Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Brahms Symphony Cycle from Haitink, London Symphony Orchestra
The London Symphony Orchestra's LSO Live label finally offers as a box set acclaimed conductor Bernard Haitink's latest - and third - Brahms symphony cycle (The other two - which are still available - were recorded by Philips with Haitink conducting the Royal Concertgebouw and Boston Symphony orchestras in the 1970s and early 1990s.). Those interested in a fine Brahms...
Published on 9 Aug 2008 by John Kwok

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brahms' Symphonies
I would not choose this as my first option for the Brahms symphonies because the sound quality in these live performances is not the best, especially considering they are relatively recent recordings (2004). I would put the Solti recordings with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra on Decca in first place with Riccardo Muti and the Philadelphia on Philips second. One advantage...
Published on 29 Oct 2010 by Dr. H. A. Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Brahms Symphony Cycle from Haitink, London Symphony Orchestra, 9 Aug 2008
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
The London Symphony Orchestra's LSO Live label finally offers as a box set acclaimed conductor Bernard Haitink's latest - and third - Brahms symphony cycle (The other two - which are still available - were recorded by Philips with Haitink conducting the Royal Concertgebouw and Boston Symphony orchestras in the 1970s and early 1990s.). Those interested in a fine Brahms symphony cycle by one of our greatest conductors will not be disappointed with this box set, which compiles the individual LSO Live CDs released over the past few years (These were recorded at live concert performances of Haitink conducting the London Symphony Orchestra primarily back in 2003 and 2004.).

Highlights include Haitink's spellbinding interpretations of the four Brahms symphonies and a brilliant performance by concertmaster Gordan Nikolitch and principal cellist Timothy Hugh of the Brahms Double Concerto. The London Symphony Orchestra's performances are absolutely impeccable, rivalling those from preeminent Dutch, German and Austrian orchestras.

Haitink offers a compelling interpretation of Brahms' 1st Symphony with the London Symphony Orchestra in excellent form, which ranks as among the best performed and recorded I have heard. His latest interpretation is one which seems a bit less restrained than his earlier versions, but still replete with strict adherence to Brahms' tempi. His latest interpretation is, in some respects, more exciting than his earlier Philips recordings, emphasizing the rich sonorities and complex architecture of Brahms' score.

Without question Haitink's LSO Live recording is the best live recording of the Brahms 2nd Symphony I have heard, easily eclipsing Kurt Masur's acclaimed account with the New York Philharmonic recorded nearly a decade ago by Teldec. It is also Haitink's finest recording of this work, which he has recorded previously with both the Royal Concertgebouw and Boston Symphony orchestras. Haitink does a wonderful job emphasizing the textural richness of Brahms' score, while keeping the orchestra playing well at a very brisk tempo. However, the real treasure on this recording is the excellent performance of the Double Concerto by the London Symphony's Concertmaster and Principal Cellist which opens this CD. Theirs is a vibrant, rhapsodic performance which compares quite well - indeed I think may be better - than the recent Deutsche Grammophon recording featuring violinist Gil Shaham with Claudio Abbado conducting the Berlin Philharmonic. Once again the orchestra plays with much intensity and warmth, led ably by Haitink.

Bernard Haitink's LSO Live CD of the Brahms Serenade Number 2 and the 3rd Symphony, is recorded from concerts he conducted in 2002 (serenade) and 2003 (symphony). Brahms' Serenade Number 2 could be regarded as an early precursor to his symphonies, since it is a five-movement work. Haitink leads the London Symphony Orchestra in yet another excellent performance, noted for warm, rhapsodic playing from the string section. However, the best performance on this CD is that of Brahms' Third Symphony. This piece itself is a bit unusual for a 19th Century symphony, in the form of Allegro Andante Poco Allegretto Allegro. In its overall tone, the work itself is a bit "darker" than the Second Symphony, which many have regarded as Brahms' "Pastoral" symphony. Haitink excels in emphasizing the more melancholy aspects of the work, leading the London Symphony Orchestra in the best-conducted and recorded version of this symphony that I've heard so far, with the possible exception of Harnoncourt's Teldec recording with him conducting the Berlin Philharmonic. Haitink's latest recording seems a bit darker than Masur's New York Philharmonic Orchestra recording from Teldec, and perhaps, Harnoncourt's as well.

Haitink has conducted the London Symphony in an unusually warm, vibrant performance of the Brahms 4th Symphony, which is replete with excellent solo performances from the french horns, woodwinds and strings. I was especially pleased with Haitink's dignified, but still brooding, interpretation of the 4th movement, which comes across as a musical interlude between darkness and light. I personally regard this recording of the Brahms 4th symphony as the best currently available, in a crowded pack that includes distinguished recordings from the likes of Claudio Abbado, Herbert Blomstedt, Carlos Kleiber, Kurt Masur, and Kurt Sanderling.

Fans of Haitink's critically acclaimed 1970s Brahms symphony cycle may miss the ambient warmth of the Concertgebouw's main concert hall in this Brahms symphony cycle, but I will contend that these new recordings sound more vivid than the earlier Philips recordings. Thats due to superb sound engineering by producer James Mallinson and his team. Without a doubt, this is one of the best recorded Brahms symphony cycles available currently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding playing, the LSO are divine, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
Brahms solidified his name as a major player in the classical world with his symphonies and these large scale compositions are perfect examples of the Germanic symphonic tradition. Each symphony is well represented on this collection of discs from the troublesome first, melancholic second, mature third to the exemplary forth. The quality of playing and clarity of sound on this recording are absolutely outstanding, while the soloists add more than their weight in energy of performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as Bad as One Star, 22 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Mark A. Meldon (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
Hmmm, not, perhaps, the best Brahms cycle, but 1 & 2 are really very good, 4 more than acceptable, 3 worth a miss. I found the sound quality OK, too. It's always good to try alternatives and this set can be picked up inexpensively and I'd say is very much worth a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Initially not my fav - but have reconsidered, 7 Aug 2011
By 
Per Arne Rudberg "P-A Rudberg" (Vallentuna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
Very interesting recordings. Haitink's reading of Brahms brings out a lot of (new) clarity and detail. Sometimes the flow and the lines are lost, and I would like a more "full" sound, especially from the strings.
There are better recordings of these symphonies.

That was written at least two years ago. Since then I have reconsidered my views on this recording. It's actually REALLY good! The details are winning. Although I would like a bit more genuin warmth to give the fifth star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 10 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Vera Breeze "Alve" (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
This was a present for one of my Sons.
He is a Brilliant Classical Musician.
An opinion to be valued
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brahms' Symphonies, 29 Oct 2010
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
I would not choose this as my first option for the Brahms symphonies because the sound quality in these live performances is not the best, especially considering they are relatively recent recordings (2004). I would put the Solti recordings with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra on Decca in first place with Riccardo Muti and the Philadelphia on Philips second. One advantage of the Haitink/LSO set is that there is a performance of the rarely heard double concerto for violin and cello included in the set, together with the 2nd Serenade, which is well worth repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A FLAWED RECORDING, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful performance of the symphony, but it is marred by the sound. In my view, it is a serious problem, and the whole of the LSO Live venture is flawed by it. I wouldn't think to buy any in the series because of it. Engineers just cannot do anything about the sound of the Barbican Hall, which makes everything sound ass if its being played in a closet, albeit big enough for an orchestra. I suppose it suits some people, or they just don't care to have space around their recordings, and that the performance is enough for them. Decca and Chandos recordings cannot be beaten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, 26 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brahms - Symphonies Nos 1 - 4; Double Concerto (LSO, Haitink) (Audio CD)
I committed the ultimate sin in choosing quantity over quality. I was surprised at the poor quality in all registers. The strings squeaked and the double bases were far too dense. Overall, this was not an enjoyable listening experience. I tried tweaking my equipment, but it made no difference. Considering that this was specially recorded in 2004, it makes it all the more disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews