Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the cream but good enough!
After reading one particuar review of this dvd you could be forgiven for thinking you're better off not buying this, however think again.
Alan Partridge is superb throughtout and the majority of the material, whether seen before or not, is excellent from most of the comdedians on here.
The dvd hits the right notes for most of it's duration and there...
Published on 27 Dec 2005 by Steve Hills

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 78% Recycled Material
This rather strange DVD is a live recording of a charity gig held in March 2004, and has a very amateurish feel to it. I'm a big fan of Alan Partridge (a.k.a. Steve Coogan) and Ricky Gervais, but I was hugely disappointed by this show because I've seen nearly all this material before in their other performances. Large chunks of Partridge's material were used before in his...
Published on 11 Oct 2005 by Boxdonkey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the cream but good enough!, 27 Dec 2005
By 
Steve Hills "merse-10" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Partridge Presents: The Cream Of British Comedy (Little Britain, Ricky Gervais & more) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After reading one particuar review of this dvd you could be forgiven for thinking you're better off not buying this, however think again.
Alan Partridge is superb throughtout and the majority of the material, whether seen before or not, is excellent from most of the comdedians on here.
The dvd hits the right notes for most of it's duration and there are plenty of laughs to have with each performer on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 78% Recycled Material, 11 Oct 2005
This review is from: Alan Partridge Presents: The Cream Of British Comedy (Little Britain, Ricky Gervais & more) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This rather strange DVD is a live recording of a charity gig held in March 2004, and has a very amateurish feel to it. I'm a big fan of Alan Partridge (a.k.a. Steve Coogan) and Ricky Gervais, but I was hugely disappointed by this show because I've seen nearly all this material before in their other performances. Large chunks of Partridge's material were used before in his 1998 live stand-up DVD, and Ricky Gervais's entire routine was featured in his last DVD (Politics) and in the snippets he recorded for Comic Relief on BBC1. Alan Partridge hosts the whole evening, although he reads much of his script from a clipboard - possibly because Coogan couldn't be bothered to learn his lines. This totally kills off his rhythm and makes the show feel slow and unspontaneous. This is NOT Partridge at his funniest. The routine between Partridge and Simon Pegg as the Milky Bar Kid was good, but again it was also performed on Comic Relief on BBC1 in 2005. The Little Britain segment is an insult to any fans of the show - it's one very short sketch ("the only gay in the village") which has already been performed in the actual TV show, and is nothing more than a token appearance by Lucas and Walliams. The show was padded out by a few other third rate comedians that I'd never heard of and failed to make me laugh. Partridge fans will enjoy the extras on here - particularly the interview with Roger Daltrey on Radio Norwich, which makes the DVD slightly better value. As it's for charity you can't complain too much, but I feel this was one very lazy effort by everyone involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 11 Sep 2008
By 
M. Ward (Newark, Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alan Partridge Presents: The Cream Of British Comedy (Little Britain, Ricky Gervais & more) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm a massive fan of everyone on this DVD and as such, I've seen it all before. This does not contain anything new from any of the acts. Gervais just rehashes his Politics DVD for example.

If you want to experiance Partridge properly, check out his Knowing Me, Knowing You show or for the ultimate Partrige experiance; I'm Alan Partridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alan Partridge Presents: The Cream Of British Comedy (Little Britain, Ricky Gervais & more) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
im sure it will be great. im a fan of steve coogan
unfortunatly ive been to busy to watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ignore the obvious, 27 Oct 2005
This review is from: Alan Partridge Presents: The Cream Of British Comedy (Little Britain, Ricky Gervais & more) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Obviously the big names (Partridge, Gervais, Little Britain)phone in their performances, Rob Brydon just isnt funny outside of character comedy (of which hes one of the best by the way) But lesser known acts such as the charming Noel Fielding (AKA Vince Noir from The Mighty Boosh)or the mighty Otis Lee Crenshaw prove that variety is the spice of life and for every world beating comedy show theirs a cult hero to maintain equilibriam...
OBLONG!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews