Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Turn Clyde!
I have both movies on Ye Olde VHS videos both watched so many times since the early eighties that have worn out, so I am over the moon with this DVD release!
The films are classics combining humour and action, the 'star' in this film is hard to judge as Clint, (Philo Bedoe) Ma, Clyde (the lovely Ape) or the fabulous hells angel gang - the black widows are...
Published on 18 Jan 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not aged well,but still fun
i looked forward to watching this as i have fond memories of this era,but found it had not aged well-unlike the dirty harry movies which as exciting as ever ! still good though-clint plays himself as usual !
Published 3 months ago by Mr. J. Fowler


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right Turn Clyde!, 18 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
I have both movies on Ye Olde VHS videos both watched so many times since the early eighties that have worn out, so I am over the moon with this DVD release!
The films are classics combining humour and action, the 'star' in this film is hard to judge as Clint, (Philo Bedoe) Ma, Clyde (the lovely Ape) or the fabulous hells angel gang - the black widows are all brilliant!
In my opinion the sequel is the better film (but only just) I would recomend this film for anyone with a love for humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An accurate reflection on the films.., 10 Dec 2009
By 
R. Wilson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
Let's first dispell a myth..

Please, do not read anything into the animal rights activists scaring people into not buying this film. 'Clyde' or 'Clyde 2' which was involved in the 'Any which way you can' film, died from a cerebral hemorrhage, which had nothing to do with the treatment of the orangutans well-being. It was properly cared for and treated well all of its life. As was the first 'Clyde' an orangutan called Manis, who lived to an old age.

As for both films.. Clint Eastwood just instinctively knows when something is right to do. Despite being told not to make the original film, he made it anyway and it was a hit. The public love Clint Eastwood and they also like the movies despite the negative press around the films at that time.

Clyde is the great comedy sidekick and bit of an unknown quantity, if you watch the films for the first time, you never knew what you were going to get. There's lots of funny moments and it's a comedy at heart. However, it still retains the macho theme, with Clint playing a bare-knuckles fighter to bring in some extra cash when he's not carrying car engines around the backyard.

The highs and lows of relationships between Eastwood and Locke go full circle in both films. There's lots of tongue-in-cheek humour and mild swearing by todays standards, however, don't buy this for kids under 15 years and then complain about all the blood - the certificate is there for a reason, and this is why it's still rated at 15.

The country music sets the tone for the film and is very much in-line with Eastwoods style of film-making and the characters and the locations. The 'Black Widows' make the film even more entertaining and the soundtrack is well-written as you know when they are going to make an appearance as they have their own little theme - akin to a 50s style slow rock n roll 'Happy Days' type number..

It's a shame it ended with just two films, I think even back then everyone would have loved to have seen a third to make a nice trilogy, but alas, Clint was becoming even more popular than he already was and went onto a vast number of other projects..

Buy it, enjoy it.. forget the small continuity errors and it's age.. appreciate what these two films did at the time and again the flawless acting by Eastwood.

The only thing I would have liked is to see a Special Edition of these films, in full widescreen and 5.1 sound, with proper bonus features and documentaries on the making of the films. Hopefully it will happen one day..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value region free, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Single case containing each film on a separate disc, region free and good transfers/image in my opinion compared to previous DVD presentations. For the price including delivery it represents good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, 6 April 2014
By 
Chris Willoughby (Pontefract, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb product, brilliant picture quality, Excellent sound quality, very speedy delivery. Would highly recommend this product to anyone who likes this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right turn, Clyde!!!, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clint is my all time number one Movie Hero ever! And as such he can do no wrong lol. These two Movies Star Clint as the Bare -Knuckle Fighter, and Ladies Man Philo Beddoe and his crazy exploits, with best Friend Orville (Geoffrey Lewis) and Orangutan Pal Clyde. He Battles and Deals with Fighters, Crooks, the Mob, Police, Lost Love, own Mom and The Biker Gang The Black Widows!!! This is totally unique for Clint Movies, as it is nothing like any other Movie he has done! Clint is good old Clint, and Cool as a Cucumber as always, but this is a Bare-Knuckle Action Comedy which i just love!!! I never tire of these Movies, from a Kid to an Adult i still love them, totally Entertaining from start to finish. The Blu ray is a good picture and the sound also, sadly there are no special features though. Great Actor and Icon, Great Movies and worth every Penny! Clint Eastwood, your the Man!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
By 
M. Wadkin "Mike Wadkin" (South Yorkshire,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD] (DVD)
How many films are there where a primate is the star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say this film is mint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars left turn clyde, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a great pair of movie s,in the first clyde and the family looking after him ,the eldest son fistfights to gain extra money with the younger son running a car van to help road stuck drivers,while the mother is still trying to get her licence.
in the second film the eldest brother finds the girl of his dreams a scammer and after his brother gets a girl he is mre determined to find the scammer,and to get clyde the urangutan laid by a female in a zoo,and fistfights the best ,all while a motorbike gang search for them for revenge only to lose out each time. a great pair of films.
swearing,violance for those new age soft parents
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars William Smith, finally........, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this mainly because I wanted to see William Smith (the mean Falconetti from Rich Man Poor Man).
To watch William Smith and Clint Eastwood playing together is a real pleasure, cause the chemistry is right.
Not to say that the rest of the story was boring ;- )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rigyt Turn Clyde!, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can You say about this film collection? It is one of the funniest ones that i have seen in a long time! I know I saw it several long years ago,bit it still makes me laugh! Clyde has no respect for the law! His way of showing that has no equal!
If You need a good laugh,get this collection-You will love it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Every Which Way But Loose/Any Which Way You Can [DVD]
3.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews