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rigyt Turn Clyde!, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can You say about this film collection? It is one of the funniest ones that i have seen in a long time! I know I saw it several long years ago,bit it still makes me laugh! Clyde has no respect for the law! His way of showing that has no equal!
If You need a good laugh,get this collection-You will love it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Right turn Clyde!".................., 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant Eastwood double box set.These are the movies that Clint Eastwood fans adore and even the non fan.These both have Clint playing Philo Beddoe a bare fisted fighter.Basically both are road movies.The now famous orangotang is the star of the movies,crappin in squad cars and giving people the finger.Clint has one brawl after another in both movies."Right turn Clyde!"became a phrase everyone used at the time and on watching youll see why?Ruth Gordon,plays"Ma"a real cantankerous and crackin performance to be had here as well as Clints friend in real life playing his friend here,in the form of Geoffrey Lewis.Lots of brawls,lots of comedy and some real great country music with even Glen Campbell and Phil Everly making appearances too,MUST SEE MOVIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 1 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
Great films, even better with a beer. Box art on the front was not the same as in the photo though, so be warned! The one I got, was just photo's of Clint and Clyde on the front. Bit lame, but hey, the films look great here on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD]
£6.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews