Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They are the music makers., 7 Sep 2005
By 
cherry_venom (london, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
The very first time i listened to this album i liked it, but was a little disappointed - 'So long,scarecrow' is more mellow than Scarling.'s last offering - 'Sweet Heart Dealer'. But a few more listens made me realise something terribly important. Scarling. dont need to be brash and expletive filled to be powerful - their ferocity comes from their sheer beauty. With faultless drumming from new member Beth Gordon, guitars reminiscent of early Placebo and Jessicka's amazing voice, Scarling. have something that most bands don't - a sort of filthy beauty. Sometimes sounding sweet on the surface, the lyrics are filled with pain, regret and anger. Each track is stunning and offers something different from the last, but all are deliciously catchy. It would be impossible to pick a favourite, but 'We Are The Music Makers' sums up Scarling. perfectly - it's dark, catchy, awesome, with lyrics like 'we kiss like painted tigers/but we bleed like no one else'. SLS is music that you can sing and dance along to, but also music that you could hysterically self destruct to.Buy this CD, put it on, and let Scarling. blast you into the sweetest oblivion you could ever envisage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance., 13 Mar 2006
By 
Nicola Taylor (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
So Long, Scarecrow is the kind of music that you listen to whilst not doing anything else, because you can’t do anything else but sit and listen. It’s a spinetingling collection of dreamy guitar-heavy pop, opening with the seductive, crackling "Hello London" and closing with the title track, which is best described as minimalist; just Jessicka’s vocals and a slow, repetitive bassline. The tracks inbetween range from being melodic and almost mournful ("[Northbound On] Cahuenga", "In The Pretend World", "Stapled To The Mattress"), to guitar-fuelled energy ("City Noise", "We Are The Music Makers").
It's very different to Sweet Heart Dealer - a lot calmer and much more mellow - and a far cry from Jessicka's Jack Off Jill days. Scarling. are a refreshing change from the mainstream without being cliché or trite. So Long, Scarecrow is an album which can only be heard to be believed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scarling: So Long Scarecrow, 4 Sep 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
Another utterly brilliant album from Scarling. In my opinion it far suppasses the previous album, and not only because there's more tracks- the sound from this album still retains the Scarling 'darker' undertone (bass guitar chiefly) but also mingles in a lot of other obviously artistic influences all designed to get messages across to the audience. The cover art, whilst not Mark Ryden, is still utterly twisted and a lot of the tracks flow into one another continuous in meaning. Another sucess record for Scarling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Long, Other Albums, 2 Sep 2005
By 
I. Neal (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
After we were left with a beautiful aural bruising in 2004, L.A. based Scarling. could have driven their music many different ways. Every single song on their seven-track debut, Sweet Heart Dealer, left a different impression. It's hard to imagine before listening to So Long, Scarecrow, that Scarling. could create yet another different mark, having left so many already. Nevertheless, each of the thirteen tracks taken from this stunning LP have new emotion and new beauty whilst retaining the depth and texture which makes their sound so original in the first place.
The opening track is the first step at introducing you to a whole new plethora of feeling. Firstly Beth Gordon takes one cannon-fuelled bang on the drum and the two seconds you wait, for the rest of the album to start, with a distant fading of sound seems like a lifetime. Like small children at a sweetshop, you're then dragged in by a multitude of stimuli. Jessicka adds sincere vocals that warm to the heart. The mixture of melodic majesty that pours from the guitars of Christian Hejnal, Derik Snell and Rickey Lime is the kind of music you only wish you could create.
Being able to manage a profusion of sound that resonates music made by My Bloody Valentine and yet having a completely archetypal sound at the same time takes absolute genius. From songs like "Northbound On (Cahuenga)" that create a quiescent atmosphere to the noise-pop "City Noise", it's clear that Scarling. have created a masterpiece. If you've ever wanted to effectuate love, all you need do is hit play.
Accessible chaotic beauty bleeds through your stereo on "Stapled To The Mattress". Every word that splits from Jessicka's lips fractures the valves in your heart.
... "You're naked,
And shaking,
Like a two-bit Judas," ...describes exactly how you feel when you're still only forty-five seconds into the song. This song is an emotional reflection of the album as a whole. It's the perfect picture of a stunning range of talent: lyrically, musically and vocally.
It would be extremely easy to write pages about each song that appears on So Long, Scarecrow but this album has mystery like no other album I've ever had the pleasure of listening to. Perhaps "Sweet Heart Dealer" was an experiment, an idea, a step-between a previous and a present. "So Long, Scarecrow" is evolution, a future and a whole lot more that you're just going to have to not stop listening to ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So Long Scarecrow, 5 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
This is a superb quality album from a much under-rated band. Really enjoy listening to it every time - has almost a classic status in my music collection. It manages to be somewhat uplifting which is quite an achievement for this kind of downbeat Goth-Indie rock. It's kind of a strange and eccentric anomaly, but in its own really good, characterful way. If you don't agree, don't blame me - This review broke on its own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliance, 14 Dec 2008
By 
P. Smith (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
i totaly agree with nicola (review below me,,hi nicola). you put 'hello scarecrow' on while youre doing the housework/ cleaning out the guinneapig cage,or whatever else,and end up sat right infront of the speakers instead.youre compelled to give it all of your attention.
the only bad thing i can say about this album was that i got it too late.i should've got it when it first came out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this one of my favorite, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
I'm biased, this one of my favorite albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars woop, 15 Mar 2006
By 
Rich M (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
no amount of words can express how good this album is i suggest you buy it, scarling have completely outdone themselves this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Long, Other Reviews, 2 Sep 2005
By 
I. Neal (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: So Long, Scarecrow CD (Audio CD)
After we were left with a beautiful aural bruising in 2004, L.A. based Scarling. could have driven their music many different ways. Every single song on their seven-track debut, Sweet Heart Dealer, left a different impression. It's hard to imagine before listening to So Long, Scarecrow, that Scarling. could create yet another different mark, having left so many already. Nevertheless, each of the thirteen tracks taken from this stunning LP have new emotion and new beauty whilst retaining the depth and texture which makes their sound so original in the first place.
The opening track is the first step at introducing you to a whole new plethora of feeling. Firstly Beth Gordon takes one cannon-fuelled bang on the drum and the two seconds you wait, for the rest of the album to start, with a distant fading of sound seems like a lifetime. Like small children at a sweetshop, you're then dragged in by a multitude of stimuli. Jessicka adds sincere vocals that warm to the heart. The mixture of melodic majesty that pours from the guitars of Christian Hejnal, Derik Snell and Rickey Lime is the kind of music you only wish you could create.
Being able to manage a profusion of sound that resonates music made by My Bloody Valentine and yet having a completely archetypal sound at the same time takes absolute genius. From songs like "Northbound On (Cahuenga)" that create a quiescent atmosphere to the noise-pop "City Noise", it's clear that Scarling. have created a masterpiece. If you've ever wanted to effectuate love, all you need do is hit play.
Accessible chaotic beauty bleeds through your stereo on "Stapled To The Mattress". Every word that splits from Jessicka's lips fractures the valves in your heart.
... "You're naked,
And shaking,
Like a two-bit Judas," ...describes exactly how you feel when you're still only forty-five seconds into the song. This song is an emotional reflection of the album as a whole. It's the perfect picture of a stunning range of talent: lyrically, musically and vocally.
It would be extremely easy to write pages about each song that appears on So Long, Scarecrow but this album has mystery like no other album I've ever had the pleasure of listening to. Perhaps "Sweet Heart Dealer" was an experiment, an idea, a step-between a previous and a present. "So Long, Scarecrow" is evolution, a future and a whole lot more that you're just going to have to not stop listening to ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

So Long, Scarecrow CD
So Long, Scarecrow CD by Scarling (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews