Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tired of people talking rubbish about these little beauties
Here are some truths about strings in general: all guitarists have their own taste when it comes to string tone, and different people like different things. Different guitars, too, mean that the same type of string can sound different from one instrument to another, and so it's only really possible to make general recommendations about them regarding the sound. Other...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by Hutch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the polyweb?
I've always used Elixir strings on my Taylor 814 and in the past have bought the original polywebs. However these seem to have been replaced by the nanowebs and although they sounded great at first they seem to have lost their sparkle and sound a bit 'dead'
much sooner than with the old polywebs which used to sound great for ages.
Maybe the polywebs lasted so...
Published 8 months ago by devans


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tired of people talking rubbish about these little beauties, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
Here are some truths about strings in general: all guitarists have their own taste when it comes to string tone, and different people like different things. Different guitars, too, mean that the same type of string can sound different from one instrument to another, and so it's only really possible to make general recommendations about them regarding the sound. Other qualities, however, (manufacturing standards, longevity, consistency...) can be commented on more clearly but still only with reference to an individual's experience, which may differ from the experiences of others.

With this is mind, here's what I think.

I've been a working musician for ten years. I've tried most of the leading string brands available to acoustic players in the UK, and right now I think these phosphor bronze Elixirs are pretty much unbeatable. The old coating was rubbish, as were the old bronze strings without the phosphor in, but these, with the thinner coating and different alloy, are ACE. The tone is something you'll have to decide upon for yourself, but I find them rich, balanced, with a sweet harmonic brightness and no heavy points in their range. They're 95% as sweet and true as the (rightly very popular) uncoated D'Addario phosphor bronze in terms of tone, sweeter and brighter than the coated D'Addario EXPs (although EXPs are better now than they've ever been - give them a go some time), and here's the big point of them; they hold the tone for an AGE.

Don't be misled - if for some reason you don't like the tone when you put them on, you never will. They break every bit as easily as any other string. They're every bit as likely to fail due to manufacturing fault - no better, no worse. BUT those things are true of ALL strings, and if you don't beat them to snapping point with hamfisted technique (brutal strummers don't waste your money - you're not going to get any string to last with those heavy hands, might as well buy good uncoated ones you can replace individually) then you'll get, as it says on the box, at least 3 to 5 times the life span out of these than you would from uncoated strings before they start to sound worn and dull, probably more. And that is the point. I've actually repaired broken Elixirs when they snap at the bridge by retying them to the ball-end and pulling the untrimmed string down through the tuning peg, and they still sound sweet enough to get away with.

So overall: coated strings may not be for you (expensive, break just as easily as uncoated, ARE NOT SOLD SINGLY remember), but if you want excellent tone that lasts then you can't do better than these.

P.S. The one time in all those years I had a new string fail as I was tuning it up, I emailed a picture of it to Elixir directly and they replied within two days, apologised and sent me a new string and some daft little free bits and pieces - polishing cloth, plectrum and what have you. Nice customer service touch from an excellent company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great long lasting strings, 25 Nov 2011
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
Been usuing Elxir strings for over 5 years now, used to love 'roto sound'. I believe you can't get better for long lasting tone and brightness.
I would normally change my strings at least once every 3 months (on 3 acoustics including a 12 string - used to get expensive!), but I have actually left a set of these elixir strings on for a whole year and they still sound ok, though obviously not as new! No rust or dirt. They are great.
They are not unbreakable, but last longer tone and brightness wise - never looked back - highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top strings, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
long life good tone hold tune would not hesitate to recommend to anyone play an hour every day last approx 3 months
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar strings, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
Without doubt the best strings available on the market, but also the most expensive.
However I found all of my orders to be excellent items as described, fast delivery and the best price available.
Must admit though, that I found it only really pays if you bulk buy, because of the P&p on single items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a totally stunning sound, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
Much better tone and mellownness than the standard bronze strings. Will definitely use these again. Brings guitar back to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best (IMHO), 18 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
I always use Elixir strings. I play a considerable amount each day and find their longevity beyond compare to others. It is a good idea to shop around - there is usually an offer waiting to be taken advantage of somewhere - my last purchase came over from the USA - cheaper than UK suppliers on that occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
best strings made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 3 July 2014
By 
Gordon Thomson "Mr Fussy" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
Perfect pro fast accurate exactly what I want from a supplier !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the polyweb?, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
I've always used Elixir strings on my Taylor 814 and in the past have bought the original polywebs. However these seem to have been replaced by the nanowebs and although they sounded great at first they seem to have lost their sparkle and sound a bit 'dead'
much sooner than with the old polywebs which used to sound great for ages.
Maybe the polywebs lasted so well the punters didn't renew them often enough (or is that just me being cynical!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elixer strings accross all my...., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elixir 92/8 Phosphor Bronze Acoustic Sets Ultra-Thin Nanoweb Coating - Extra Light (0.010 - 0.047) (Electronics)
fret boards, well, except for the bass. Two acoustic six strings, one strat and a twelve string; all sound and feel good to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews