Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLURAY REVIEW ,which one
This is the one to buy on Bluray.
The one with the white borders around the cover,it is a great print Taken from 35mm and it shows,
in its original ratio1.37 also original music score,
and a 1.23 Documentary as well.which is excellent.

THE OTHER BLURAY RELEASE . The print is a bit washed out in places and NO Doco.
Hope this helps.
Published on 12 Sep 2010 by Paul Scott

versus
40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware!!
AS previous posters have noted there are loads of different editions now out of Night Of the Living Dead. If you love the original version of this film and do NOT want the god-awful special editions with either the horrible 'new-score' synth soundtrack (Scott Vladimir Licina) which ruins the film. Or the mind-bendingly bad new 18 minutes of extra footage re-shot in the...
Published on 1 Oct 2005 by D. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLURAY REVIEW ,which one, 12 Sep 2010
By 
Paul Scott (CENTRAL COAST,, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the one to buy on Bluray.
The one with the white borders around the cover,it is a great print Taken from 35mm and it shows,
in its original ratio1.37 also original music score,
and a 1.23 Documentary as well.which is excellent.

THE OTHER BLURAY RELEASE . The print is a bit washed out in places and NO Doco.
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware!!, 1 Oct 2005
By 
D. Morris (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
AS previous posters have noted there are loads of different editions now out of Night Of the Living Dead. If you love the original version of this film and do NOT want the god-awful special editions with either the horrible 'new-score' synth soundtrack (Scott Vladimir Licina) which ruins the film. Or the mind-bendingly bad new 18 minutes of extra footage re-shot in the late 90's which is even worse (thanks to John Russo), then be very careful which version you buy.
I bought the ORACLE version - mistake - no new footage but DOES have the new score. If you have never seen this film before then please make sure you get hold of the original un-butchered version. The best version available is still the ELITE millenium edition (this is NOT the 'special' edition) but just remastered with cleaned up picture and sound. This is sadly still unavailable in the UK but can be bought from the US and played on multi-region DVD players. NOTLD is still, in my opinion, one of the best horror films ever made but has been messed around with by people whom know nothing about good film-making and should be fed to a mob of starved zombies.
I'm giving this edition 1 star - should be a 5 of course but its been hacked to death.
WE'RE COMING TO GET YOU SCOTT VLADIMIR LICINA AND JOHN RUSSO!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars night of the living dead - contender release, 1 Nov 2006
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This (contender) dvd release is one of the worst i have seen... it has at least 5cuts and the transfer is a poor compared to elite's millenium edition. if you want to buy this exellent clessic film, just do not by this version! i recommend Elite Entertainment - Millennium Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful release of a classic, 30 Oct 2006
This review is from: Night Of The Living Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Not only does this release have a weak transfer it's also a very heavily censored print.

It's nothing to do with the BBFC and everything to do with the awful print 'Contender' submitted to them.

At least 4 shots of flesh eating are missing from the 'barbecue' scene and the infamous 'trowel murder' has been reduced from 14 stabs to only 3 (almost the entire scene has gone).

Forget what the other reviewer says. This is one of the worst versions of the film in the UK and is a disgraceful release for a truly ground-breaking classic of the horror genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bleak, deeply chilling, grusome and atmospheric movie..., 8 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Dont be fooled by its age or the fact that its in mouldy old black and white, Night of the Living Dead hasn't lost any of its punch since its controversial release in 1968. Be prepared for chilling scenes of suspence and brutal imagery of gory violence (cannibalism etc. etc.) coupled with superb acting from a cast of relative unknowns. Its grounbreaking violence and slick, stylised and now contempory direction/camera work, make the film a timeless masterpiece that changed the face of horror for ever. Never before had this level of violence been released upon the audience and has subsiquently stayed as the centre of much modern horror. Much imitated and at the mercy of two mediocre sequels, this is the zombie thriller to watch. The one. The only. The origonal horror, shock tale from a revolutionary master of the horror genre. Thank you George A. Romero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely Misleading!, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Andrew Maden "Zombie Andy" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Dont get me wrong before i start, i am a absolute romero nut and love zombie films, night of the living dead is my favourite movie of all time, i even run a website dedicated to it, now what i dont like about this item is the way it is advertised is very, VERY misleading... for a start its one disk only IT IS NOT TWO DISK as i found out when i received mine from amazon... secondly i resent the fact its advertised as a special edition, there are absolutly no special features apart from the documentry which is available on other DVD's, if you want this movie i advise the special edition version which comes in a metal tin, it has lots of features and is well worth the price. this one, STINKS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality but at least the original film is respected, 26 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't expect quality... The image is terrible and the sound is just about OK. But at least it's the original scenes with the original musical score. This therefore remains my favourite version in Region 2 DVD.
The film is of course an absolute masterpiece which deserves 6 stars minimum (Amazon will have to create a special category for it when a decend DVD release will be out in the UK.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all-time classic available on blu-ray!, 14 May 2009
Night of the Living Dead is a classic film by one of the truly great directors of the horror genre, and this blu-ray edition does it justice with a good transfer and extra feature length documentary that is an invaluable source of information about the film at the time, it's impact and of course about Romero himself.

A must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars truly influential horror., 22 Oct 2003
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'll never forget seeing "Night Of The Living Dead" for the first time, it delivered jolts all along the line. From the eerie opening scene in the graveyard when the zombie is sighted stumbling noiselessly through the headstones, to the claustrophobic scenes in the farmhouse, to the (much-copied) documentary-style newsroom scenes, this is first-class stuff, even if it was made on a shoestring budget. I find it hard to believe that anyone could not be unnerved by some of the dialogue used in the newsroom, because, far-fetched as the whole premise is, they make it seem so real! The remake in the early 1990s wasn't as bad as some would have you believe, but it simply lacked the full horror factor of the black-and-white low-budget original, and was nowhere near as good as "Dawn Of The Dead".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They're coming to get you barbera!, 18 July 2002
By 
Mrs Susan M Gilbert (Bridgnorth, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Night of the living dead is a twisted look at the world that we live in. The zombie effects are excellent for the time period, and the colourization technique just gives it an eerier feel.
Day of the dead has five stars. It is another modern look at society, portraying zombies as being barely controlled. The apocalyptic ending will make you think. What can i say about the effects! They are the best zombie effects I have ever seen, aside from the end in which they get quite surreal. Great value for money, two excellent zombie classics, the latter being the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Of The Living Dead [DVD]
Night Of The Living Dead [DVD] by George A. Romero (DVD - 2005)
£2.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews