Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomb it may concern....
This is another welcome entry in Roger Corman's series of 1960s horror films based on the works of Edgar Allan Poe. The King of Horror, Vincent Price, stars as Verden Fell, a tragic figure who has become obsessed with his late wife, Ligeia, whose spirit seems to be omni-present in the form of a black cat and then in Fell's new bride, The Lady Rowena Trevanion (Damien -...
Published on 27 Mar 2010 by Jeremy W. Newbould

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting experiment but not entirely successful.
"tomb of ligeia" is the second of two films that roger corman and vincent price made together in england after "masque of the red death."

"tomb of ligeia" is more involved than previous corman films; there are more location sequences and the plot is rather complicated to understand. but there are good scenes and vincent price is as reliable as ever. a good...
Published on 16 Aug 2006 by Mr. A. E. Ward Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomb it may concern...., 27 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
This is another welcome entry in Roger Corman's series of 1960s horror films based on the works of Edgar Allan Poe. The King of Horror, Vincent Price, stars as Verden Fell, a tragic figure who has become obsessed with his late wife, Ligeia, whose spirit seems to be omni-present in the form of a black cat and then in Fell's new bride, The Lady Rowena Trevanion (Damien - Omen II's Elizabeth Shepherd.

This is a beautifully-filmed piece of work that makes excellent use of some stunning sets and outdoor locations. Vincent Price puts in a good, highly-watchable performance (as usual) and he is aided by a fine supporting cast. The film is presented in its wide screen format, in a ratio of 2.35:1, on this DVD and looks really beautiful.

I think that this was the last entry in Roger Corman's Poe cycle of films, and, although it is not my favourite entry (The Masque Of The Red Death still gets my vote as it is one of the most visually stunning horror films ever made), it still provides an impressive coda to this legendary series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One that got away..., 11 July 2010
By 
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
Driven by a typically paranoid turn from the marvellous Vincent Price, compared to earlier Roger Corman horrors this is calmer, quieter, more psychological & I think underrated. The location shoots add a new freshness, the designs look great & the sparser shocks are still scary so if you like the other fantastic '60's Edgar Allen Poe movies but have n't seen this one, you should love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an interesting experiment but not entirely successful., 16 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"tomb of ligeia" is the second of two films that roger corman and vincent price made together in england after "masque of the red death."

"tomb of ligeia" is more involved than previous corman films; there are more location sequences and the plot is rather complicated to understand. but there are good scenes and vincent price is as reliable as ever. a good effort.

"an evening with edgar allan poe" is a wasted opportunuity.

the stories chosen aren't the best by a long way. "the sphinx" is a waste of time; a disappointing ending and the story doesn't make sense. "the tell-tale heart" is better but the film set is all wrong. it should have a gothic look to it but instead looks more like a western. "the cask of amontillado" is too restricted. "the pit and the pendulum" is by far the best and is a massive compensation. there is some editing to the story but still very well done.

but i'm afraid the direction is non-existent. vincent price spends too much time in one place. why not film him walking along dark corridors whilst acting out the stories? it would have been far superior.

the selection of tales should have been different but also there should have been more of them; "the pit and the pendulum," "the oval portrait," "masque of the red death," "the facts in the case of m. valdemar," "fall of the house of usher" and "ligeia."

that would have been perfect. still, vincent price gives the performance of his career. this is solid proof that he is a highly trained, skilled, dramatic actor and it takes someone with his talent to pull this off.

an interesting concept, but a failure for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film, but I can't buy it!!!, 25 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Vincent Price movies and The Toomb Of Ligeia is one of my favourites! But why oh why can they not release the damn thing as region 2??? I (and I'm sure there are many others out there like me) do not have a multi-region DVD player, and so as much as I love the film, I do not see the point in buying it to just look at the pretty box!! I want to be able to watch movies I buy!! So please somebody out there read this and make manufacturers put films onto Region 2 (especially this one!)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great!!!!!!!!, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Patrick Kever "gouvyrock" (belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
i like roger corman's edgar allen poe adaptation!!! beautyful made!!! vincent price acting must be regarded like some great other actors!! shame, he diserve more recognition!!!!the story is more or less interresting ,but the gothic atmosphere beats everything!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tomb of Ligeia, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
This is typical horror Vincent Price acting the socks off everyone else. What would have been a bland tail was turned into a camp horror ramp with Vinny getting the girl and then burying her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Vincent, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoy the movie. This compares favorably to many of the top Hammer studio films. Like Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee, Vincent Price was perfect in the horror genre. Actually, I bought this version because it is widescreen. For whatever reason, a widescreen version is not currently available in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gems of useless information, 6 Feb 2012
By 
Wayne Allen (wa uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
tomb of ligeia was originaly shown in uk cinemas as part of a double bill with the boris karloff anthology black sabbath.tomb of ligeia was one of roger cormans final entries in the poe series.the original italian production of black sabbath is available as part of the mario bava collection vol 1,the soundtrack is in italian with english subtitles,the quality is stunning.if you want the american international release of black sabbath (as seen in the uk as part of the double bill with tomb of ligeia)this can be found on dvd if you know where to look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Corman's Best, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
Filmed, if not set, at Castle Acre Priory in Norfolk, this is one of the better adaptations of Poe. The design, lighting and script are better than usual and Vincent Price is highly effective in the role of the husband trying to cope with wives living and dead. The beautiful Elizabeth Shepherd plays the two roles with bravura and Corman is on form once more. Ironically this was not as well received as House of Usher and The Pit and the Pendulum, but it still works well and captures the spirit of Poe quite successfully. A good video and audio transfer makes this a "must buy" for fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Dead Walk...I yawn., 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] (DVD)
I can't comment on the quality of the DVD release but I have seen this film 3 times; each time I've liked it less (first time, because Vince was in it and it was a Corman movie; second time to see if I'd just been in a bad mood when I first saw it; third time, last year - I think - on TV to see if my memory had been needlessly cruel. Nope.

Mr Price is excellent (cool shades) but the film is dull, dull, dull. It looks nice - lovely ruin, splendid furniture and fittings but not very much happens and it takes a long time to do so. The script is worthy but dull; the plot unfolds slowly and - even if you don't know Poe's story - predictable and not really that horrific. And I'm not a fan of fountains of blood or buckets of gore. The pace of the film is leaden and - when you eventually reach the denoument - you think, yup, that's pretty much what I expected - but you don't even get the warm "Aha - I was right all along" feeling; you just think, "Hmm - that's time I won't get back." Don't get nostalgic about Corman; watch - I dunno - "The Haunted Palace" or something ("The Night of the Hunter" would be my suggestion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD]
The Tomb Of Ligeia [DVD] by Roger Corman (DVD - 2005)
7.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews