Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great greatest hits collection
This album contains some of the best rock/metal songs ever and all the songs are quality iron maiden songs that have been released over the years. All the songs are catchy and rememberable and this album is a great place for any new iron maiden fan to start off. Every single song is a highlight in its own right so it is unfair to name single tracks but standout tracks...
Published on 30 July 2007 by T. Fitzpatrick

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the BEAST choice of songs at all.
I love iron maiden but i have to say this is the naffest greatest hits album ever. a quarter of it is made from the seventh son album. It hasnt even got any songs from the paul dianno era. And only one song from the powerslave album which was easily the best and most succesful. If u want a good greatest hits album buy best of the beast.
Published on 12 Nov 2006 by J. H. Hardwidge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great greatest hits collection, 30 July 2007
By 
T. Fitzpatrick (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
This album contains some of the best rock/metal songs ever and all the songs are quality iron maiden songs that have been released over the years. All the songs are catchy and rememberable and this album is a great place for any new iron maiden fan to start off. Every single song is a highlight in its own right so it is unfair to name single tracks but standout tracks include "The number of the beast", "The wicker man" and "Fear of the dark." All of these songs are examples of classic british heavy metal and iron maiden must be the greatest british heavy metal band ever. Expect loud fast guitars and excellent metal vocals and choruses. However, whilst this is a selection of Iron Maiden's most successful singles it is important to remember that Iron Maiden is a band whose every release contains so much more than just the singles. So although this is a great selection of hits i would not suggest that this is a definitivge collection of Iron Maiden and that other purchases would be needed to get a full flavour of the band. Whilst this album contains many chart successes it does not have some real maiden fan favourites that may not have been hits but that many maiden fans belive to be the bands best work, such as "Iron Maiden" and "Wrathchild". Nevertheless, this is a good introduction to the band, a great selection of metal tracks and a great way to get yourself hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the Best Hits at a Cheaper Price, but one wonders?, 12 Dec 2002
Well it is true that in the last 5 years Iron maiden has produced three best of albums. But in 22 years of incredible music they are the only three they have produced! Unlike others who came out with five albums and have a best of album already in the works Iron Maiden waited until they had 11 studio albums to their names to do it. The first of them Ed Hunter was actually a video game (and that was the whole point) so you got some good tunes as a bonus with a good but frustratingly difficult game for computer amateurs. All of this was pretty chep too. The second was the Fans choice called the Best of the Beast, they actually asked them on their website. This was a double cd set. Nobody else would buy a double cd set of Iron Maiden unfortunately, and some of the best of on this album are really Fan best ofs.
This time around it is truly a Best of album, one CD making some of their chart hitters availaible cheaply to either the new listener or to the nostalgic who sold their Maiden a long time ago. I share the anti-commerical ethic of all Maiden fans but having met the band members I doubt very much they are money grabbing. Besides they have another studio album in the works! So they are producing great new material.
So if you want to buy a user friendly introduction to some of the best tunes Maiden has to offer and you are one these fence Maiden closet fans...Edward the Great is the best buy for the buck. You cant go wrong with the music.
So up the Irons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands held to the sky., 5 Nov 2007
This review is from: Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
This is the without a shadow of a doubt The number of the great rock feast. I defy anyone to play this album without a scowl and a growl and an itch to raise mayhem.
Playing this album leaves me feeling invincible and starts the kids skidding round on the wooden floor playing air guitar as though their lives depended upon it.
This is an album to raise your kids on.
Tracks include:
The Trooper
The Number of the Beast
Can I Play with Madness?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars could be better, 18 Mar 2007
This review is from: Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
iron maiden already have greatest hits albums - the need to release another one shows that they think that they have more tracks that would be included on their greatest hits

this album needs much more variety in the tracks

being a huge iron maiden fan i do love each track that is on here and i think that individually each track is quality...but their choice for this cd could be much improved...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One hell of an album!, 4 Oct 2003
This review is from: Edward the Great [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Basically an absolutely classic album, not a bad track on the whole thing. Personally I only bought it because i am a collector of Maiden's stuff and i had all the tracks on their original albums anyway, but that should not take away from the fact that this albm is a 70 minute head-bang-fest!
And in reference to the first review of this album, a short read of the letter from Steve Harris printed in the sleeve explains the choice of tracks and with 12 studio and 1 live (Rock In Rio for the Fear of the Dark track) album to pick from the choosing must have been hard.
To solve your problem simply buy this album, and the first two studio albums (Iron Maiden and Killers) and you're set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 July 2006
By 
Richard C "RC" (Nottingham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden are no doubt one of the best rock bands in the world. It comes as no surprise then, that this is a collection of great songs.

If you've been a long time fan you will no doubt have all of the songs on this CD in one form or another. However, if you haven't bought an Iron Maiden CD before (or you are looking for some CD versions of your vynl classics ;)) this is a great buy.

I admit that at first i didn't like the live version of Fear of The Dark that is on here, but after a few listens i soon warmed up to it.

All these songs are great, and with 16 tracks to choose from, you have a lot of listening time as well (the shortest song is 3:50).

My suggestion is you rip the songs from the CD to your PC in high quality WMA format (windows media player can do this) and put them on your music player. Listening to them on the move is fun.

So, in short, a great Album for those looking for a collection of Iron Maiden's best songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good...for the Maiden beginner., 5 Nov 2002
This release is only really for the type of person how has heard Iron Maiden but never bought anything. This is not for the seasoned Iron Maiden fan... Its got some of the best tracks on it though, but when you finally get home you distinctively miss "Hallowed be thy name", if thats not a greatest hit then what is? Only buy this if your new to Iron Maiden, or if you want to complete the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the BEAST choice of songs at all., 12 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits) (Audio CD)
I love iron maiden but i have to say this is the naffest greatest hits album ever. a quarter of it is made from the seventh son album. It hasnt even got any songs from the paul dianno era. And only one song from the powerslave album which was easily the best and most succesful. If u want a good greatest hits album buy best of the beast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Edward lives on, 1 Sep 2003
Iron Maiden have taken a good idea by arranging the tracks by the date they were released but why put on songs like FUTUREAL etc
These songs aren't their greatest. They didn't have to put the new releases on.
I do like the idea of the live track being put at the end as a sign that they are still going and won't stop for whatever
Well they have put on certain classics like - Run to the Hills, Number of The Beast, The Clairvoyant, The Trooper and Flight of Icarus.
You don't have to be a maiden die hard to buy this , it is still a good album, but id ask you to buy BEST OF THE BEAST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not one of the bands best albums, but still a very good one to listen too if you like the band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits)
Edward The Great (The Greatest Hits) by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews