Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my god
This album absolutely blows me away. No doubt you've seen pretty much all the metal press treating this album like the second coming. I, probably like many of you had a degree of skepticism, especially as the last Nevermore album (remix not included) was such a disaster (for me, anyway. But surely any album that gains a perfect 10 from Terrorizer (when was the last time...
Published on 23 Aug 2005 by S. Allan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What's all the hype?
I came across Nevermore recently after reading an issue of Metal Hammer and decided to check them out. For some reason when i heard samples of this album on amazon it sounded awesome, but then when i heard the CD in full i was rather disappointed. Everyone else seems to rave about this album saying it's the best Nevermore album but i don't find it appealing. Its not that...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Redwall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my god, 23 Aug 2005
This review is from: This Godless Endeavor (Audio CD)
This album absolutely blows me away. No doubt you've seen pretty much all the metal press treating this album like the second coming. I, probably like many of you had a degree of skepticism, especially as the last Nevermore album (remix not included) was such a disaster (for me, anyway. But surely any album that gains a perfect 10 from Terrorizer (when was the last time that happened for a new release, not a reissue?), as well as top marks from all other mags and websites, must be worth a look? I infact was quite excited by it, because disasterous production considered, I could tell there was a decent album under all the rubbish on Enemies of Reality.
However it exceeded my hopes by a million miles. Before listening I had just read Mikael Akerfeldt talking in Terrorizer about how the "Metal scene was worthless". That comment shocked me a bit, but also rung fairly true, at least to a point. As soon as the first chorus of opener "Born" came and went, I remember thinking to myself, "he obviously hasn't heard this album then."
The production on this album is, as I had hoped, a triumph, being both clean and clear, but also oppresive and heavy. Andy Sneap gets some criticism for his work with bands like Arch Enemy, but here he excels. Warrel Danes vocals benefit from this new found clarity, as well as being given a much more appropriate level in the mix. I thought nothing could top the performance of Messiah Marcolin on the new Candlemass album this year, but this has pipped it to the post for 2005s best vocals. His range is staggering, and dramatic, almost theatrical. And for this, I salute him!
The musicianship took me by suprise here. The guitaring is the best I've head on a metal album probably since the last but one Dream Theater album. It outdoes in my opinion anything Arch Enemy are doing, and all these so called metal revivalist bands "Trivium, I'm looking at you" are totally destroyed here. Riffs and solos abound, the skill is quite something. The soloing is very Petrucci-ish, to reference Dream Theater once more.
But the main triumph of this triumphant album, is the songwriting. Rarely does a metal album keep you gripped all the way through without drastically changing direction every song (a disadvantage all thrash metal bands have, working within pretty tight guidelines). But "This Godless Endeavour" boasts some of the best and mature songwriting this side of an Opeth album, while maintaining a wholesome old school metal vibe throughout. All 11 tracks are worthy listens alone, and stuck together make up the best metal album of 2005 so far. And a special mention goes out to "Sentient 6". Rarely does the "ballad" become my favourite track on an album, but this song, about a robot lamenting that he will never reach heaven is unbelievably moving for a metal track about a robot. When Sentient 6 tells us he "longs to be more than a machine" I nearly cried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all time classic Metal album, 10 Aug 2005
This review is from: This Godless Endeavor (Audio CD)
If you are already a Nevermore fan then you already know that this band is head and shoulders above most other bands in terms of quality of musianship and songwriting.
But 'This Godless Endeavour' is something very special. In fact it is awesome! It contains some mindblowing riffs, solos and pounding 'in your face' bass and drums and of course the usual thought provoking lyrics and emotion from Warrel Dane.
Steve Smythe has added to the band and his solos and song writing ideas blend in well. The other good thing about this album is that it never gets boring- in fact having listened to it many, many times I am stll discovering new things to enjoy.
This has to be the album of the year and if enough people discover Nevermore now that Century Media has teamed up with EMI then this album will become an all time classic. I feel like I did when Master of Puppets came out in 1986. There have not been many albums since that have grabbed my attention like TGE.
Top 3 moments to cherish...
The guitar solo in Final Product
Guitars on the chorus in Born
The whole of Psalm of Lydia and the title track
If you are new to this band- get this album and discover something you will not regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, 10 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: This Godless Endeavor (Audio CD)
Well, six albums down the line and Nevermore just keep getting better. This Godless Endeavour surpasses all their previous albums easily,(a hard task considering their last three albums: Enemies of Reality, Dead Heart in a Dead World and Dreaming Neon Black, are musts for all self-respecting metal fans) and is just an essential purchase for anyone who likes their metal as heavy as possible. Grating riffs, rumbling basslines and thunderous drumming will just leave you breathless. Jeff Loomis knows how to hit the floor with his riffing, and some are so horribly dense you won't know what hit you. It's all good though. The only problem I used to have with Nevermore was Warrel Dane's voice. On Enemies of Reality (another awesome album, check it out), there was something about it I didn't like, but it is so much better here. It has an unsettling quality to it that makes it instantly recognisable. His intelligent lyrical content is also a breath of fresh air, thought-provoking and insightful rather than the usual run-of-the-mill. If you know Nevermore, you won't need this review, you'll already have bought this. If you don't know them, get this and get to know them. This is heavy metal at its darkest, most intelligent, and its most essential.
Best tracks are This Godless Endeavour, Sentient 6, Final Product and Psalm of Lydia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good varied metal!, 1 Jun 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Godless Endeavour (Audio CD)
i remember having a conversation with a guy recently who said that nevermore were nu metal,i thought to myself that maybe i will have fish for dinner and secondly that nevermore werent nu metal but were metal but with a niche,they are quite unique sounding if the truth be told,while they have had some great albums and 2 albums that didnt quite work this is a blistering return to form in every way.
The riffs glow like ET's heart and the chorus' are good and memorable,the vocals are sang rather than screamed so you can have a nice sing along if you are so inclined,the album opens with the spine tingling born which has a chorus that could send your heart spiralling out of your mouth,the drum work is very fierce on this recording,my acid words is another belter that will have you bopping along nicely,its a thrash album in parts and contains moments of fret work brilliance but thats not to say that nevermore are a technical band.
All in all its a fine album and i will be seeing nevermore live in a few days in belfast,providing they still make it as some members have been really ill so that should be a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of Heavy Metal is secure, 1 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. Robert Jones "jonesr001" (Woodbridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Godless Endeavor (Audio CD)
Astonishing, brutal, dark, intricate, accessible ... as a fan of the "old school" (Sabbath, Priest, Maiden etc.), I was amazed by this brilliant album. There's real menace, real bite in the riffs and the musicianship is excellent throughout. File next to Arch Enemy, Mastodon and Hatebreed (for different reasons) as the future of this much derided sub-genre is in safe hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe The Hype...Nevermore's Best, 2 Jun 2006
By 
Tom Chase (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Godless Endeavour (Audio CD)
There is not a bad Nevermore album, you cannot go wrong, but this album brings it all together, all the standout elements of previous work is combined here to make one hell of an album. Everything Nevermore has become renowned for is in full bloom, Loomis' guitar playing is as stylistic as ever, the riffs just as flooring, Van's drumming is top notch and Dane's vocals are the best they've ever been. This album lives up to the hype, essential prog metal.

The first four tracks, `Born' `Final Product' `Acid Words' and `Bittersweet Feast' are all fast to mid tempo killer rock songs, the latter being a personal favourite on the album. Full of some great addictive melodies and powerful guitar/drum playing, the album gets off to a fine start. `Sentient 6' is a slower track, while having some good moments and some fine guitar playing from Loomis, the song tends to drag just a little, not the best Nevermore has to offer. Much the same applies for `Sell My Heart For Stones' although I enjoy this song more, its not quite as long and has some lovely acoustic playing. The last three songs on the album are simply stunning, starting with `The Psalm Of Lydia', a relentless, driving, riff-heavy piece containing some of the best guitar work the album has to offer. The best is left to the next two tracks, `A Future Uncertain' and the title track, the defining moments to the album. The former starts with a sumptuous acoustic passage where Dane loathes `I hate the way you judge me'. This gives way to a rip-roaring riff that's sure to get your toes tapping and the adrenaline pumping. The song structure is fantastic: the bass solo section is somewhat quirky but really adds to the piece, let alone the highly addictive chorus screams of `set your mind free'. The title track is equally compelling, again starting slowly and building to a huge, anthemic riff that chops and changes through different variations and solos. Just utter metal perfection.

This is Nevermore's best effort, it contains everything you need from a prog metal album, a must have this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding work from Nevermore, 18 Oct 2005
By 
I. Lehnert (Derby/Blackburn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Godless Endeavor (Audio CD)
Firstly, let's get the 'hyperbole' out of the way. This is simply one of the best Metal albums ever made. If you're a heavy metal fan, then this is one release that absolutely must take its place in your record collection alongside your long worn copy of 'Master Of Puppets'.
Course, if you're a Nevermore fan like yours truly, you knew this album was coming eventually. The band have been releasing metal albums for the best part of 10 years now which have consistently been head and shoulders above almost every trend, band and movement. If there was some justice in the metal world, then this album would be heralled as a modern masterpiece, and Nevermore would be selling millions. Unfortunately, they aren't, but that's not going to stop any fan of the band screaming their praises from the rooftops!
The album opens with 'Born', perhaps the heaviest song the band have done. As usual, the riffs, the power, the solos, and the vocals are head and shoulder above anything you'll have heard all year. And so it continues during the heavy monsters ('My Acid Words', 'A Future Uncertain'), a monolithic ballad of a robot contemplating existence, in the shape of 'Sentient 6'. And it's concluding title track; nigh on nine minutes of metallic perfection, with its numerous time changes and technical wizardry. It's truly astounding.
Individual appraisals are always needed when it comes to Nevermore, however. Warrel Dane has upped the ante with his vocals, and again, displays a social, personal and wordly breadth and depth with his lyrics that far outstrip anything any metal-core band has to say. Jeff Loomis also shines, as always. The man is simply one of the best guitar soloists ever born, and along with recently recruited Steve Smyth (formerly of Testament) coughs up mind melting solos time after time, including a trade-off solo battle in the middle of 'The Psalm Of Lydia', which is essentially a metal orgasm if ever there was one.
'This Godless Endeavor' is an album of extroadinary musical talent, depth and incredible songwriting. It is truly a testament to a brillaint band, a brilliant genre and for those who own it, I share with you a knowing nod that we own one of the best metal albums of all time. Any contenders should just give up; this is the metal album of the year, hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Godless Endeavour (Audio CD)
Possibly an album of the year 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What's all the hype?, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Redwall "Joe" (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Godless Endeavour (Audio CD)
I came across Nevermore recently after reading an issue of Metal Hammer and decided to check them out. For some reason when i heard samples of this album on amazon it sounded awesome, but then when i heard the CD in full i was rather disappointed. Everyone else seems to rave about this album saying it's the best Nevermore album but i don't find it appealing. Its not that musical or catchy and i think that's partly the production; everything in the mix is full on and it sounds a bit cramped, and there's not that much room for Warrel Dane's great voice. When i bought this album i also bought the Obsidian Conspiracy however, which is a brilliant album so I am not put off Nevermore, i'm glad to have discovered them and will be buying more of their music. Just this album didn't really do it for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They've done it again!, 3 Sep 2006
This review is from: This Godless Endeavour (Audio CD)
This Godless Endeavour was the second Nevermore album I bought, and I was sure they couldn't top Dead Heart... but sure enough, this album makes Dead Heart look only good. It is absolute genius, the pinnacle of their carreer.

It begins with "Born", for the first 30 seconds or so this doesn't sound like Nevermore at all, so I of course was sceptical, thinking they'd changed their sound for the worse with the slightly harsher vocals. But then it all comes together, Dane returns to his usual singing style and all is right in the world. just wasn't like Nevermore. The rest of this song is just as fast as the start, with Dane switching between his usual vocals and the vocals that were at the start. After a few listen you get used to this and it becomes clear that it's a very good song, with a usual brilliant Loomis solo near the end and some brilliant lyrics and drumming.

Next up is Final Product, again it has a high tempo and brilliant vocals but I would say this is the worst track on the album, and it's still very good.

My Acid Words begins a bit slower but much heavier, before breaking into the fast tempo again. I'd say this is one of the best songs on the album with some excellent drumming and the usual brilliant guitar work of Loomis. At the end it goes back tothe slow heaviness that we heard right at the beginning.

Bittersweet Feast is another excellent song jammed with excellent lyrics, excellent guitar work, and excellent drumming, and generally excellentness. The lyrics are my favourite part of this songs, and the vocals are obviously included in this. Lines like "The Lizards in whither have risen to censor the thoughts in your head" just wouldn't be as brilliant as they are if it weren't for Dane's vocals. This songs basically makes me angry, but in a very, very good way.

Sentient 6 is probably my favourite track on the album, maybe ever. It's the only ballad on the album but everything in this song is perfect, the vocals, the lyrics, the general tempo of the song. Everything about it sounds very passionate, as if the band really meant it, every second of it. Some parts of this song actually brought tears to my eyes, call me a wimp if you like, but it's true. That's all I can say about this song. If you like ballads, you like this song, sit back and enjoy.

Medicated Nation is a typical song, I love the starting to it but overall I wouldn't say it's anything special.

The Holocaust of Thought, not much I can say really, i've always felt like the Instrumentals on Nevermore albums were like Fillers.

Sell My Heart For Stones is another excellent piece of art by the boys. With everything in it almost perfect, prefectly written, perfectly executed. The chorus of this song is one of the most passionate things i've heard, this is another one of those songs you just can't get out of your head, one that brings tears to your eyes. I warn you, do NOT listen to this in public, or you might just start singing it out loud.

The Psalm of Lydia brings you out of this wierd void of awesome sadness and into a nice heavy as hell track sending you flying into the song with a nice solo and no sort of intro to the track. The song doesn't really slow down at all until the end, and I have no complaint about this, it's brilliant.

A Future Uncertain is one of those songs that you forget is on an album, well I did, but when you listen to it you realise how good it is. It starts off quite slow with the vocals tha main focus of the song, before sending you into a brilliant experience after about 1.30 minutes which turns out to be another passionate song.

The final track, the self titled one is again, vey good. With the first and second verses very different but both very good. The second verse especially, with the vocals merging into each other, as I see it, the vocals you can hear dominantly are the things he is saying, while the background vocals are what he is thinking. It's very creative to me. The only complaint I have is that it seems to drag on, it's about 3 minutes longer than it should be, and ends up getting boring.

Overall I would give this a 10/10, one of the best albums out there, probably THE best. Buy this now! Don't and you'll regret it.

Wrigley49@hotmail.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Godless Endeavour
This Godless Endeavour by Nevermore (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews