Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums out there!
When i first bought this album, i just wanted get iron maiden into my music collection, and i saw this album had a good collection of songs on, and it was live which i have always enjoyed. But now? Its a vital part of music collection! This is a truely amazing album and portrays Iron Maiden so well, you could say you dont need to actually see them play.

The...
Published on 16 April 2006 by KRISmyBuy

versus
2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, but not their best effort
Owning all of Maiden's albums up until this release (bar the Blaze Bayley albums) it was a given that this was going to be purchased. I was particularly looking forward to it with it being a live album as I love Maiden's live releases. I was immediately shocked when I looked at the track list and saw no 2 Minutes to Midnight. I couldn't believe they didn't include/play...
Published on 2 Sep 2006 by A. Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best albums out there!, 16 April 2006
By 
KRISmyBuy (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
When i first bought this album, i just wanted get iron maiden into my music collection, and i saw this album had a good collection of songs on, and it was live which i have always enjoyed. But now? Its a vital part of music collection! This is a truely amazing album and portrays Iron Maiden so well, you could say you dont need to actually see them play.

The sheer energy and atmosphere that is on here is worth every penny! Now the songs, i believe the set list has all their best songs, and many classics. Each song has such an individual intro, you can just say 'i know this song'.

I know by previous reviews the crowd noise annoys people, but i believe its hardly noticable during the songs, and also ,when you go and see a live band, you cant tell people to stop cheering, so when a live album is produced, it has to portray a live gig! And what a live performance Iron Maiden give!

To sum up, this is a great album for any fan of maiden, or any fan of bruce dickinson. Also this is a great introduction to the older heavy metal bands and it will also appeal to modern day likers of heavier rock.

this is a must have, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up The Irons!, 4 Sep 2005
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
Well what can i say? Iron maiden back at there very best and this album just proves it. If you saw them on the tour this album is a great reminder of just how good they are. If you didnt see them then this shows what you missed! Has a very raw feel to it, like you could close your eyes and imagine yourself in the front row. Cant wait for the DVD release! Well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, but..., 24 Mar 2006
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
First, got to argue with my two fellow reviewers. Shotgun Blues says that this CD is as good as seeing Maiden live at Hammersmith Apollo - get real mate. A CD is one thing, but it is no comparison to seeing one of the best live bands ever, at one of the best rock venues in London. Steve Barrow says that you can't copy it to your MP3 player - don't know what software you use Steve, but Roxio Audio Central has no problem in converting every track on both CDs into individual MP3 tracks, and also has no problem copying the CDs direct onto blank CDs (not that I know anybody who'd ever do that!!!).

Now, on to the album. It's good, in fact it's very good, but that's because the songs chosen for this tour are very good. But Bruce's usual between-song banter is non-existent, he never talks to the crowd at all, which is definitely not the norm. And the wisdom of going overboard promoting the First World War battle at Paschendale when performing live in front of a German crowd also leaves a question mark. What's Steve Harris going to do next, write a song called "We Sank The Belgrano" and reserve the playing of it live for the next time they tour Argentina??

Dunno about you, but I think they should have included at least one song from Powerslave - it's in most people's top three regarding Maiden studio albums. I can live without yet another live version of Wrathchild and Fear Of The Dark (and to tell the truth I've got enough live versions of Hallowed Be Thy Name to last me a lifetime), but obviously the Maiden-men still like to play them. The number of songs also seems a bit stingy - only sixteen songs, which when you consider Bruce isn't chatting either leaves the length of the two CDs a bit short. On the Rock In Rio CD, they played nineteen songs in the set, and Bruce was chattering away like a mynah bird between tracks as well.

So, probably as good as it could have been, but I wanted a bit more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another 5 Star Live one, 30 Aug 2005
By 
David Smart "0_o" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden yet again release another amazing live album to allow fans to hear the last tour over and over. The Orchestra at the start, reminding me of my time at the front barrier waiting for them to burst into Wildest Dreams in front of my very eyes... Hearing Lord of the flies is a joy to me...Bruce's voice..hearing the songs from latest Studio album Dance of Death LIVE is brought everything back to life again..enough said.. another ace album to join the very large catalogue of Maiden records...need a new Cd rack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome to the dance of death., 22 Aug 2005
By 
M. Jump "party marty" (Torpoint , Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
This was recorded very close to when I saw them in Cardiff, even has the same setlist, so I can tell you what excellent form they were on for this tour. The set contains an excellent mix of old favourites, Dance of Death tracks and even a surprise Blaze Bailey era song.
The recent Trooper single was taken from this album and the sound balance is excellent, especially the drums, even better than Rock in Rio which I thought was full of energy and power.
What makes this worth getting (some of these tracks I already have about 8 live versions of) are tracks like Paschendale and Rainmaker, plus the extra details like an extra guitar harmony on the Trooper riff, which breathes new life into it.
Plus the artwork is their best in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome live album, it's better then a real live dead one by miles., 24 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant live album great selection of songs but one problem, only one song from Brave New World? come on. The obvious masterpieces here are Paschendale and Dance Of Death they are amazingly performed live, they were masterpieces on Dance Of Death album and they are masterpieces here. Bruce does a good job at doing Blaze's vocals on Lord Of the Flies. Journeyman is another awesome and The Trooper. Oh Yeah i almost forgot the terrible intro to Can I Play with madness, i showed that to my friend(who also loves maiden) and he laughed so much when he heard it) the song is played excellent but Steve Harris you gotta stop with the backing vocals at the start it makes you sound like u got two old men off the street and payed them to shout Can I Play With Madness. Overall brilliant live cd and so much better then A Real Live Dead One. A great buy. UP THE IRONS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What was that, 'Arry? I couldn't hear you, mate!, 16 Sep 2005
By 
Brent Soileau "Deep Purple fanatic" (Baton Rouge, LA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
Terrific! Great! That's what I thought when my new Iron Maiden double live cd arrived in the mail (I ordered it as an import instead of waiting an extra 5-6 weeks for it to be released here in the states). There has been news that Iron Maiden will release an official live set after every world tour in order to "beat the bootleggers". That's great, I'll buy each one. However, upon listening to "Death On The Road" I'm of two minds.
First, the set list is great and Maiden play like a band possessed, full of energy, aggression, and vigor. Unfortunately, the crowd noise, which Steve Harris insists be a constant throughout the live records, runs like a constant hiss above the music dampening the nuances and even obscuring some of the solos. I find this extremely annoying. This has been a problem with every live cd the band has done after the great "Live After Death", which legendary producer Martin Birch produced and engineered.
Please, 'Arry... for any more live releases, PLEASE understand that I'm much more interested in hearing the bands performance and not the constant roar of the crowd! As with any audio cd, the music is what counts, and it's irritating when one has to strain to hear it over the crowd. Keep the crowd noise DOWN on future releases and mic it up only in appropriate places. For lots of crowd noise, I can still listen to bootlegs... although I've heard clearer bootlegs from this tour. After all, if I wanted to hear a constant roar, I'd go sit by the Interstate highway and listen to the traffic.
Really, this is a 5 star record, but is marred by the refusal to mic down the crowd during the performances. Therefore, I can only see my way to giving it 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars finest live band on the world,odd setlist at times though, 25 Jun 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
recorded live in germany in 2003,and released in 2005,death on the road is a great live album but not a masterclass in live as found on the stunning life after death and to a lesser extent on live in donington 1992.

The quality of the audio is crystal but there is no crowd interaction really,bruce doesnt speak to the crowd on this,of course this could have been edited out but i dont think so.Secondly the setlist of songs is strange in places,some classics are missed from the set but on the flipside it is nice to hear some rarer numbers such as lord of the flies which bruce does indeed make his own.

The album came from the tour of the release of dance of death and a good few of the classics from that album are represented here,and of course with tracks like hallowed be thy name and fear of the dark and iron maiden itself then the past albums are looked at as well,the album is weighed down slightly with the inclusion of two tracks that dont work well live and they are found on the tracks paschendale and joureyman which just seem out of place and make for poor listening.

All things considered though,this is still a live album that wipes the floor with so many dull live albums,maiden are essentially the finest of all live bands and that transports to cd as well so this is still nigh on vital with the odd dull moment stapled on to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden without the banter, 3 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
Great album - brilliant recording and musical quality, but where all the banter from Bruce - anyone who's been to a Maiden gig, listened to the other live recordings, and 'tut' any bootlegs of recent gigs will know Bruce chats to the audience like a man posessed - none of it on this album. shame
but its excellent nonetheless and you should buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden Death On The Road, 6 Sep 2005
By 
Graham Daniel (Wigan, Lancs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death On The Road (Audio CD)
An amazing live album a must for all fans. High energy and breath-taking Iron Maiden at there best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death On The Road
Death On The Road by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews