Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow down Steve.
This is a fantastic gig. The songs are all well played and the band put on a good show. It's just too bad about the frantic edit.
Apparently determined to use each camera as many times as possible Steve Harris switches between them at incredible speed. Possibly he's thinking about the songs when editing as the edit typically reflects the pace of the song being...
Published on 2 Feb. 2008 by Mr K.

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the Live album
I received the DVD today (08-02-2006) and soon as got home from worked I watched it... or tried to watch it. The sound is great, the band is better than ever, the stageset is magnificent and it is very theatrical again. All true, but it is completely ruined by steves editing. Rock in Rio is very fast, but it doesn't give you a headache (and naucious)or destroys the...
Published on 8 Feb. 2006 by N. A. Mes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the Live album, 8 Feb. 2006
By 
N. A. Mes "N.A.M." (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
I received the DVD today (08-02-2006) and soon as got home from worked I watched it... or tried to watch it. The sound is great, the band is better than ever, the stageset is magnificent and it is very theatrical again. All true, but it is completely ruined by steves editing. Rock in Rio is very fast, but it doesn't give you a headache (and naucious)or destroys the gigs atmosphere. The editing on Death on the Road does. On top of that, the stereo disc is screwed up from halfway Brave New World till the end of the concert.
The bonus disc however is better than Rock in Rio. Making of the album, behind the scenes, interviewing fans and the standard photogallerys. Still lack of depth though.
Conclusion:
The concert is ruined because of the editing and the problems with the stereodisc so 2 out of 5 stars.
The bonusfeatures are okay, but lack of depth so 3 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow down Steve., 2 Feb. 2008
By 
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
This is a fantastic gig. The songs are all well played and the band put on a good show. It's just too bad about the frantic edit.
Apparently determined to use each camera as many times as possible Steve Harris switches between them at incredible speed. Possibly he's thinking about the songs when editing as the edit typically reflects the pace of the song being played. This is not such a bad thing at moments such as the intro to Brave New World which has a fairly steady pace. However the opening song, Wildest Dreams, is full throttle from start to finish so imagine the speed at which the camera changes for it.
However despite that it is worth checking out if you're a really big fan with the patience to tolerate the edit. If however you don't think you can take the sheer speed of the camera changes then maybe you'd be better off buying the CD instead. Although the CD doesn't come with the healthy selection of extra features.
Great gig, great special features but not such a great edit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor quality rendition of a fantastic gig, 6 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
The actual show looked and sounded great, but the rapid MTV style camera shots grow tiresome after a few songs (I like seeing the lads play their solos without the cameras darting from place to place). As with many, my stereo disc crashes during Brave New World, and I'll be looking for a refund!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant show faulty discs, 30 Dec. 2006
By 
Mr. J. E. J. Barnard "Firestarter" (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
This show starts off brilliantly and there is a good set-list here for fans to get their teeth into, however the stereo disc was faulty (stopped at the start of paschendale, skips etc.), returned it for the a replacement but that had the same problem, I realise that I am no the only one to experience this problem and I would therefore aadvise people to only buy this if they have a 5.1 dolby system at home as the stereo disk is faulty.

Disk three is very good though, real insight into the band, production, tour and the crew.

It seems that the care that was taken on the 5.1 disk was skipped on the stereo disk and therefore anyone lacking the correct system will experience problems.

I believe the band should re-release this after the problems have been fixed and then make it availabel to the public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars be careful, 24 July 2006
By 
M. Godenho "mg" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
great concert footage...

comes with 3 discs

#1 5.1 surround concert

#2 stereo concert

#3 docos, videos etc

The concert is excellent but the stereo disc skips. And I believe my disc is not the only one to do so

Also the editing is too rapid. Less than half a second on each bit. What happenned to the old maiden videos where you could see what was happenning?

This aside the extras disc is fab.

Good interviews, videos, behind the scenes etc etc

All in all, just 3 stars...but what really annoys me is that i WANTED it to me more, i WANTED to like it more...but dodgy discs and crap editing is no excuse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another quality release from the Irons !, 8 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
This dvd was originally expected to coincide with the audio release of the same name. Many months later it's finally here and I think most Maiden fans will feel it was well worth the wait.
The natural comparision for this release is the earlier 'Rock In Rio' dvd and it stands up very well. Both dvds have a full length live show and a disk of extras. In the case of Death on The Road, the live show comes in Stereo format and a seperate 5.1 disk so you can select the format that best suits your sound system. Obviously there are a number of tracks which were on the earlier RIR which are repeated on DOTR. Fortunately, the number of repetitions is not as high as it might of been and there are just enough of the 'classics' to keep fans happy whilst still offering something different. RIR focused heavily on the 'Brave New World' album whilst DOTR focuses on the 'Dance Of Death' album. Which of the two shows you will prefer depends largely on your personal preference over the albums featured.
The performances themselves are quite different, in that RIR was at an outdoor festival and has a more vast, open and energetic feel. The DOTR performace is in an indoor arena and whilst the venue is still large, the show is darker and feels more intimate. The show is also rather more theatrical. Steve Harris has stayed with the quick edit style employed on RIR and it keeps the show moving at a fast pace. For my money however the RIR live show just edges it.
As for the extras, it's difficult to find fault with the long features on the making of the album and the setting up of a large scale touring show. The interviewees are frequently amusing and offer an often fascinating glimpse into the world of a major rock band. The other extras include a number of interviews with fans queing to see the band. This is a nice idea, unfortunately these interviews are rather stilted and occassionaly embaressing. The other extras include 2 promos and photo and artwork galleries. This completes a great disk of extras, which if anything is better than the one on RIR.
Overall, this is another excelent package offering something for any Maiden fan and highly reccommended. Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death live, 31 Aug. 2005
By 
jari vataja (Victoria BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
Death on the Road really showcases Maiden at their absolute best. The set list is amazing, and the order in which they are served adds a fresh new feel and pace to a Maiden live album. The sound is outstanding and rich. Bruces voice is unbelievable as he nails the high notes, sounding like he's only improving as a singer. The fact that you get to hear songs like Paschendale, Lord of the Flies, Dance of death and more live, makes the album an absolute must in any true music fans collection. This live album proves that Maidens later pieces of work are more powerful and vital than even their earlier albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stereo discs are faulty., 9 Mar. 2006
By 
Gareth Davies "garethdavies2063" (United Kingdom (Bridgend, South Wales)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
The 5.1 disc plays without fault, however if you're dvd player cannot play in 5.1 sound the essence of the concert is lost.
The stereo disc like someone else has mentioned above crashes during Brave New World and is unwatchable from this point. I have had two copies of this dvd release from Amazon.uk and I am about to fill in another return form. As the fault seems to wide spread I will ask for a refund this time, and try to purchase this title again futher down the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great show, shame about the machine gun editing!!, 5 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
Another review that basically agrees with everyone else. Having just been bitten by the Maiden bug again after an absence of ten or so years (Blaze Bayley? Don't make me laugh!!!), I was desperate to catch up with some lost time. (No Blaze, I'm still not interested in that rubbish!!)

First of all, the editing. It's insane!! And considering Steve Harris normally takes so long to edit these live affairs....(I think it's a problem with quite alot of the recent Maiden live releases though) It eventually started to give me a headache so I ended up just listening to it in the background. It's a shame because it's actually a very good Maiden gig. Also, I had a problem with Janick Gers and Dave Murray's guitars being ultra quiet but I think that's because I was watching the Dolby 5.1 version when i don't have a compatible system (+ this was the disc that jumped around like a loon on my player, not the Stereo version).Soundwise, everything was fine when watching the Stereo disc. Having said that though, if you like Maiden, or you're a new fan wanting to check them out, then you should buy this (don't pay more than a tenner though!!). It really is a good set with only a couple of not so amazing tracks + there are the usual amount of interesting documentaries, videos and stuff.

If you're like me however, and are waiting patiently for Live After Death to be released on dvd, go out and buy IRON MAIDEN part 1 - The Early Years in the meantime. It's amazing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars iron maiden, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003] (DVD)
Another fantastic live performance !!! Editings a bit fast but you get use to it. Can't wait for next tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Maiden - Death On The Road (Three Discs) (DVD) [2003]
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews