Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars68
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2008
I wanted to write a quick review, not just to say how much I personally love Nathan Barley, but to make a note on what I read in so many other reviews of this show. Many of the lower ratings for Barley state how much different Nathan Barley is from the rest of Chris Morris's work. And that's true, but mainly because it's not trying to be. Barley isn't exactly the socio-political satire of Brass Eye or The Day Today, it's attacking a social trend that I happen to believe is still very much alive: pretentious idiots who deem what they create as genius, and worthy of greater regard.

Personally, I think the show is more similar to the work of the other writer of the show, Charlie Brooker. Fans of his show Screenwipe or his Guardian column Screen Burn should get a similar sense of misanthropy from the character of Dan Ashcroft, the disenchanted journalist surrounded by idiots.

I'd also like to note that the show itself is pretty exceptional. The characters, while almost completely non-likable, are all well played. Julian Barratt is particularly excellent, especially for fans of The Mighty Boosh who see him exclusively as Howard Moon, and Nicholas Burns is also fantastic as the titular character. The stories can be simple, but this is definitely a character driven comedy, and the jokes come thick and fast, with the heavy majority hitting home.

Put simply, don't expect Nathan Barley to be the return of Brass Eye, repackaged as a modern day sitcom, because you're more than likely going to be disappointed. The show is as much the work of Brooker as it is of Morris, and manages to create a world full of wonderful, if horrific characters, which makes this, in my opinion, a brilliant comedy series. If you're a fan of casual misanthropy, I'd advise you to buy this, but there may not be quite enough stupid jokes for fans of My Family or Two Pints.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2010
Although it's called Nathan Barley, it's really about siblings Dan and Claire Ashcroft who are two sane people in a world seemingly full of idiots. Outside of the comedy, the satire, the cynicism, the interesting thing is people spotting because, along the way you'll spot actors from The Mighty Boosh, The Fast Show, Ashes To Ashes, The IT Crowd, Alan Partridge and whoever else you care to mention.
Fun for all the family, well, unless you're under 18 and don't like the "c" word.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2011
this is unlike any comedy you're seen before, it can be dark, it can be completely ridiculous. it mocks itself and socity while still managing to be believable. there are some really great characters in here and funny acting by all of the main cast. A great movie to have in for a dvd night for girls and guys.

the only bad thing i have to say about this is the dvd menu's weird and it's hard to select the option you want, other than that - perfect!
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2006
Chris Morris advances on the agitprop satire of Brass Eye, and the ambient weirdness of Jam, with the wonderfully caustic and gleefully vicious Nathan Barley. As others have noted, 'Barley' is probably Morris's most-subtle creation yet... a seemingly conventional sitcom about life in the world of the media, with cutting edge magazine publishers, idolised DJ's, crusading digital filmmakers and techno-wiz-kids all standing in as the centre of attention, complete with their own annoying txt-speak characteristics, daft costumes, anti-establishment opinions and ever-so-trendy idiosyncrasies. However, the joke here is not what is written into the scripts (though, more often than not, this is incredible funny!!), but rather, the notion that these kind of characters - which do exist in real life - will no doubt buy into the whole joke, watching each episode eagerly before going into the office the next day to confront their friends with the usual, "hey, did you see that bit on Barley last night... wow, that's so like me!!!", etc, etc.
Morris, writing here alongside Charlie Brooker, is to television what Luke Haines is to pop music... someone who can work within the confines of an industry, gathering acclaim and a legion of devoted fans, whilst simultaneously trying to bring said industry down from the inside!! Morris and Brooker seem to have a genuine contempt for the characters that they write about, and - as with Brass Eye and The Day Today - the joke sometimes becomes so scathing and so accurate, that you actually forget that you're watching a satire (a notion continued by Morris's faux-edgy directorial style, which has swerving hand-held cameras and random zooms to, I would hope, rip the piss out of all of these trendy new TV shows that want be challenging - in a Dogme-style sense - so bad, they can practically taste it!!). Some of the media pastiches are fantastic too, like the so-chic it hurts art gallery that consisted of nothing more than pictures of celebrities urinating, or the Russian underground website, which includes pay-per-view downloadable clips of "tramp marathons" and tooth-pulling competitions, complete with armed police threatening anyone refusing to take part with assault rifles and teargas.
The madness of the show works because Morris and Brooker tend to anchor the shows to the character of Dan (The Preacher Man) Ashcroft, a cynical and fairly down-to-earth sort, who seems at odds with the backslapping and self-congratulatory cretins who populate his office. As a result, the jokes work because we can relate to Dan's anguish at being celebrated by these fools, who find humour in irreverent spreads on child molestation, have chainsaw ring tones and have a unhealthy habit of composing raps while they get it on with the opposite sex (Nathan's seduction of Claire is absolute comedy genius... "yeah, well plastic, man!!"). My favourite gag would have to be Dan unintentionally creating a new trendy hair-style when he falls asleep under the paint table. "What's it called?" asks Nathan. "Errr... Geek Pie" replies Dan. Cut to Nathan on Japanese TV promoting said hair-style without a shard or irony or good humour.
Most of the jokes work on multiple levels, often acting as an out-and-out parody of the kind of pretentious, novelty, tabloid-bating nonsense that seems to be continually spat out of these nu-media outlets (digital television, on-line publishing, underground advertising, or remnants of the shallow mid-nineties art scene, etc)... but then, there's also the integration of the characters, the disgust and contempt that Dan has for his colleagues, and the sheer genius of the word play used by these bizarre caricatures (typical Barley invitation, "you should come dollsnatch, it's gonn'a be Mexico!!"... all this and more from the man who gave us "fact me till I fart"). The cast is great, padded out with characters form The Mighty Boosh and the brilliant Garth Marenghi's Darkplace (when can we get this on DVD??), so you know the timing and delivery will be pitch perfect and the plausibility spot on.
Nathan Barley may not scale the comedic highs of Morris's more on-the-nose satires like The Day Today and Brass Eye, but it is, nonetheless, very funny, not just in the way the jokes are constructed, but in the believability and plausibility of the characterisations and the recreation of that kind of self-conscious, self-styled universe. Morris (and Brooker) should be commended for taking a risk with this serious, creating something that almost passes for a normal sitcom, but with that much loved/much needed Morris contempt always lurking, just beneath the surface.
22 comments|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 October 2006
Nathan Barley is Chris Morris's (and co) hilarious sitcom that revolves around the life of self-obsessed new-media idiots and in particular, the titular character, a shallow, narcissistic individual who has no talent except for self-promotion but believes he is at the cutting edge of 'something'.

The soul of the programme is Dan Ashcroft, a features writer for vacuous style magazine Sugar Ape. Dan thinks his colleagues are all idiots but they think he is deeply insightful; this is the essence of Dan's own personal hell: every attempt he makes to escape only further impresses the colleagues which he despises, plunging him deeper into his inescapable nightmare.

If all of this sounds rather serious, it isn't - it's hilarious. While Dan is the heart of the show, Nathan Barley provides most of the plentiful laughs. Nathan's pitiful attempts to be too-cool-for-school and his blinding lack of self-awareness are the stuff of comedy gold. The incidental characters are all superbly well played, too; a special shout-out for the always outstanding Kevin Eldon, who has a fantastic turn as a none more wierd depressed barber.

Some critics have dismissed this show as having missed the boat: "It's so 1999!" However, it is just that kind of 'I'm with it, you're not!' attitude that the sitcom is parodying. Others criticised the show by claiming that if you didn't live or work in new-media in London, then you wouldn't understand the show. This is simply not true, anymore than saying that you have to be in the mafia to appreciate The Sopranos, or work in government to understand The West Wing.

If The Office represents the gold standard for U.K. sitcoms, then Nathan Barley can certainly stand alongside on the same podium. Whereas The Office is going for an inobtrusive, observational approach to comedy, Nathan Barley is going for a heightened, stylised feel, which is appropriate to the material. In short, this is a great, fresh show that, whilst it is not cut from the same cloth as Chris Morris's superb previous efforts, The Day Today or Brass Eye, still retains a distinctive style quite apart from anything else on the fool's lantern.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2007
I love Nathan Barley, i laughed myself stupid when i first saw it. The episode with the "13 year old" model is brilliant, i couldnt believe what i was seeing. However, all of the episodes are equally very funny. Julian Barrett & Noel Fielding are fab in the Mighty Boosh, but here Barrett is much darker in charector. He thinks Nathan is total idiot but the annoying thing is everyone else thinks Nathan is kinda cool (Fielding plays a over-the-top dj). Some great ideas in this series, which makes it a total one-off in more ways then one (you will never play rock/paper/scissors in the same way again). All culminating in a final episode... which i am not going to give away. Very, very funny.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Charlie Brooker is good; combine Brooker with Chris Morris and you have something special. Nathan Barley highlights all that is wrong with the shallow, vacuous, hype-ridden nonsense that is so much of popular culture. The satire is targeted with skill and aplom, the targets well chosen and comprehensively attacked. It is, simply, genius.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
I'm a longtime Chris Morris fan, and more recently a Charlie Brooker fan - living in Portugal, I wasn't aware of his Guardian column and his TV-bashing TV shows. I entered Brooker's world via Dead Set (not because it was written by him, but because I'm a zombie fan), loved it and started looking for his previous work. Nathan Barley was the only Chris Morris work I hadn't seen, so, being created by the two geniuses, it became essential. I was not disappointed. And the truth is - Nathan Barley ends up being as much a horror epic as Dead Set. It deals with zombies - just another kind of zombie. And the frustration and anguish that Dan Ashcroft feels (an amazing performance by Might Boosh's Julian Barratt) is just as suffocating as being surrounded by the living dead and feeling you're the only sane person in the world (although responsible for the dawn of the idiots, which makes it even more tragic). A masterpiece which manages to be hilarious and deeply disturbing!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
This program is not only hilarious but also a quite clever take on modern society. With the likes TOWIE and Made In Chelsea the subject matter or the rise of the idiots has never been more apt. Julian Barrat is brilliant in it as is Dan Clark. The skeptical and pessimistic outlook on modern society is typical of Charlie Brooker. Anyone who liked How Not To Live Your Life starring Dan Clark and Black Mirror written by Charlie Brooker will I'm sure appreciate this program. Occasionally the low budget of the show shines through but to me that just adds to its charm. I've always believed that this program was a bit ahead of it's time (a cliche i know) as most people who claim to be sitcom connoisseurs that i have spoken to have never seen this. All in all worth a watch you will not be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
One of the great new modern pleasures is taking a (calculated) gamble on a CD or DVD and having it pay off. This was one such occasion for me.

Despite the hip names attached to it this show somehow got little mention on its TV release but is now finding a fanbase on DVD.

With Chris Morris now in the world of movies a second series will now never happen but this is a fine testament to how good he could be on the small screen. Add Charlie Brooker, Nicholas Holt and Julian Barrett to the mix and the result was almost inevitably funny.

Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)